We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip”
Review of Casa Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Buenavista
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Casa Buenavista is a gem worth far more than the reasonable rates suggest. My husband and I stayed here for a too short three night stay in April 2012. I can only echo all of the great things other reviewers have said. The colourful fruit salads and home baking were some of the best meals we ate in Costa Rica, the room and property were beautiful and comfortable, and the hosts were unsurpassed.

Aside from the great Casa Buenavista, the Playa Carillo/Samara areas offer many hidden gems, like Playa Buenavista. Get a pizza to go from Hula Jungla and catch an evening soccer game with the locals.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tpott1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 177 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

Cinzia and Fiorenzo are the perfect hosts. Kind, attentive and respectful of your privacy. The place is spotless. Every morning we awoke to the sound of parrots, anticipating another one of the delicious homemade breakfasts. Carrillo is one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica, and Casa Buenavista is the place to stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartcasual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed at Casa Buenavista in March 2012 and it was such a pleasure. This was my 5th trip to Costa Rica and 2nd trip to Samara/Carrillo area. Cinzia and Fiorenzio have such wonderful energy about them. They are welcoming and you feel like you are at a home away from home. The food was healthy and delicious and Fiornzio's massages are so energizing. I was only able to spend 2 nights in this wonderful spot because they were busy, next time I will book my reservation with Casa Buenavista before I book my flight -it is that great of a place.
If you are looking for a big resort with lots of other tourists, this is not a place for you. If you are looking for a quiet, lovely spot with local flavor and peaceful energy, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdk358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have stayed here twice for week-long vacations, and have loved both trips. Cinzia and Fiorenzo are fantastic, the food is good, and the location is ideal. Be sure to make an appointment for a massage with Fiorenzo!

Room Tip: Both the upper and the lower room are nice. The upper one has a bigger bathroom, while the lower on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeccaPDXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Casa Buena Vista gets 5-Stars without a doubt! It was superb, private, quiet, super spotless and wanted to stay longer than our 5 days. The breakfast that is included was delicious and wanted to have it for dinner, too. I highly recommended to all who are visiting the Pacific Coast and do reserve as early as possible, so you will not be disappointed if they are booked. I hope my memories that I have of Casa Buena Vista stay with me as I reflect on Costa Rica.
Vivienne & Mike R.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed at Casa Buenavista in November 2011...Wonderful!! Hosts are very welcoming and friendly, and the place is lovely and peaceful!! Gorgeous gardens and very clean and spacious bedroom. Only a short walk from the beach. Would definitely return and highly recommend it!!! :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsabCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a wonderfully time at Casa Buenavista this February. Cinzia and Fiorenzo are lovely hosts and made us very welcome at their B&B. I definitely recommend this place and these friendly people to anyone looking for a relaxing and secluded beach getaway.

We enjoyed Cinzia's delicious homemade breads, marmalades, and granola along with other fixings like eggs and fresh fruit for breakfast served on our private patio overlooking the jungle - often hearing and seeing howler monkeys from our view of the jungle.

The room was quite clean and well taken care of. With several windows for breeze and a ceiling fan, we opted to not even use the A/C at night. The small refrigerator was also a big plus for storing food and drinks from the nearby grocery/liquor store (just a short walk up the gravel road).

The small village of Carrillo also has several restaurants, and a 'soda' (cafe) within walking distance. And most importantly, is the excellent beach! Never have I seen such clear waters, nice sand lined with palm trees, with so few people. Most tourists in the region stay in Sámara, just a few kilometers up the road, with it's souvenir stands and beech-front music and hotels. Carrillo, on the other hand, suited us well by feeling off the beaten path, yet having everything we needed.

To get there, we flew into Liberia, Costa Rica airport, rented a car, and had no trouble driving on paved roads all the way to Playa Carrillo. We had read warnings about road conditions and potholes, but had no troubles in our 2WD compact car during the winter dry season.

If ever again in the Guanacaste region, we will definitely enjoy revisiting Casa Buenavista.

~ David

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.2 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
165 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
307 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
218 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Buenavista

Address: Urbanicacion Carrillo Real, Playa Carrillo 10100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: $69 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Buenavista Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing