We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Herangtunet Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Heggenes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It's about time I write a review about Herangtunet. We've been here for 6 times now with the family, for the first time in may 2008, later on twice in february and also 3 times at Christmas. All times were great!
Rooms are gorgeous, we stayed in the icelandic and the dutch room, aspen, londen, rome and new york suite and also in the appartment. They all were great.
Marco and Marie-Jose are very, very nice and the food is delicious.
Of course the surroundings makes it perfect, especially in wintertime. Don't forget to go on a husky tour.
Just go to the Herangtunet hotel and you will find out!
Marco and Marie-Jose, we will be back, maybe Christmas 2012............

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDMNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 115 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were welcomed by Marco and Maria to their delightful hotel nestling in the snow covered woods below Heggenes. Every room has been designed as a unique space within the log-cabin setting and the ambience is a delight - warm and welcoming. Maria's food is delicious - light and inventive. A real sense of being somewhere special. A Norwegian pearl indeed! Charles and Ann.

Room Tip: Excellent website shows all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at Herangtunet for two nights in early January and would have happily settled in for many weeks, frankly. The hotel is a gem - beautifully decorated, with antique/vintage furniture as well as some modern touches. Very atmospheric and every angle considered. We stayed in the French room but I'm confident any room would be a good choice.
Then there was the food - reason enough to stay there alone. Absolutely divine dinners, tempted to say it was a restaurant with a hotel attached... except that the hotel was so fantastic as well. Waiting for the weather to clear so we could fly out from Fagernes Airport the conversation naturally turned to whether we'd be too late for dinner if we ended-up snowed in. Sadly the plane was able to take off.. Thank you so much Marco and Marie-Jose.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Close your eyes for a minute. Welcome the soothing voice of Bob Ross. Hear him talk about a lake, some mountains and little trees. Maybe he even throws in a moose and add some snow. Picture it?

Ok, now open your eyes and head to your computer. Book a flight to Oslo, visit the new Opera House and the Vigeland Park, then hop in your rental car and drive some two hours up North. Pass lakes and trees, wooden houses and trees, stave churches and trees and finally leave the main road, cross a small river and head up the hill covered in trees.

See the hundreds of years old wooden building? The ones covered in snow? Yes? Well, in that case you made it to Herangtunet. The beautiful boutique hotel where time passes in front of your woodstove, home made dinners tickle your senses and winters is one doorstep away.

Enjoy! That’s what we did.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamgraffiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We spend one night here, and were very pleased with the hotel. The Sweden family room was perfect for our needs, and consisted of a room with a double bed and a tiny room with a large bunk bed. The two rooms were joined by a lovely bathroom. The main room offered tea-making facilities, which was a welcome change from the general lack of such in Norway. The hotel otherwise offers many beautiful details, making it necessary to make a repeat visit to see them all!

My attempt to pre-order dinner had failed (my fault), but the owners rose to the challenge and whipped up the perfect meal for a weary family.

Breakfast was adequate and, anywhere else I would have been satisfied. However, considering the excellent standards at this hotel, I had expected home baking (or at least fresh bread) and more home-made goods at the table.

I also have to mention that the owners' young son was extremely friendly and service-minded, and played with my children, making this overnight stay a highlight of our weekend away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traductora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. The owners are very helpful and have created a stunning boutique hotel. Rooms are themed - we stayed in the Dutch room which was gorgeous. Delicious breakfast is included and a 3 course evening meal is offered. We had a lovely home-cooked meal, with good wine. Our hosts were always on hand to offer tips about what to do in the area and we felt very welcome.

If you're anywhere near the Valdres region of Norway (3 hours or so from Oslo) we'd recommend a stay in this fab hotel. At only 960Kr (c.£100 per room per night) it's a bargain treat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bernard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
Thank Mona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heggenes
10.0 mi away
Bergo Hotel
Bergo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beitostolen
87 reviews
10.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Beitostolen
11.3 mi away
Scandic Valdres
Scandic Valdres
#1 of 3 in Fagernes
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hanseatic Hotel
The Hanseatic Hotel
#9 of 49 in Bergen
615 reviews
20.7 mi away
Oset Hoyfjellshotell
6.7 mi away
Furulund Pensjonat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herangtunet Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herangtunet Boutique Hotel

Address: Voelbusvegen 17, Heggenes 2940, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Oystre Slidre Municipality > Heggenes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heggenes
Price Range: $171 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Herangtunet Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run design / boutique hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Jotunheimen National Park. It offers a personal touch, hearty food and themed rooms in a traditional, Norwegian timber house. Herangtunet Hotel is surrounded by picturesque forests and lakes, close to the shores of the Heggefjord. Guests can relax peacefully in the garden or on the terrace. Herangtunet’s rooms are full of character. Their unique style and décor is inspired by various cities and countries from around the world. All rooms include slippers for comfort and a tea/coffee maker for convenience. The popular and cosy hotel restaurant has a wood-burning stove and serves typical Norwegian dishes. Relaxation options include a sauna and a jacuzzi. More active guests can try fishing, hiking or canoeing. Beitostølen Ski Resort is 18 km from Hotel Herangtunet. The town of Heggenes is 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Herangtunet Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing