We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD TIMES....”
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Guanamar
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Why people so negative? who goes to COSTA RICA must love nature you dont go there for luxury ! If you want that than go to a fancy hotel to SANTA BARBARA or something .... why bother traveling so far?? Costa RICA its amaizing !the beauty of the nature that is so well preserved,the simplicity of lifestyle ,the tasty mangos that you pick from the ground,the animals birds and butterflyes its a magical place.Hotel Guanamar its great beautyfull ocean view,playa CARILLO just great not crowded. People are kind ,housekeeping very sweet ,everyday we had a diffrent design made from towels birds monkyes elefants,mango on the table beautifully decorated why people dont mention all this??I had one of my favorites vacation at GUANAMAR!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMESEBOTHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

Please don't ever trust on the photos they have online, NOT REAL!!! That was my first time in the hotel but not in Carrillo beach (which is awesome by the way). My boyfriend and I wanted to find something beautiful to spend our new year's eve, so we used the internet of course and trusted on the pics they have but we face another reality when we got there. First of all, it took us 1 whole hour to wait for them to give us our room. While waiting, a pigeon defecated on my shoulder! The hotel's lobby made of dried palms and wood was full of doves and pigeons! When we got to our room, all furniture was amazingly old, damaged and stained, the two 70's-style bathrooms had a huge tree trunk terribly inserted in the middle of the bathtub giving it a poor, disgusting sensation. Besides, the entrance to the rooms is gloomy, dark, empty! It seems you are in an abandoned house instead of a hotel! However, the worst part was that, after taking a shower in such awful conditions, we found a big centipede in the bathroom and a scorpion under the bed!!!! Of course, we asked the hotel to move us immediately to another room and they did so. The new room was not that terrible, at least a little bit newer, but nothing as expected. Besides, everything is dead after 10 pm. The rate was ridiculously expensive!!! Even more expensive than an al-inclusive hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanamar, Manager at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Dear Customer, many greetings.

The check in is at 14:00 hours. When you arrived at 10:30 a.m. we invited you to wait in the bar while preparing the room. At 12:30 noon we were ready and show you the standard room that you booked. Some hours later, you called the reception that you do not like the room and request to move. We moved you to another room, and you told us the new room is fine. Hotel Guanamar is a family and romantic place to relax, with nice sunsets. If our guess wants night party, we recommend to go to Samara Beach (3 miles distance) where there are many bars and disco.

We appreciate you comments, those help us to improve our service,
Best Regards,
Milagro Béeche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We parked our rented car, we checked in and we were invited to visit the restaurant and swimming pool while our room was being prepared. It took us 20 minutes and when we returned, they had broken the car´s door and they had stolen our passports, credit cards, money, license, personal belongings, camera and our hotel and flight tickets. We spent the whole afternoon at a Costa Rican Investigation Organization and when we returned I asked to talk to the managed, who told me that since they had never had an experience as ours, they would not consider themselves liable for the robbery inside their hotel! They even would not let us spend the night there, because our hotel tickets had been reported robbed! On their faces!! It was only us in the hotel when we were robbed, it is imposible to think nobody realised they were stealing! We had to travel to our Embassy to have our passports done to leave Costa Rica the day after. Awful

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariapdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanamar, Manager at Hotel Guanamar, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Dear Customer, Greetings from Hotel Guanamar.
For us it is very unfortunate this kind of events, and conducted an investigation of what happened for respective improvements.

The check in is at 14:00 hours. When you arrived at 11 a.m. we invited you to wait in the hotel while preparing the room. At 12 noon we were ready and that was when you reported that you had stolen. We miss you very much , because there has never been such incidents in Playa Carrillo, but quickly we called the police and we offer free international calls to report the credit cards. We were surprised that you did not report the stolen credit cards.

While you were with the police, we were notified by Grayline, Travel Agency that all vouchers with numbers that you had, not be received in any hotel in the area. For all the problems that you had, we agreed to stay at hotel with this voucher.

On behalf of Hotel Guanamar, we tried to help you as much as possible. We have strengthened security measures and avoid this inconvenience.
Milagro Béeche
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We loved the ocean view rooms and the higher panoramic views from the bar and restaurant. A beautiful breeze up here also in the daytime. Best for people with agility as its 55 steps up from the oceanview rooms to the bar/restuarant/pool. Its also a 2 minute downhill walk to Carrillo, which is arguably the best beach in the country. The rooms are basic but clean and large, but noisy AC. The staff are supernice. Meals here are good, but not as cheap as Samara restaurants. For example, Dorado is usually $10 in town, but $14 here. If Leyenda will give you a free pickup and dropoff (tip the driver) definitely go to their fantastic restaurant in the hotel. Best food around, and not expensive. This hotel gives 20% off if you stay at least 7 days. Breakfast is included. Bus to Samara is 300 colones (60 cents)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arturo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

This was our first time to Costa Rica and my first time traveling with my friend. Given that we don't speak Spanish well and are two females, we were very cautious with our choices to stay. After seeing the great price on hotels's website, we could not help but give this place a try.

We were very pleasantly surprised by the location and views to be at this hotel. The staffs were very nice and even offered the off-beaten path to a local attraction: natural water pool (be cautious of high tides times & don't get stuck when it comes). The room was basic but the view compensated for what the room lacked. Yes, the air conditioner is loud, but try sleeping with the sound of the waves when it is not too hot or humid. Yes, you will see ants but don't leave stuff out that will attract them.

We loved the sounds of wild monkeys, the waves, and no other people around/no traffic noise. If you plan on being out most of the time, you will enjoy the serenity at Carillo Beach nearby, the cheap Dolphin & snorkel tour (see hotel staff), learn to surf at Samara Beach, eat local foods such as fresh cerviche & fried snappers in the town of Samara, or do a day excursion to the beaches up north, where their waves makes Samara's much more manageable.

Hotel staff can also book for you a canopy tour/zip-lining. I highly recommend that.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

A nice and comfortable hotel, with spcious rooms. The view on Carillo beach from the rooms and the restaurant terrasse is simply incredible and is worth the stay alone. Nice pool. Friendly service. The quality of the food is fair.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Hotel Guanamar has the best view of Playa Carrillo, my favorite beach in Costa Rica. It's a shame that the hotel is not properly maintained. If the rooms were slightly cleaner and more comfortable, it would have an excellent rating. As it is, it's a good deal for the wonderful view. The restaurant is ok. The employees are not well trained so don't expect much in the way of service; however, the hotel is excellently located and quiet. The airconditioning in the room worked very well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
148 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
50 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
865 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guanamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guanamar

Address: Playa Carrillo Guanacaste | Playa Samara Nicoya, Playa Carrillo 1260, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: $100 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guanamar 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guanamar is a three star family hotel in Playa Carrillo Costa Rica in Guanacaste province which has been operating for the last 25 years in the North Pacific coast of Costa Rica, near the warm waters of Pacific ocean.It just 2 miles from Playa Samara. The hotel is surrounded by the rich and exuberant flora and fauna typical from the area. Guanamar is perfectly situated on the hill top at the southern end of the bay, inviting guests to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views and sunsets. Guanamar is located close to samara beach hotels (4miles) and just 1 mile from local airport (samara airport). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Guanamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanamar Hotel Playa Carrillo
Hotel Guanamar Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing