We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The perfect little paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sueno Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Sueno Tropical
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The perfect little paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My stay at el Sueno Tropical was amazing. The rooms were perfect in every aspect; clean, updated ( tv, a/c), comfortable bed, bathrooms very clean. The location of this hotel is beautiful it's close to the beach and close to Samara. The scenery and views you get here are remarkable they give you a great Costa Rican experience. What I really loved was the great hospitality that I experienced . Not your typical hotel owners, they are very friendly,helpful and honest. Lastly and most importantly the food at here was AMAZING ! The chicken cordon blue with a jalapeño gravy is out of this world, as well as the fresh fish . If you love burgers this is the place to have them. My fiancé had a burger there and will not stop talking about it! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalliopi923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    28
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
55
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at el sueno for five days with my fiancée and just returned from the states. It's located in the jungle near the water. Vinnie the owner and his daughter Melissa are the definition of great hospitality. Melissa showed us all the best to go and eat and swim, they are kind generous and made me and my fiancée fell at home. The have a great restaurant at the hotel as well which serves awesome food, they have great fish dishes and their burgers are awesome. I loved my stay at el sueno and already told friends and family and highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EStathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a trip down to El Sueno Tropical in early March and had an absolutely wonderful time. Everything was great -- the room, service, food, value, etc. Playa Carrillo is a short drive away, a pristine, empty beach complete with wild (I think?) horses that wandered past us. Samara, the closest town, is close as well and it is filled with restaurants, bars and activities. Melissa, the owners' daughter, took us out on the town to show us the nightlife, which was also a blast. The food at the hotel was excellent. We didn't dine out that much because of its great taste and value. A month later I am still craving the Tico breakfast. On the whole, I liked the hotel because of the strong familial feel. I'd come back from a "rough" (yeah right) day at the beach and just chill out at the bar and chat with the kind folks behind it.

The only drawback, like others have said, is the distance from the hotel to the beach. We rented a car (through Alamo; very affordable compared to the states) and we were able to drive wherever we wanted. In fact, on our first day we had a flat tire and Vinny was extremely helpful in assisting us change the tire while Zeta yelled at the Alamo folks on our behalf! It was great!

Looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zjanewkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed in el Sueno Tropical in December. The area is beautiful and hosts are very friendly. You will need to rent a car if you are staying in the hotel, since it is about 5K away from the beach. Overall we had a great experience and met really good friends where we stayed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_i_g_7719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel 3/12-3/17 and had a fantastic time. Carrillo beach is absolutely beautiful and there are no buildings at the beach (it looks like a deserted island). There are few people at the beach and it is really an amazing place to go. Samara is only a short drive (or bus ride - we took the bus a lot) away and has lots of restaurants, bars, and a marketplace.

The restaurant was affordable and absolutely delicious. Every meal we had was excellent.

Vinny and Zeta are the owners of the hotel and they were great. They were extremely knowledgeable and very helpful. Vinny was even willing to drive us some places if it was on his way or he wanted to go. Melissa, their daughter took us out to show us the nightlife personally.

This was really a great experience and the people at this hotel are what sets it apart. I'd highly recommend it for couples, families, friends, or any other people that want to relax and have a good time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We didn't actually stay at this hotel, but we were in the area during Thanksgiving and went there for a big feast they throw for all the Americans. We had a large party and we ended up talking with the owner and his daughter for almost an hour. The owner is married to a Costa Rican and they run the place with their daughter. They were incredibly accommodating and told us a lot about their experience in CR. They also own some pet deer that are much smaller than deer in the US and they were very friendly! The place had a very laid back vibe with a beautiful landscape. It is near Carrillo beach, which is absolutely gorgeous! It was one of our favorite beaches in all of Costa Rica. (We went all over the western part of the country.) Also, Samara Beach is just north of there and is gorgeous as well and has a lot more activities. (It's only about 10-15 minutes.) I would highly recommend both the area and the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful family vacation at El Sueno Tropical. Would have been 5 stars, if it had just been a little closer to the beach (only a 5 minute drive). It is a beautiful little spot surrounded by lushness and serenity-- with just the right amount of night life available in the great restaurant. Vinnie (El Gringo) and Zayda (La Tica) could not be more accommodating hosts, making it an ideal spot for locals and tourists alike. The rooms were clean, comfortable and safe. It is a great launching pad for a whole host of fun activities in the surrounding area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#2 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sueno Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sueno Tropical

Property: El Sueno Tropical
Address: Playa Carrillo | Guanacaste, Playa Carrillo 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sueno Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Sueno Tropical is a small 16 rooms resort set in 3 acres of tropical gardens. There are 4 buildings that house 4 units per building. There are 8 standard rooms, 4 deluxe rooms and 4 two bedrooms apartments. There is a freeform Italian tiled pool with a small wading pool. El Sueno Tropical has a 40 seat open air restaurant featuring American, Italian and Tico fare along with the best pizza in the area. Adjoining the restaurant is the Gator in the Jungle bar serving your favorite libations along with the freshest tropical fruit drinks you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your El Sueno Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sueno Tropical Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing