We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from a so-so room”
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Guanamar
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perched in the best spot in all of Carrillo for sunset viewing. The pool, restaurant, and ocean view rooms were money on their views of the bay. The pool was fantastic. The restaurant food was average and certainly the most expensive I've encountered so far in costa rica. There are a few options for food outside of the hotel so no worries there.

I stayed in an ocean view room. It was sparsely decorated, reminding me of how the non-secured hotels looked in New Orleans a few months post-Katrina. They were open but you sense something just isn't right upon entering the room. I couldn't imagine paying high season rates at this hotel. There isn't much to do at the hotel or in Carrillo to warrant paying more.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-New-Mexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Guanamar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and I enjoyed staying at the hotel. We spent two nights at Bay Front and we do recommend to reserve a room at Ocean View just to get the beautiful view of the ocean that the hotel has to offer.
The pool and the restaurant is awesome and the staff is very nice and friendly. Carrillo beach is a beautiful clean beach which is a short walking distance from the hotel. We really hope to go back there some day soon!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms have better views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunandpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had asked for the nicest hotel in Carrillo and the taxi driver brought me here. The hotel has the appearance of luxury at first, but upon a closer look, it is really a dump. The rooms have an absolutely incredible view, but they are not very clean and in disrepair. The AC was very loud and kept turning off and on all night waking me up. The staff were totally UNhelpful. The kicker was that after spending the night I woke up with bug bites all over my feet arms. Mind you, I slept with long pants and a jacket, with the covers on. I believe there was some kind of biting insects in the bed/mattress. When I informed the front desk that this had happened, the receptionist gave me a dirty look like I was crazy and told me that "we have never had this problem here". If you want to go to this place, go to the bar for a drink during sunset. Don't stay overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed for a week ocean view room 120. Great timing I hear its during the indian summer and noone was at the hotel, pool or beach and it was sunny. Staff was helpful and nice. Everything at the hotel is rundown, old and not cleanist (shower) but for the price the room was spacious and had a great view. Paid $67 for oceanview through Hotels.com. There were people that would just come for the sunset and then leave. Air conditioner was very loud. Had some small ants on the bathroom counter (they gave us ant spray) and the shower water did back up. Trek up to the pool/restaurant using the stairs is not for elderly. Food was very good. I would go back to this hotel.

Note:
- Sunset is at 6:15 pm and sunrise is at 5ish am. So the monkeys, birds will wake you up at 5-5:30 am. Breakfast is not unit 7:30 am.
- If you need to charge a laptop the only three-pronged electrical sockets are on the back side of the resteraunt and the office in the lobby. No Wi-Fi at the pool I found the best reception at the back side of the resteraunt were the electrical socket to charge my laptop.
- Bring bug spray, the mosquitos were merciless.
- If you are going on a tour and getting picked up before 7 am, tell the lobby and they will have security open the gates.
- There is a room safe but you have to pay each day for it.
- There is crocodille (12ft) by the first bridge that stays on the river side so if you are walking to Carrillo beach, just stay on the road. Actually I wouldn't go in the woods or brush. I wash told there are scorpions, corral snake, vipers, etc...
-There is a coffee maker in the room but you have to ask for the coffee packet at the lobby
- The road that hotel is on if you keep going up the road, there is a small store with with drinks, snacks, shampoo, etc...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniela42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at hotel guanamar for 8 days with 3 adults and 1 child. We stayed in 2 rooms, 125/126. The view was beautiful. Internet access was only available from the restaurant & bar area, not the pool area or rooms. Overall it was a very nice experience. We saw a lot of wildlife in the area, iguanas, garrobos, crabs, and howler monkeys. The reception staff was extremely helpful with tour planning, we went snorkeling, kayaking, dolphin watching, went to see the turtles, and went for a zip line/canopy tour. They were all pleasant, I would highly recommend the snorkeling & zip line/canopy tour. All were family friendly. The stair trek from the hotel rooms to the pool/restaurant is not for the faint of hearts, but if you are fit, it's fine. I would recommend a car if you want to go beyond the hotel. The hike to the beach is very hilly, but the beach is quite nice. There is a store very close to stock up on snacks and drinks. No fridge in the room or easy access to ice. Bring a cooler. The rooms were clean and very spacious. The a/c worked great. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My sister, a friend and I visited the hotel during easter and we were expecting something different for what we paid. When we first saw the room, we noticed sheets had a stain, we called the front desk and they said someone will come to chance them. I had to call next morning because nobody came when I called the first time. In several times we noticed restaurant napkins and glasses were dirty. During lunch I found a hair was on the fish I was eating.

If you have a room + 3 meal package, don't stay for more than 2 nights. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are not buffet and there are just a few options in the already set menu; therefore, you will get bored pretty soon.

Rooms really need renovation!!!!! It seems that they were built in the late 80's or early 90's (tv is small and very far from bed; tile, bathroom fixtures, curtains, shower doors, lamps and specially the air conditioning prove it). A little investment in rooms wouldn't be bad.

On the other hand, the view from our room deck was breath taking and hotel personnel were so nice to us. Common areas (pool, restaurant, bar) are ok.

Room Tip: ask for the 120's rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarrahCast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuanamar, Director of Sales at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear FarrahCast,

We apologize your experience. The maids reviewed the sheets and had no stain. For lunch and dinner, usually we served a la carte for further customization, and we have 8 first courses, 13 main course choices and 3 dessert options. We miss the problem that you had with the plates and napkins, however, I promise to do an inspection and review their valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Guanamar for three nights. We stayed in an ocean view room which had the most amazing view of the yacht basin of Playa Carrillo. The service in the bar is impeccable. Luis, the concierge of the bar and restaurant is a very talented man. Every business owner of a service related industry should send their staff for training here to see a master at work. He attends to your every need and has an upbeat, positive attitude. Alan, his team mate, works equally as hard and shares the same work ethic.
The hotel pool is great for kids and adults alike. The beach of Playa Carrillo is a short walk from the hotel. The beach is quiet, pristine and the water is warm.
I would highly recommend a stay here in the ocean view room numbers 124 or 123. This hotel is Playa Carrillo's best kept secret!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebStoneyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
296 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
214 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
851 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guanamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guanamar

Address: Playa Carrillo Guanacaste | Playa Samara Nicoya, Playa Carrillo 1260, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: $82 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guanamar 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guanamar is a three star family hotel in Playa Carrillo Costa Rica in Guanacaste province which has been operating for the last 25 years in the North Pacific coast of Costa Rica, near the warm waters of Pacific ocean.It just 2 miles from Playa Samara. The hotel is surrounded by the rich and exuberant flora and fauna typical from the area. Guanamar is perfectly situated on the hill top at the southern end of the bay, inviting guests to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views and sunsets. Guanamar is located close to samara beach hotels (4miles) and just 1 mile from local airport (samara airport). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Guanamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanamar Hotel Playa Carrillo
Hotel Guanamar Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing