We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennedy Nova is NOT a 4 star”
Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Kennedy Nova, in Sliema, Malta purports to be a 4 star hotel. It is most definitely not, more of a 2 star, and that is being generous. No wi fi in the pool area as advertised, instead I had to make personal calls in a very public lobby. The first room we were offered was too small, in fact there was no floor space to put down two suitcases. The TV and bed were broken, the bedside light didn't work and you needed to have the light on all the time as the room as so dark. The shower was mouldy and mildewy and the plastic screen was broken off the wall. The room WAS clean but the pillows were just filled with bits of foam and were most uncomfortable. As for the food, forget it. Mediocre at best. Fatty processed ham and rubbery cheese was on offer and the "fresh" fruit salad was tinned. No butter was offered, only some sort of spread. The cooked breakfast was worse with bacon strips more fat than meat, watery scrambled eggs and salty frankfurters. Oh yes, they did offer hardboiled eggs. The pool was cold there were no umbrellas and the TV was loudly droning on all day in the pool area. I heard countless complaints every day and the receptionist even made one old gentleman cry she was so unhelpful. If all you want is a cheap roof over your head then this will do you

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and you will get daylight but expect to pay another 25 euros a day.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silvie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kennedy Nova
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 635 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from this hotel and although the staff were lovely the hotel is dark depressing and has no umbrellas at the pool. The wi fi does not work at the pool only at the reception area. After paying for a 4* hotel I was very disappointed to be in what I would only give at most 2*. Our room was next to what used to be another dining/entertainment room where although the glass doors were closed the roof tiles where missing old mattresses were piled up and some washing was hanging. The Jacuzzi was old and grubby the carpet mouldy it looked as if it had not been used in a long time (years) The Sauna was in the same state of repair. The room was so dark you had to out the light on to read and the balcony looked into what I would describe as a chimney.I had read the reviews before booking but found out that the reviews has came from the only decent rooms in this hotel and those were the one's that had been redecorated on the 6th floor and are being given over to Timeshare. We managed to get moved to another hotel thanks to the travel company rep, if we did not get moved I would have came home early it was so depressing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank InaDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was very clean, sheets changed every other day towels as often was you wanted. It looked a little tired but it really was fine. We only stayed bed and breakfast and we weren't very impressed with the cooked breakfast but continental was ok and the Maltese bread toasted was lovely!
The pool bar opened while we were there and the food served up there was plentiful and good, the pool was also good, we were there the first two weeks in May and there were plenty of sun beds and it didn't get crowded.
Overall we found the Kennedy Nova very good the staff helpful and I would not hesitate in going back for another visit or in recommending it to anyone as long as you realise it is 4star Malta and not 4star English.

Room Tip: The view from the seaview rooms is wonderful, we were on the 5th floor so the noise from the road wa...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grace05merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you found our Hotel to be very clean and our staff was helpful during your stay with us. Thank you for recommending us. We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Overall i dont understand how they got their four stars. There is no internet connection in the rooms and only a small area in the lobby where internet connection is possible. As we went on a business trip, this was essential to us. (And considering Malta has 200Mb down and 100Mb upload speed, this is a joke) So if you need to work with your laptop, look for another hotel. The customer service was also not very good, at night and in the morning the staff was not able to change reservations or even tell us the price per night! The pool is small and cold but the view was nice. The 'evening entertainment' was a guy with a microphone, that read the song lyrics from his computer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyandThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

Kindly note that we offer Free WiFi in all public areas (as we are working on bringing the technology in every room). It is always advisable to bring such concerts to our attention whilst at the hotel as our guest relations records indicate that you only advised us upon checkout. You may appreciate that at this stage we usually have no option at our disposal to assist you with your enquiry.

Thank you for your understanding,

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the views. We stayed for two weeks with a sea view room which I think was extra but we have never stayed in such a small room. Only one of us could access the wardrobe at a time as there just wasn't enough room for both of us to be in the same place. We had to make sure everthing was put away each day as there was nowhere to spread out. The balcony was adequate as can be said for the rest of the hotel. Bathroom was tired and in need of a facelift. Food wasn't too bad, we had some nice dinners but they could be a little more imaginative with the desserts, there wasn't even ice cream, which if you wanted some you had to pay extra for. You could have fried or poached eggs instead of the scrambled which was offered every day but if you wanted omelette it was again an added extra. As a 3* the hotel would be fine but in no way could it be classed a a 4*. Staff were great and were helpful. Pool uninviting as no parasols or plants and beds just arranged haphazardly around pool which was very cold.

Room Tip: Sea views are beautiful but noisy especially on top floor as noise from roof with chairs scraping wa...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was supposed to stay at the Bayview but they mucked up my booking and put me in the Kennedy Nova. I wasn't pleased as I'd read poor reviews of the hotel.
However it really was ok. It had a fantastic terrace with a seaview which was the thing I wanted the most.
The annoying thing was that my room (303) and all of the others above it and below were directly next to the Strand Aparthotel balconies and the cigarette smoke from these balconies penetrated and filled my room even when I had the doors closed. (Everybody in Malta seems to smoke).
Despite this my room was clean. The bathroom was a little bit worn but it had an incredible powerful shower. The hotel wasn't as good as a 4 star but I would say it really was a lot better than I thought it would be.

Room Tip: Steer clear from room 303 and the ones above and below if you wish to avoid being overlooked and to...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prudence k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Madam,

We shall investigate the smoking issue with the neighbour property. As you can appreciate it is not within our control but we'll address this inconvenience.

We do hope to welcome you at our Hotel in the future.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from a week at this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis. This was recommended to us, we really enjoyed it. The pool was small and cold but adequate. Breakfast was good only thing - no fried eggs, just scrammbled. The room/apartment we had was super, very clean. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The receptionist that was on when we arrived could have been more friendly - she just asked us to fill out this form, put our luggage in a room and we would not get in before 4.00. That was our welcome to the Kennedy Nova, but she was the only one. Sliema itself is very central for all the activities.

Room Tip: You could ask for a seaview room there are not many but you may have luck in getting one.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weesie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Glad to hear you had a great holiday in Malta and enjoyed your stay at Hotel Kennedy Nova. Our staff strives to offer our guests a comfortable stay and it is always a pleasure to host you. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#12 of 28 in Sliema
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range: $48 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing