We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked Hotel Leyenda!”
Review of Hotel Leyenda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Leyenda
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really liked Hotel Leyenda!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an amazing bargain for the area (where things tend to be expensive), very nice, clean, pretty hotel with a good restaurant, and great pool for a decent price. I can highly recommend it. Even if you just come for lunch or dinner you can still use the pool, which makes for a relaxing afternoon. Try the tuna carpaccio, it's amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerstin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLLeyenda, Recepcionista at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario este nos motiva a seguir ofreciendo a nuestros clientes cada día un mejor servicio
Le esperamos nuevamente!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    67
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
119
98
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from our trip to Costa Rica where we stayed at Hotel Leyenda through a Living Social deal we purchased online. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were large and had excellent air conditioning. The employees were very friendly (especially Roger at the front desk who helped us coordinate everything). Because we had purchased a Living Social deal, we were given a modified menu at dinner which, in my opinion, did not have enough food choices to satisfy my appetite.The pool was beautiful but the water was too warm and was not a way to cool off in the 90 degree weather. To get around, you must take a cab as there isn't anything around within walking distance. The Carrillo beach that the hotel has a free shuttle to is absolutely beautiful and worth visiting. The part that we were most upset with was that we felt the advertising on the Living Social deal was misleading. On the deal, it stated that we would get a choice of two adventure activities and two exploration activities. However, when we tried to book the activities, we found out that there were only two activities total that were included, not two of each. Brenda, the lady who helped us coordinate our trips, was very responsive to our emails and reported that other people had also had similar complaints. Because only two activities were included, and we were hoping for more experiences than that, we ended up leaving two nights early and going to a different hotel in La Fortuna. Therefore, we ended up paying for two extra nights (since we booked a 5 night deal but only stayed 3 nights). If you want a relaxing vacation where you can sit out by the pool/ocean but not be too active, this is a nice place to visit. However, we were more interested in the activities so we left a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLLeyenda, Recepcionista at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente
Gracias por su comentario
Lamentamos mucho que no hayamos sido lo que usted esperaban en fin trateremos de mejorar lo que describe y esté a nuestro alcance.

Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I had the best time at this lovely hotel. It's just about a 2 hour drive from Liberia airport, and while it may not seem picturesque at first, you quickly enter the beautiful Samara and Carillo Beaches. Miles of beach with only handfuls of people made it such a relaxing getaway. The hotel was incredibly friendly and clean. It's very small, with maybe only 10-15 rooms, but people were always eating at the restaurants (great food!) or by the pool. Luis was especially wonderful, always remembering us and giving great recommendations. The hotel was also very helpful at arranging day trips and activities in Samara and made sure we were always comfortable. We recommend the breakfast Tipico and definitely one of the pizza's from the pizzeria! Overall a wonderful stay in a hidden gem of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NopeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLLeyenda, Recepcionista at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario
Gracias por haber escogido nuestro hotel para sus vacaciones, nos sentimos muy complacidos que haya sido de su agrado su estadía aquí.
Esperamos que nuevamente nos visite..

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have friends who have lived in Carrillo for thirty years and when visiting them have often dined at their excellent restaurant. But we never considered staying there until we found ourselves running away from the horror of the Guanamar Hotel and seeking other lodging. Our friends suggested the Leyenda. Wow! Never let the lack of an ocean view deter you from staying elsewhere. This place was magical. It had three pools, the largest one of the best designed and beautiful I have ever seen. The rooms were so comfortable and each day a shuttle will take you down to Playa Carrillo, one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. There they set up a restaurant on wheels and you can order anything that is on the hotel's menu. Plus they provide lounge chairs too. They bend over backwards to make your stay a delight. The new owners Flavio and Josephine were equally delightful and they are pouring money into this place to make it even better that it already is... and it is really wonderful! Lush, tropical gardens, great staff, great food... you must definitely put this one near the top of your contenders.

Room Tip: OMG! So many to choose from. Family suites. Two large apartments. One huge apartment atop the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLLeyenda, Recepcionista at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario
Nos hace sentir muy complacidos de que haya sido de su agrado ya que nuestra meta principal es hacer que nuestros clientes reciban un buen servicio.
Les esperamos nuevamente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed two nights weekday on mid march '14. Arrived late night (8:30pm), hotel is over the main road of Carrillo so is easy to be found. Just checked in and went directly to restaurant for dinner which was great and fresh. Gardens, pool and pool bar were great, and you hear frog choirs at night. Room quality was ok, but staff need to pay attention to cleanliness; you can see spills on the walls near the beds. Air conditioned was very noisy so prefer to sleep with A/C off, and leave it the whole day on to keep the room fresh enough at night. We were on room 5 which is the nearest to lobby, so we had noise all night from guests and security guard talking too loud. No room service during out stay which was supposed to be included. Location is in the middle of nowhere, which is not a problem if you have car. Carrillo beach is 7 minutes driving and Samara at 20. Camaronal and Punta Islita are 10 mins and 25 from the hotel if you bring 4X4 shortcut. 60 mins on sedan.

On Carrillo, there is not facilites or restaurants, but they offer lunch and drinks. We tried to get some drinks but no answer from the person in charge (busy with his Iphone). Samara offers a big offer of shops, restaurants and night life. Sunset is great in the southern part of samara.

Room Tip: Pick as far as possible from lobby. Otherwise you'll have a noisy night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george01752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments, It help us to improve our services.
Our apologies for all the inconvenients, now, we took a note of your comments and we'll keep working on this details to give a better service to the future guest and we hope you can visit us again. Will be a pleasure to attending you in our hotel.
Thank for prefer us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

As a prior reviewer wrote, the front of the hotel is unassuming. Once you walk through the front door, however, we found paradise! The room was very clean, the staff fantastic, and the surroundings beautiful. Roger and Luis will do what they can to accommodate your stay. The surroundings and nearby town are authentic. Nothing touristy about this location, hotel or town. Food was fantastic at the hotel (and very reasonably priced). We look forward to returning!!
Beth and Chrissy

Room Tip: The family suite was well worth the extra few dollars (US dollars).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_and_Chrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLLeyenda, Recepcionista at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario
Es de gran gusto saber que su estadía haya sido de su agrado.
Continuaremos trabajando para seguir ofreciendo un buen servicio, le esperamos nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

It's hard to find a safe, affordable and clean hotel in Carrillo. But this property was just the right place to put me at ease. They even have a restaurant on site with free breakfast and 20% off dinners served here. The staff spoke English wish was news to my ears and super friendly, honestly the entire time there I had my hotel door open to let the fresh air and outside greenery to invade my room. They do have a safe lock box in each room to keep your valuables in. The hotel is 5 to 8 minutes away from the beach and yes you need a car on that side of town. They do have free shuttle bus to take u to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atiyah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLLeyenda, Recepcionista at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario
Es de nuestra satisfacción saber que su estancia haya sido de su agrado
Le esperamos nuevamente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
2.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leyenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leyenda

Property: Hotel Leyenda
Address: 1 Kilometro al Este de la Plaza de Deportes de Puerto Carrillo, Playa Carrillo 291-3100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leyenda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Leyenda is located at Carrillo Beach, the white sand beach and gorgeous palms, Guanacaste. Enjoy the hotel's Mediterranean architecture and its entertainment area, featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, playground and private parking. 11 Superior rooms, luxuriously equipped with 2 queen beds, fab, a/c, beautiful outside porch, satellite TV and amenities. Five Superior rooms include kitchenette. Also available Internet access.Enjoy our very exclusive service for our exclusive guests! We offer mobile units including restrooms, sinks, showers, dressing rooms, lockers, safety box, beach chairs and umbrellas, awnings and sports equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Leyenda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leyenda Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing