We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sunsets, pool, rooms and service”
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Guanamar
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at Guanamar and it totally met my expectations. They are located just up the hill at the south end of Playa Carrillo, as there development on the beach is prohibited - which is what makes Carrillo so nice. The rooms we had were down the hill from the pool and restaurant with a great view of the ocean. The view of sunsets from the pool deck can not be beat - awesome! The staff was very friendly. The rooms were big with plenty of hot water pressure in the shower and the A/C worked great. A typical Costa Rican buffet breakfast was included - eggs, gallo pinto, fruit and pancakes. I love Carrillo because the beach is quieter and you are only 5km from Samara, which has more restaurants and bars. I was able to take advantage of a discount coupon on the rate, so the value was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasyGoingMidwestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 286 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is definitely not a luxury hotel but has all you need to enjoy a nice vacation time: good service, delicious food, kind people, large and quiet rooms - some of them with a stunning ocean view from the balcony - and it is less than 5 minutes walking from the beautiful Carrillo beach.
Breakfast was included with the room and consisted of season fruits, eggs, bread, coffee, cheese, bacon and gallo pinto.
The pool and bar areas are not large but are charming, you can enjoy the sunset comfortably sited in there.
If you are not used to walk, you better use a car to get from the hotel to the beach because the hotel is located in a small mountain that can be hard. Same for the rooms that are far from the restaurant, pool or front desk.

Room Tip: Rooms from 119 to 130 have a beautiful ocean view and no trees will prevent you from seeing it. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Great hotel for visiting one of my new favorite beaches in Guanacaste, btw this is a white sand beach, beautiful, clean and secure. Not many businesses have set their building there, so just good to enjoy the nature and beach.
About the hotel, food was just out of this world. Excellent service, “a lot”, and soups were so good that I tried them all dinners during my staying.
Rooms are clean, and enough for the paid money. Pool is good, and the ocean view from the pool is amazing. Sunsets are incredible. There is not fridge, so bring your cooler.
My personal recommendations for rooms: Bay view look for room 138 and beyond, previous one will have a lot of trees avoiding enjoying of the bay from the balcony. Ocean views are great and the standard ones are nice, pretty close to the restaurants and pool, where the places where you want to stay.
Ocean and bay view you must walk a lot and use a stairs to reach the pool and food, please take this considerations.

Room Tip: My personal recommendations for rooms: Bay view look for room 138 and beyond, previous one will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melvin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We took two Bay Front Rooms for 5 days. The rooms are large and quiet and down the hill from the other rooms. If you are not fit, i would be along walk to the pool and restaurant. The breakfast was included with the room and was very good, there was a buffet with gallo pinto, eggs and fresh fruit, orange juice and excellent coffee included. There are spectacular views from the pool, restaurant, and bar, be sure to be there for sunset everyday. The restaurant here is good for dinner also and not too expensive, another excellent restaurant is at Leyenda about a mile farther down the road. Do not bother with the pizza/hamburger joint across the street, the food is bad and overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRIowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Why people so negative? who goes to COSTA RICA must love nature you dont go there for luxury ! If you want that than go to a fancy hotel to SANTA BARBARA or something .... why bother traveling so far?? Costa RICA its amaizing !the beauty of the nature that is so well preserved,the simplicity of lifestyle ,the tasty mangos that you pick from the ground,the animals birds and butterflyes its a magical place.Hotel Guanamar its great beautyfull ocean view,playa CARILLO just great not crowded. People are kind ,housekeeping very sweet ,everyday we had a diffrent design made from towels birds monkyes elefants,mango on the table beautifully decorated why people dont mention all this??I had one of my favorites vacation at GUANAMAR!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMESEBOTHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Please don't ever trust on the photos they have online, NOT REAL!!! That was my first time in the hotel but not in Carrillo beach (which is awesome by the way). My boyfriend and I wanted to find something beautiful to spend our new year's eve, so we used the internet of course and trusted on the pics they have but we face another reality when we got there. First of all, it took us 1 whole hour to wait for them to give us our room. While waiting, a pigeon defecated on my shoulder! The hotel's lobby made of dried palms and wood was full of doves and pigeons! When we got to our room, all furniture was amazingly old, damaged and stained, the two 70's-style bathrooms had a huge tree trunk terribly inserted in the middle of the bathtub giving it a poor, disgusting sensation. Besides, the entrance to the rooms is gloomy, dark, empty! It seems you are in an abandoned house instead of a hotel! However, the worst part was that, after taking a shower in such awful conditions, we found a big centipede in the bathroom and a scorpion under the bed!!!! Of course, we asked the hotel to move us immediately to another room and they did so. The new room was not that terrible, at least a little bit newer, but nothing as expected. Besides, everything is dead after 10 pm. The rate was ridiculously expensive!!! Even more expensive than an al-inclusive hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanamar, Manager at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Dear Customer, many greetings.

The check in is at 14:00 hours. When you arrived at 10:30 a.m. we invited you to wait in the bar while preparing the room. At 12:30 noon we were ready and show you the standard room that you booked. Some hours later, you called the reception that you do not like the room and request to move. We moved you to another room, and you told us the new room is fine. Hotel Guanamar is a family and romantic place to relax, with nice sunsets. If our guess wants night party, we recommend to go to Samara Beach (3 miles distance) where there are many bars and disco.

We appreciate you comments, those help us to improve our service,
Best Regards,
Milagro Béeche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We parked our rented car, we checked in and we were invited to visit the restaurant and swimming pool while our room was being prepared. It took us 20 minutes and when we returned, they had broken the car´s door and they had stolen our passports, credit cards, money, license, personal belongings, camera and our hotel and flight tickets. We spent the whole afternoon at a Costa Rican Investigation Organization and when we returned I asked to talk to the managed, who told me that since they had never had an experience as ours, they would not consider themselves liable for the robbery inside their hotel! They even would not let us spend the night there, because our hotel tickets had been reported robbed! On their faces!! It was only us in the hotel when we were robbed, it is imposible to think nobody realised they were stealing! We had to travel to our Embassy to have our passports done to leave Costa Rica the day after. Awful

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariapdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanamar, Manager at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Dear Customer, Greetings from Hotel Guanamar.
For us it is very unfortunate this kind of events, and conducted an investigation of what happened for respective improvements.

The check in is at 14:00 hours. When you arrived at 11 a.m. we invited you to wait in the hotel while preparing the room. At 12 noon we were ready and that was when you reported that you had stolen. We miss you very much , because there has never been such incidents in Playa Carrillo, but quickly we called the police and we offer free international calls to report the credit cards. We were surprised that you did not report the stolen credit cards.

While you were with the police, we were notified by Grayline, Travel Agency that all vouchers with numbers that you had, not be received in any hotel in the area. For all the problems that you had, we agreed to stay at hotel with this voucher.

On behalf of Hotel Guanamar, we tried to help you as much as possible. We have strengthened security measures and avoid this inconvenience.
Milagro Béeche
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
886 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
59 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guanamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guanamar

Address: Playa Carrillo Guanacaste | Playa Samara Nicoya, Playa Carrillo 1260, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: $105 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guanamar 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guanamar is a three star family hotel in Playa Carrillo Costa Rica in Guanacaste province which has been operating for the last 25 years in the North Pacific coast of Costa Rica, near the warm waters of Pacific ocean.It just 2 miles from Playa Samara. The hotel is surrounded by the rich and exuberant flora and fauna typical from the area. Guanamar is perfectly situated on the hill top at the southern end of the bay, inviting guests to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views and sunsets. Guanamar is located close to samara beach hotels (4miles) and just 1 mile from local airport (samara airport). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Guanamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanamar Hotel Playa Carrillo
Hotel Guanamar Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing