We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful with beautiful views”
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Guanamar
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Martinsville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“peaceful with beautiful views”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

we had an ok couple of rooms, connecting door.... nothing fancy...however we didn't spend much time in them.....we only had the breakfast included in the room, had lunch and dinner on the road.. and just came to sleep. They have new rooms too. There is so many beautiful beaches at short driving distance. Carrillo which is the beach in front of the hotel is amazing...completely undeveloped, the owners don't want to sell small peaces of land...they want to sell it all!!!! we found out from the lady that sells snow cones!!!! Dona Carmen!!! she owns 100 acres....rides her four wheeler everyday down the mountain to sell snow cones... what a live!!!! so it is a simple, clean place with amazing views worth the $...

Room Tip: I will not choose a room with a view, unless you are planning on staying in your room for long perio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilliam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuanamarCR, Departamento de Reservaciones at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello

Warms to Costa Rica

thanks for your comment !!
We are working to improve .

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    99
    60
    16
    25
See reviews for
81
106
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

At first I thought the price was OK having only seen the outside. When entering the room, I was not impressed at all. The place was terribly worn. THe curtains hardly moved when trying to pull them appart. The bed is the worst I have ever seen in a $100 room... it was extremely worn.
The sheets had terrible stains on them.
The aircondition must be from the 70's and bathroom... oouff..
The paint was flaking and well.. the place is really falling appart.
Some say location, location, location... yeah, the views are awesome, but rooms terrible.
The place has tremendous potential if someone just comes and refurbish EVERYTHING in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Vahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuanamarCR, Departamento de Reservaciones at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello Dear Guest !


Thanks for the comment.
We are working to improve the rooms.
soon will see new changes !!!!

Will be pleasure to have you back


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Carrillo hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Guanamar two years ago and found it acceptable. The views are incredible... and that's it. This time, our experience was the worst. The place is falling apart. The owners don't know whether to close it down or just let it fall apart on its own. We had made reservations for 11 days, but within the first 36 hours, we had to move four times! First room, shower dribbled and toilet would not flush. Second room, neither the front door or French doors to the balcony would lock. Third room, the bathroom sink was missing! Really! And the AC put out only hot air. They showed us a fourth room, very badly designed with dangerous stairs to the bathroom and I am disabled. We said three strikes you're out and we left, but they would not refund our money and we are still hassling with their lying corporate headquarters in San Jose and three times we called or emailed, always being promised an email to confirm we would get a refund, but they just shined us on. Hey... those ticks working there are all very nice people, but management and rooms were horrible, horrible, horrible. Caveat emptor! So many other hotels to choose from with equally nice views.

Room Tip: I read the reviews of those that give this place high marks and think 'what? Am I crazy or are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuanamarCR, Departamento de Reservaciones at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Philp

Warms to Costa Rica.

we are very sorry for yours disagreements , we are working on remodeling the hotel.

Sorry again.

Best Regards
Hotel Guanamar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had no clue where I was going or what I'd be doing once I got there'. Well to my surprise, after an interesting drive from Arenal, I was delightfully surprised. There was confusion with my reservation, but easily rectified. I was given an ocean view room, which was simple, cool, clean huge and had the most spectacular view - morning and night.

When I was there, first week of August 2013, there were very few people in the hotel. I was told it was under new management, and all the staff were amazing! I was nervous at first as the locks/security was minimal, but I truly never worried while there. They took good care of me and looked after the solo female traveler.

One of the receptionist helped set up a few tours for me and each were really good. I loved the horseback riding, which I went with the receptionist and she translated for everyone. While in that adventure I met a couple from Denver and we are still friends. I went zip-lining was with a company called WingNuts - it is a small family run business. Our guide took care of the youngest in the group, 5 year old, amazingly. The kayaking was lovely.

It is a simple drive to Samara and well worth the off the beaten path! The photographs I got were incredible. Take the chance and you'll be delighted you did. No frills, except the views.

Room Tip: Huge rooms, lots of space, lovely deck, the a/c worked well. Was initially concerned about safety, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuanamarCR, Director de Recepción at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello Marlene

Warms to Costa Rica

Thansks for your comments

It was a pleasure to assist you

i remenber you in the horseback riding !! i was a great tour

Best Regards
Natalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The only reason I went to Hotel Guanamar was because I read somewhere that although this hotel has lost its luster, it had amazing views of the sunset and the bar overlooked the ocean. I'm a sucker for a view, so I went. Wow and wow! Yes, these views were amazing. Quite possibly the best photos I got of my entire trip to Costa Rica. The outdoor bar overlooks the pool, which overlooks the ocean. The sunset views really were stunning. We stayed in Samara, but the drive is only about 10-15 minutes and so worth this view (the mohito wasn't bad, either). Not to mention, you drive right by the oh so lovely Carillo beach on the way to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuanamarCR, Departamento de Reservaciones at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello

Good afternoon.

Thanks for your comments

We are working in remodeling rooms
so you are welcome and we have great discount for you.

Best Regards
Reservation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Guanamar is pretty great as long as you set your expectations right. Its not an all inclusive resort by any means, and its important to remember that. The grounds are large, clean and absolutely stunning. The way to the beach is a bit rough, but worth it as the beach there isn't crowded and is raw, gorgeous and memorable.

Upon our arrival the hotel manager seemed flustered and didn't have the room keys so the check in took a while. The room was also missing soap and shampoo which they noted and brought right away. The room was not the cleanest as it's pretty old and outdated and needed painting and dusting behind furniture. But the bathroom was spotless, the rooms were huge and the beds comfy. This place just needs major TLC from inside the rooms and some conveniences added like transport to Samara, vending machines and etc. Some of the rooms also share an interior door and if your neighbors are noisy, you might hear them. We didn't however!

The grounds are incredible and vast. The restaurant had great service and tasty food. The happy hr drinks are actually pretty great and cheap, which is nice as otherwise the food is not included and can be pricey. The pool is a good side and has an amazing view of the ocean with the most incredible sunsets.

Because of the location of the hotel its hard to get to Samara the amazing beach town and the cab will cost you $10 each way but its worth is as besides taking tours, there is not much to do at the hotel itself. Though night-time swimming was amazing. Up the road to the right also has some awesome restaurants but Samara is definitely far to walk. Overall, the place is stunning, quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: They let you switch rooms so if you want something closer to the ocean, just ask! Also, make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuanamarCR, Departamento de Reservaciones at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Lana

Thanks for your comments and your ideas

Best Regards
Reservation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed in ocean view room. The room had a large balcony that faced the bay and had spectacular view of the sunset. The room was large but basic. A/C worked well and cooled room quickly. The screens didn't keep the mosquitos out. Recommendation would be a mosquito net for the bed or new screens on the windows. The pool also had a great view of the bay and felt great after a hot day. Breakfast was included and was very satisfying, did not leave hungry. My only complaint was the wrist bands that we were required to wear. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuanamarCR, Departamento de Reservaciones at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello

Warms to Costa Rica

Thanks for your comments

For Guamanar Hotel will be a pleasure to assist you again . We offer you a discount and you see the new changes in the rooms.

Best Regards
Reservation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
124 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
214 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guanamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guanamar

Property: Hotel Guanamar
Address: Playa Carrillo Guanacaste | Playa Samara Nicoya, Playa Carrillo 1260, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guanamar 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guanamar is a three star family hotel in Playa Carrillo Costa Rica in Guanacaste province which has been operating for the last 25 years in the North Pacific coast of Costa Rica, near the warm waters of Pacific ocean.It just 2 miles from Playa Samara. The hotel is surrounded by the rich and exuberant flora and fauna typical from the area. Guanamar is perfectly situated on the hill top at the southern end of the bay, inviting guests to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views and sunsets. Guanamar is located close to samara beach hotels (4miles) and just 1 mile from local airport (samara airport). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Guanamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanamar Hotel Playa Carrillo
Hotel Guanamar Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing