We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Numero Uno!”
Review of Casa Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Buenavista
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Casa Buena Vista gets 5-Stars without a doubt! It was superb, private, quiet, super spotless and wanted to stay longer than our 5 days. The breakfast that is included was delicious and wanted to have it for dinner, too. I highly recommended to all who are visiting the Pacific Coast and do reserve as early as possible, so you will not be disappointed if they are booked. I hope my memories that I have of Casa Buena Vista stay with me as I reflect on Costa Rica.
Vivienne & Mike R.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 176 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed at Casa Buenavista in November 2011...Wonderful!! Hosts are very welcoming and friendly, and the place is lovely and peaceful!! Gorgeous gardens and very clean and spacious bedroom. Only a short walk from the beach. Would definitely return and highly recommend it!!! :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsabCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a wonderfully time at Casa Buenavista this February. Cinzia and Fiorenzo are lovely hosts and made us very welcome at their B&B. I definitely recommend this place and these friendly people to anyone looking for a relaxing and secluded beach getaway.

We enjoyed Cinzia's delicious homemade breads, marmalades, and granola along with other fixings like eggs and fresh fruit for breakfast served on our private patio overlooking the jungle - often hearing and seeing howler monkeys from our view of the jungle.

The room was quite clean and well taken care of. With several windows for breeze and a ceiling fan, we opted to not even use the A/C at night. The small refrigerator was also a big plus for storing food and drinks from the nearby grocery/liquor store (just a short walk up the gravel road).

The small village of Carrillo also has several restaurants, and a 'soda' (cafe) within walking distance. And most importantly, is the excellent beach! Never have I seen such clear waters, nice sand lined with palm trees, with so few people. Most tourists in the region stay in Sámara, just a few kilometers up the road, with it's souvenir stands and beech-front music and hotels. Carrillo, on the other hand, suited us well by feeling off the beaten path, yet having everything we needed.

To get there, we flew into Liberia, Costa Rica airport, rented a car, and had no trouble driving on paved roads all the way to Playa Carrillo. We had read warnings about road conditions and potholes, but had no troubles in our 2WD compact car during the winter dry season.

If ever again in the Guanacaste region, we will definitely enjoy revisiting Casa Buenavista.

~ David

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This bed and breakfast is a real gem! Clean, quiet , near the beach and town, excellent breakfast and service.. Highly recommended! The upstairs room has a great balcony for reading, drinks at sundown or just looking at the beautiful garden. Stay here... You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Very clean place with a huge Zen garden around. The nicest beach is at 5 minutes from house. Beach is like on the pictures… Breakfast surprised us – lots of food, everything is home made by Italian lady, even bread- we were full every time. Delicious! Hosts are very kind and will take care of you for sure. We finally stayed 3 nights instead of 1 as we were planning.

Room Tip: there are only 2 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hails_yul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This B&B is just up a short walk on a dirt road from a fabulous beach. There are few tourists on the beach; we just saw locals coming for a lunch or family outing. The swimming is perfect and there are lots of palm trees to relax under in the shade. The B&B is very clean, the room nicely furnished; the owners were really generous and sweet and the breakfast served on your private patio was superb. The little village around the B&B has a few restaurants, a little grocery store where you can get everything you want and you can even use the nice swimming pool in the hotel nearby the B&B. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyinallthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent at Casa Buenavista some days in february and it we were really enthousiastic of the place. Very nice house with two rooms for the guests, quite place, comfortable rooms, very clean, relaxing, tastiest breakfast, beatifull garden. The restaurants of Carrillo are just some minutes walk from the house and the playa Carrillo is great! Perfect for a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xenia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.2 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Buenavista

Address: Urbanicacion Carrillo Real, Playa Carrillo 10100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: $60 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Buenavista Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing