We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sueno Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Sueno Tropical
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

First of all this place has the best banana bread I've ever had and jose is very accommodating for breakfast. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is great both at night and during the day. The pool was so relaxing and refreshing and the vibe was very positive! I did not want to leave!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coocoocachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at El Sueno Tropical, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
coo, thanks for your lovely review, and for letting me post your beautiful picture in the chillasana surf shirt, loved u guys, please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    28
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
57
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

El Sueño Tropical was definitely a dream. Beautiful grounds--a mini-tropical garden, with clean and cool rooms, an outstanding staff that served delicious breakfast with fresh fruit and home-made jams. Great dinner menu. Jose can arrange for your bucket list of things to do: beautiful horseback ride through the tropical forest ending in a great views from the mountains ending on the beach, zip-lining through the trees, boogie-boarding in Playa Carrillo, or providing a mojito while we lounged by the pool. Every room has a hammock outside to enjoy a nice siesta. We spent a week there and thank Jose, Maria, and Joanna for treating us like family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggiejazz889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were made to feel so welcome by Jose and Maria; they are both very friendly, along with the rest of the staff. We stayed in room number 5 which was basic yet large and clean with a hammock on the porch and had everything we needed. The sparkling clean pool is the best aspect followed by the bar/restaurant area. The breakfast was cooked to order mega food and delicious with lots of different breads and jams. And, we had pizza and shots at the bar! Too fun! El Sueno Tropical is just a short distance to Playa Carrillo which is a gorgeous “postcard” beach and to the quaint town of Samara. Jose was so helpful and arranged transportation for us to go to Samara for a night. Also, he loaned us a cooler and beach mats for our day on the beach. Everyone who worked at the hotel went above and beyond. But I must say above all is Jose's hospitality – the best part of El Sueno Tropical.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Jose's place is amazing! The pool was great and the food and drinks were excellent! Jose is very welcoming and friendly, along with the rest of the staff. I was also lucky enough to book a massage with Lillo, which was hands-down the best massage I've ever had. I left feeling completely relaxed and looking forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent five days at Jose's place in March and we could not have been happier with our experience. The room had everything we needed, including a cute hammock on the porch outside our door and air conditioning for those hot days. The restaurant had the best food we ate during our whole trip (and my boyfriend eats a lot, so we had lots of opportunity eat at different places). I loved that breakfast was included, and we could order nearly anything we wanted. What makes this hotel stand out most, though, is the friendly and communal atmosphere. Jose and his staff made us feel right at home right away. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a excelent, peaceful and nice place for staying.
Me and my girlfrient spent 3 nights there, and it was awesome!
The owner, Jose, is a friendly person, attentive and make some marvelous jelly!
The manager Lillo and his wife Maria are great human beings, and we became very close.
The employees are friendly (Maria, you are great) and do the job well.
The rooms are very good and have plenty of space.
I only have good memories of this special place.
Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are big, very clean and the grounds are just great. But I must say above all is Jose's hospitality. When we arrived my friend was having serious back problems. Jose immediately just gave him a room all to himself so he can recuperate better...without asking for a dime extra. Him and the whole staff turned a tough situation into a memorable experience. By the way he makes a "killer" Ranchero Eggs ;))) Thanks for you guys for such a great time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ggators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.8 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#2 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sueno Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sueno Tropical

Property: El Sueno Tropical
Address: Playa Carrillo | Guanacaste, Playa Carrillo 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sueno Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Sueno Tropical is a small 16 rooms resort set in 3 acres of tropical gardens. There are 4 buildings that house 4 units per building. There are 8 standard rooms, 4 deluxe rooms and 4 two bedrooms apartments. There is a freeform Italian tiled pool with a small wading pool. El Sueno Tropical has a 40 seat open air restaurant featuring American, Italian and Tico fare along with the best pizza in the area. Adjoining the restaurant is the Gator in the Jungle bar serving your favorite libations along with the freshest tropical fruit drinks you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your El Sueno Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sueno Tropical Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing