We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel and Hosts!”
Review of Hotel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Esperanza
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My Husband and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Esperanza. Our room was very clean with a rich, Bombay type decor. The showers were hot and had plenty of pressure. A delicious complimentary breakfast consisting of fresh fruit, eggs, French toast, and the best gallo pinto around was also offered with our stay. The pool at the hotel was great for cooling off and relaxing. A short 5 minute walk from the hotel is Playa Carrillo - a pristine, beautiful beach perfect for swimming. Above all, the hospitality is what will keep us returning to this little hotel. Dennis (Owner) and Annie (Hotel Keeper) were beyond warm and welcoming and were always willing to do whatever they could to make our trip as special as possible. I would highly recommend staying here.
Wendy & Kevin Jones

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRBound_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 214 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed 3 nights along with my family, we had a great time there. This hotel is clean, with excellent location. Carrillo is one of the best beaches in CR.
If we had the opportunity of going there again, we would definitely go to Esperanza Hotel again. Dennis is the owner of this place, he is a very nice guy, any conversation with him will be interesting.
Great place, we are looking forward to go to Carrillo again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. It's minutes away from a beautiful and quiet beach and the pool is refreshing and pretty.
Dennis is a great host, very accommodating and helpful. My husband got sick during out stay and he helped us with everything. He is such a nice guy and will do anything to accommodate his guests.
Breakfast was good and plentiful, and Dennis' recommendations for restaurants hit the mark every time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Dennis, the genuinely friendly owner, will go the extra mile and a half to make you feel at home in his impeccably clean Hotel Esperanza. A tasty and generous breakfast was included and served in the cozy outside dining area next to a small but refreshing pool underneath a starfruit tree. A very impressive collection of movies in the lobby's bookshelves is free to use, and you'll also find free internet to help plan your days on the Nicoya peninsula.

Martin and Tijana from Montréal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpacker728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Do not usually write here on TripAdvisor, but the experience at the Hotel Esperanza was so good that it would be wrong not to let others know. Major hospitality is hard to find. Dennis received us with open arms and solved everything he could to make our stay great. Fixed with extra mattress, drying rack so we could wash up some clothes and even cereal and milk for our son who didn't get any food at the restaurant ... A hotel with a warm atmosphere, nice pool area, good breakfast, walking distance to the sea and Dennis who generously shared everything worth knowing about Carrillo, and about good tours, like horseriding. Thanks Dennis from the whole family. Regret that we did not show up on New Year's Eve with you too :-).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 daughters and their husbands had a wonderful three days stay at Hotel Esperanza. Our host, Dennis, made us feel like we were right at home. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts, the honor bar, the pool, the beach and the clean and comfortable rooms. Dennis recommended a sunset horseback ride that was a highlight of our trip. The town of Carrillo has a local, friendly vibe and the pizza at Toucan was delicious.We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the nice, cozy and quiet Hotel Esperanza with our two kids. We really enjoyed our stay: rooms are clean, nice pool, very good breakfast, really close to the beautiful Playa Carillo. The owner Dennis is really friendly and really took good care of us! Do not hesitate to go at this hotel.

Also, don't miss Gusto restaurant in Samara!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mag555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Address: APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: $108 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esperanza 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented hotel, welcoming singles, couples, wedding parties, families, children, and handicap guests. Being a small hotel of 7 rooms we offer a warm family atmosphere with the added bonus of having the amenities of the larger hotels. In 2007 we accomplished a total remodel including all guestrooms with European tiles and exotic Mahogany and Cedar woods throughout. The hotel also features the addition of a new custom pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Esperanza Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing