We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good experience to remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good experience to remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

I have just returned from my very first holiday abroad alone at the age of 71. The Kennedy Nova was perfect for me, not too large, very friendly helpful staff, good food and great location. The service was good in all areas.
It was well worth the extra charge for a marina view room looking directly at Valetta, with a balcony for recuperation after a busy day sightseeing.
Malta is wonderful, the residents are friendly and helpful. It is a good place, I felt safe and and the Kennedy Nova is a good hotel for the solo traveller. I hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotraveller040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    169
    159
    117
    95
See reviews for
68
278
72
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gwynedd
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Arriving at around midnight after 11 hours of travelling, we were gasping for a cup of refreshing tea. There was no kettle in our room, so off I went to Reception and mentioned this. I was told that a kettle would be available from the housekeeper the following morning, but there would be a charge, as "most hotels in Malta charge for a kettle." I didn't argue, well knowing that this was not true. We were however given two mugs of hot water that night, and, in fairness, a complimentary kettle was delivered the following morning. From then on, it was mostly downhill. Our room was dingy and in dire need of a coat of paint. On the windowsill, mirror and picture frames was a thick coating of dust accumulated over weeks or probably months of inadequate cleaning. The bath panel was broken, the bath plug did not fit properly and the bathroom window needed repairing. One leg of a bed was at an unnatural angle, and held in place by a rusty nail whose head protruded at just the right angle to catch one's ankle. The lumpy pillows and ancient bed covers were entirely in keeping with this dreadful room.
Virtually impossible to find a cereal bowl that was unchipped - ancient discoloured dinner plates - no surprises there. The cheapest streaky bacon, naturally, but, in fairness, the evening meals were generally not too bad. A member of the management team came to see our room, and admitted that the cleanliness and so forth was quite unacceptable. She apologised profusely, saying that it was regrettable that these matters had not been drawn to her attention sooner. I suggested that had the housekeeper carried out random thorough inspections of rooms, the management would have been aware of all these shortcomings. Regarding the stained/dirty walls, she said that they "were so busy" that the room hadn't been available for the two consecutive days that it takes to repaint. I resisted the temptation to say that a member of my maintenance team could easily paint four such rooms in two days. She also mentioned that we were welcome to stay past the normal check-out time of 11.30am if we so wished as a gesture of good will. At 11.15am on our last day, a brusque phone call from Reception said "You have to leave your room now." We did so gladly.
It's only a short 50 metre walk to the Waterfront Hotel, a genuine 4* hotel. Yes, it'll cost more, but it will be money well spent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abermaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

WHAT A HOTEL. PERFECT FOR ALL. We have just returned and having travelled to Malta and many countries I have to say this hotel ticks EVERY box. The service was second to non. The food was 100% with a different evening meal every night. Staff were VERY attentive (thanks Mary!) Anything you required was dealt with efficiently and professionaly. Our room was hugh and the cleaner was in each day to change towels and bedding. The location is SO central. Ideal to go from to view the beautiful island. The pool was so clean and a perfect sun trap too.
Kennedy Nova pride thereselfes on providing a high standard to there guests.
I have stayed in many Maltese hotels and this has to be the best. I would like to thank the hotel for our lovely stay, Oh and the extra pounds we have all gained! '
See you soon.
The McKinney Family

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellieo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We booked on the net for a balcony sea view. We eventually got a balcony having been told by reception that though the net booking said balcony and sea view there was no rooms available unless we took a suite for 3 nights at a further charge of 25 euros per night. The balcony was very small and overlooked a very poor view of a wall and other small balconies. The domestic staff were brilliant, the rooms badly needed upgrading but were clean.
My husband had knee surgery 2 weeks ago and the pool and cafe /restaurant was on the 7th floor, the lift was out of action for the whole of our stay which meant we had to walk up to the 7th floor for food and drinks from the 4th floor and of course THE FOOTY. Good location for sightseeing buses etc and a wonderful country

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandAnnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Just got back from the Kennedy Nova Hotel and thought I'd give my honest opinion. In agreement with others, the rooms are small, we had room 309 and it looked onto a courtyard and other balconies but it was quiet and clean, although the batthroom was in need of refurbishement I've seen much worse! We enjoyed the breakfast, it had enough of a choice to have a cooked breakfast or continental and set us up for the day. We didn't use the roof top pool during the day but always went up there for a nightcap, we enjoyed the views and it is a nice little bar. We had lunch up there the first day we arrived and it was fine, a tuna mayonaise roll with salad and chips for 3 eursos which I thought was was good value. The hotel is very well placed for the buses and boat trips and there are a couple of nice restaurants within 10 mins walk. As said previously we did get annoyed with the touts who pounced on us whenever we set foot outside the hotel, the fact that they are working for the hotel makes it more annoying. We got handed a leaflet by the receptionist one day asking if we'd like to go their sister hotel in St Paul's Bay for 1 or 2 nights free of charge, we know you don't get anything for nothing so after complaining to the receptionist we gave that one a miss.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay, we got a good deal as we booked ages ago and it worked out at £29 per room per night including breakfast for the 2 of us so I can only say that despite the niggles we found it a good value, ok place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylouLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

This was our first time in Malta and we can't wait to go back again! This hotel was in a perfect location for us. Only a few minutes walk to the Sliema ferry to Valletta and bus terminal for travel all over the island.
Our room was out the back so was quiet. We had twin beds pushed together which were quite comfy. Didn't have any trouble sleeping - tired out from all the sight seeing! The room was clean and I'm fairly fussy about these sort of things! Cleaning staff were friendly, they always said hello. I thought everywhere was nice and clean. The reception staff were helpful when asking about buses and things to do in the area. Bar staff were friendly too. The only little annoyance was when one of the lifts broke down. This was the main lift that accessed the roof terrace, which meant climbing a couple of storeys to get there (as the other lift only went to the 4th floor). It still wasn't fixed when we left and it had been broken for about 3 days.
The breakfast was really good. There was a choice of bread, meat, cheese, fruit (it may have been tinned but it still tasted nice!), yoghurts, pastries, and cooked breakfast. I love a cooked breakfast and I wasn't disappointed with this one! Mainly scrambled eggs, beans, sausages, bacon and tomatoes. Some days there were different types of eggs - boiled, poached and fried, as well as scrambled. In reply to a previous comment, the orange juice was a bit watery, but the grapefruit and apple were perfectly alright.
We had a couple of meals at the outdoor 'View' roof terrace which were alright, but nothing special. They were a reasonable price and quite tasty. The view over Sliema Creek and across to Valletta is beautiful though. We ate at some really nice restaurants in Sliema too. Would really recommend Ta'Kris (see other reviews on here too).
Overall, we found Malta to be a lovely place to visit, plenty of places to see and things to do. We would love to return and would definitely consider another stay at the Kennedy Nova.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misscisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

After seeing their website, we were expecting something a lot better than we found.
Some of the rooms we saw were dark, small and looked out onto brick walls. Our room looked out onto the street at the rear (in all fairness we didn't book a sea view room as reviews said they were noisy from traffic). We were woken regularly in the early morning by the sound of hotel empties being moved around, new bottled gas being delivered to various homes and street repair works! Our view was the rooftop cisterns of the opposite row of houses. The room was not ready on our arrival (an experience shared by others) and when we did eventually enter the room my partner was most distressed as it bore no resemblance whatsoever to the web and brochure pictures shown of a 'normal' room. The room had not been cleaned properly and had an accumulation of dust, the bathroom was extremely dated, the grouting was in parts mouldy, the bath was yellow with age & toilet outlet had disgusting brown staining. However the ceiling fan worked well & we did have patio doors to open.
The breakfasts were fine both cooked and continental, the dinning room staff were all friendly & efficient, the coffee excellent! No faults there.
The evening menu however was something else. Bland, repetitive, self-service, lamb chops were as tough as old boots - an awful long time since that lamb bounced round a field!! So don't bother with half board but eat out at one of the many local restaurants.
Main lift was out of order for over a week (this was the only lift that serviced all 7 floors), the secondary lift (which only went to floor 4 anyway) broke down 2 days before we left which left some of the less able guests unable to access the rooftop bar/restaurant/pool area which was a dreadful shame as the view from the 7th floor bar was magnificent & the best feature of this hotel.
The daytime receptionists were very good and professional (they had to deal with a lot of complaints!)
Certainly not a 4 star hotel. We still love Malta though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KismetGarstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
Thanks for your reviews. We take all comments seriously as they assist us with maintaining and also improving our standards of accommodation. The Hotel enjoys various types of rooms which are available for guests, few of which are situated on the rear part of the Hotel. Some guests enjoy those rooms due to the natural daylight which they enjoy, needless to say anyone wishing to change rooms may do so by contacting our Front Office.

Our Seaview rooms can be noisy during the night period if the door/windows are left open however if closed then they are rather peaceful. The images that we have made available on our main website show the different types of rooms that we have.

We thank you for your comments regarding our Breakfast, our Restaurant Staff and our Front Office. We take pride in ensuring that our guests are satisfied and feel welcome when here. We regret to here that the dinner did not meet your requirements although we have a lot of our guests and also Club Members who opt for our meals as they find them value for money and also do like the restaurant cuisine and certainly do not describe the food in the way that it has been described above.

We did have one of our lifts out of order however the rear lift was available for guests. We also have a service lift which does go up to the 7th floor for those who wished to go up to the terrace 'The View'.

Again we thank you for your constructive comments and we trust that in the near future we may welcome you back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Property: Hotel Kennedy Nova
Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing