We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“7 Nights may be too long to stay?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Guanamar
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“7 Nights may be too long to stay?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Vistiors should be reminded that this hotel is built on a hill side. If you are not in the best of shape, you should be warned that some of the best Ocean View rooms will require a considerable amount of stair climbing at times, just to get to the bar and food.
Stayed there 7 nights, while customer service was indeed excellent. Food was good on some days and not so good on others.

Room Tip: While our larger, "Ocean View" room had a great view The A/C unit was extremely noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReelRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    90
    53
    15
    24
See reviews for
68
95
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Estuve por allá en Julio del 2012 con mi familia, y la pasamos genial. Estuve en una Habitación Ocean View maravillosa. La playa esta a 5 minutos caminando desde el hotel. El trato del personal maravilloso, la comida genial. Los Felicito! Este año los visitaremos de nuevo!!!!

I was there on last July 2012 with my family. We had a great time there. We were in an awesome "Ocean Vie"w room, The beach is to near from the hotel around 5 minutes walking. Food and the people wonderful! Congratulations!! We will visit this hotel this year again!!!

Best Regards

Ruben Fallas!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubenFallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is amazing. The views from any angle are to die for!! Staff is very accomodating and pleasant. We stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed many adventures. Walking on the beach and taking in the tropical atmosphere was unreal. Went on a half day fishing trip from the hotel ($350) and caught black tuna and needle fish. Delightful guide that knew some English and worked very hard for us. We wanted to do the Marlin fishing, but other charters were very expensive to rent.

We did take in the Turtle tour and was able to see a rare black turtle come into shore and lay her eggs (85 of them), and the release of new borns back into the ocean from the sanctuary/reserve. This is conducted at night so its very hard to see. Unfortunately the people that were with us kept putting on their ipod lights that was disturbing the turtle.

The restaurant was very good and plentiful. I am elergic to some items so they accomodated me and made me special plates for me to enjoy.

The sunsets were without words. Sitting back on the deck, drinking Miami Vices (pinocolada mixed with strawberry dacqari), with peace and quiet.... what more could you ask for?

We took a taxi to the beach town ($10) for our shopping adventures. Fantastic people that you can barter with and came away with some really nice gifts at very reasonable prices. The tempature for this day was 34 degrees celcuis (94 farenheight) . Extremely hot but SO loved it and absorbed it all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The pool is fabulous with an incredible view. The Restaurante is great! you can eat there and you will pay a low price for delicious typical and tropical dishes.
Customer service is excellent.
I can not wait to stay there one more time!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bufalo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Excellent oceanview cabins and cleanliness was amazing. Food was good but not inexpensive. The sunsets are worth it, especially for the excellent pool and a walk on the sandy beach is a 2 minute walk down the hill. There are options to fish and snorkel in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandiiimac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perched in the best spot in all of Carrillo for sunset viewing. The pool, restaurant, and ocean view rooms were money on their views of the bay. The pool was fantastic. The restaurant food was average and certainly the most expensive I've encountered so far in costa rica. There are a few options for food outside of the hotel so no worries there.

I stayed in an ocean view room. It was sparsely decorated, reminding me of how the non-secured hotels looked in New Orleans a few months post-Katrina. They were open but you sense something just isn't right upon entering the room. I couldn't imagine paying high season rates at this hotel. There isn't much to do at the hotel or in Carrillo to warrant paying more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-New-Mexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and I enjoyed staying at the hotel. We spent two nights at Bay Front and we do recommend to reserve a room at Ocean View just to get the beautiful view of the ocean that the hotel has to offer.
The pool and the restaurant is awesome and the staff is very nice and friendly. Carrillo beach is a beautiful clean beach which is a short walking distance from the hotel. We really hope to go back there some day soon!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunandpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.3 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#2 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#4 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guanamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guanamar

Property: Hotel Guanamar
Address: Playa Carrillo Guanacaste | Playa Samara Nicoya, Playa Carrillo 1260, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guanamar 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guanamar is a three star family hotel in Playa Carrillo Costa Rica in Guanacaste province which has been operating for the last 25 years in the North Pacific coast of Costa Rica, near the warm waters of Pacific ocean.It just 2 miles from Playa Samara. The hotel is surrounded by the rich and exuberant flora and fauna typical from the area. Guanamar is perfectly situated on the hill top at the southern end of the bay, inviting guests to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views and sunsets. Guanamar is located close to samara beach hotels (4miles) and just 1 mile from local airport (samara airport). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Guanamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanamar Hotel Playa Carrillo
Hotel Guanamar Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing