We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guanamar Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Guanamar
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Guanamar Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The view from our room was excellent along with the views from the swimming pool, bar and the restaurant. If you are elderly, pregnant, have arthritis or other health problems, you will have a hard time going to the swimming pool, bar and the restaurant which are situated at quite an elevation from the rooms. We were very happy with the breakfast, it was fresh. You have to eat the sea bass ceviche they serve with the fried plantain...delicious and soo fresh. The drinks are good too. There were lot of bugs in our room roaming around and the bed had bed bugs that got all of us and we had huge bumps all over all bodies. The day we checked in, I told the management about the bugs roaming around in the room, and the management did nothing about. They said the bugs were harmless. The air conditioner was extremely noisey, so if you are a light sleeper, good luck to you. The hotel rooms needs TLC and upgrades. The The closet beach is at a steep decline from the hotel, and is not a swimming beach. The beach couple of miles down is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jika2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    98
    57
    16
    25
See reviews for
77
103
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This three-day stop was part of a tour package. I was not ready for the long treck down and down and down to our room, and should have asked for help with the bag. But that's my fault. Carlos, the nephew of the operator is doing a lot to bring the hotel back up to high standards. Maria, in the dining room, was a treasure. Breakfasts were great. We ate lunch and dinner at El Toucan-- right and right again out of the hotel. Great pizzas and the Carpacho de Pulpo (octopus carpaccio) was superb. hamburgers at Hula Jungle beat Fudruckers'! Bus into town was only a little late from scheduled time at a cost of C 350 = $.70. Not much there, but something to do for an afternoon. Sunsets are memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms 117 to 130 offer the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederlands, Gelderland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Incredible View best holidays.. I went with my wife and I enjoyed every single moment, this hotel is beautiful although the most remarkable thing is the view to the sea ... the rooms are very cozy with normal amenities as balcony and air conditioning, but the important thing is to go to the bar sit back with a cocktail and enjoy the sunset receiving an excellent treatment on the part of the waiters and all staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0la79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Guanamar at Playa Carrillo,Costa Rica.Accomodations, food in addition to breathtaking views and a wonderful atmosphere. The staff is first class; highly recommended. The complimentary breakfast was delicious featuring home grown local fruits fresh from the garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is av very nice place, but the walk to the beach is little bit of a hike. You can't just pop down to the beach for a swim and back up. Its a walk..The bar at sunset is great. We got eaten alive by mosquito's at night so bring bug spray. The place was reasonable and the room was nice, but I like being right on the beach. They also some kind of pump house that would run during the night and since I'm a light sleep sometimes it would wake me up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had only been to Costa Rica once so I don't have anything (hotel wise) to compare it to. Very rural, long drive from San Jose. We had prepaid for a few different hotels, some near the volcano and rain forests and another resort on the other side of Costa Rica (atlantic side?) but were so incredibly lost that we just happened upon this hotel and stayed put the entire time. I loved the food the best but the parrot in the bar bit me. No biggie but very interesting area, surfing and sport fishing....met lots of people from CA. there.

Room Tip: don't leave your food out overnight or wake up to big giant biting red ants
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommisalami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The howler monkeys and sunset view were the highlights of own two night stay here in early March 2013. The roosters crowing at 4am to sunrise were a downer.This place is in major need of an update but the current prices are reasonable. The rooms are very dated and tired looking, with two burnt out lightbulbs and bare walls. The pool was murky and gross with no one using it. I am guessing this place caters to the locals verses international travelers. We ate are breakfast there and it was okay but nothing special...but the view was lovely. I would say don't go, just not fabulous. The local beach down the road was one of the most enjoyable on our 3 week trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.3 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#2 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guanamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guanamar

Property: Hotel Guanamar
Address: Playa Carrillo Guanacaste | Playa Samara Nicoya, Playa Carrillo 1260, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guanamar 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guanamar is a three star family hotel in Playa Carrillo Costa Rica in Guanacaste province which has been operating for the last 25 years in the North Pacific coast of Costa Rica, near the warm waters of Pacific ocean.It just 2 miles from Playa Samara. The hotel is surrounded by the rich and exuberant flora and fauna typical from the area. Guanamar is perfectly situated on the hill top at the southern end of the bay, inviting guests to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views and sunsets. Guanamar is located close to samara beach hotels (4miles) and just 1 mile from local airport (samara airport). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Guanamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanamar Hotel Playa Carrillo
Hotel Guanamar Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing