We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveler rating
67
181
186
150
136
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
181
186
150
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bars and restaurants bus stop week stay buses valletta island promenade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 720 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2018

First impressions of the hotel were good. The reception area was bright and airy and the receptionist was welcoming.
The room was good size but was located at the rear. The view from the small balcony was of the other buildings as you would expect in a built up area. The room itself was in desperate need of refurbishment. The hair dryer was not charred and not working. We were loaned a portable hair dryer whilst this was replaced. One of the hot plates even on full was cool enough to touch. The maintenance guy said he had checked it and it was working but was slow (it was not working). The fire extinguisher had been used (maybe to put out the hair drier) but had not been noticed during room checks.
As said in other reviews the bed was rock hard and the pillows lumpy. There was the bare minimum of crockery and cutlery for two (but only one chair on the balcony?). The TV only had 5 channels and just 2 in English - BBC World and CNN.
The pool was closed for the winter. The fitness room looked OK but we did not try it.
Good location. Just a short walk to the many bars and restaurants.
Overall, not a bad hotel. Just could be so much better.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank royleblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018

More like a 2* Room was large enough though very antiquated needs a lot of updating beds uncomfortable and lumpy as were the pillows ..... breakfast was very disappointing, the best part was the balcony and the view ... found the staff very friendly and helpful ..
this is the 3rd time we have been to Malta and sad to say there are still building sites all around , the pavements are very bad as are the roads it rained heavily while we were there and the roads flooded badly ... the promenade along the harbour front was very poor too.

Room tip: high floor at the front facing the harbour
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanwatson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

After being told the hotel was in Valeria, we were always going to be disappointed. However, it was more than the location that left us displeased. The mattresses and pillows were poor quality, and we were only allocated 1 glass, even when I asked for one each. There were no tea and coffee making facilities, which I would expect as standard. Worst of all I had an expensive leather jacket stolen from our room, and the hotel wouldn't even acknowledge the theft. Beware!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rykate2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

Ate here in the restaurant downstairs. Looked lovely from outside. Was told authentic maltese pizza. Disgusting. I have eaten all over the world and this was the worst ever. Waiter was rushed off feet but didnt know much. His colleague was more interested in a group of young girls and serving cocktails than in my extreme disappointment in food and service. I complained quietly and my meal was deducted from bill but my cousin meal was awful too but we didnt want to make a fuss.. just dont try it.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank betsyboo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

24hrs before our holiday started Alpha rooms decided to make changes to are booking! We were assured the hotel was a fabulous 4star property and for the inconvenience they booked us as half board.Well what can I say as even the locals fell about laughing when told the hotel name and everyone we met other then the numerous students running around had complained!All rooms were pretty basic including 70's style hairdryer that easily over heated and burnt hair if held to close. Dinning area would really benefit from a deep clean, food was terrible mostly unedible served by the stroppy miserable staff members. Reception staff were rude and laughed after we were tripped in the lift for 20mins, lost our room key and tried to charge for new one, endless construction work going on in and around hotel from 6.30am and students running around screaming, shouting and crying all hours of the night.....I could go on and on... the best advice I could give anyone looking to book this hotel from hell is don't waste your hard earned cash!

Room tip: Don't waste your hard earned cash on this dump
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank Ex11970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews