We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice and cozy place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puerto Carrillo Hotel

Puerto Carrillo Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Carrillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puerto Carrillo Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very inexpensive for what you get: king size bed, air conditioner, ceiling fan, cable, refrigerator and hot water. The owner definitely knows how to make you feel comfortable. The food at the restaurant might not be as good as I expected, but that doesn't mean that it was bad.

Room Tip: Watch out for the ants if you bring food to your room, so picking one room on the 2nd floor might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megadark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

The owners were delightfully helpful and the room was clean and spacious. They went above and beyond to make sure that we were taken care of and we stayed an extra few nights because we enjoyed it so much (and it was very affordable). The beach is an immaculate, white-sand beach with little islands dotting the distance. You can walk down the street to a darling pizza joint or stay there at the restaurant for some delicious, homemade pizza. The other hotels nearby were not willing to cut us a good rate, even in the rainy season, but they were very accommodating. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose a room up above with a view of the pool below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Great place to stay around Samara, just up the road from playa Carrillo a spectacularly beautiful, long, sandy, mostly empty beach lined by palm trees.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KipLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We have been in Puerto Carrillo Hotel for two nights.
Owned by two Italians the place is nice, comfortable and quiet but rooms are not clean well enough and two of them didn´t had hot water during our stay. Also breakfast was not OK: coffee, milk, bread slices, a broken toaster, butter and jam … no juice, fruits, ham or cheese.
In the second day, serious troubles. Without doors or windows forced or broken, 3 of our rooms have been robbed, bags and lockers open, and $ 380 USD have vanish. After participate the assault to the manager he pay the guests the importance missing right away. He also told our local guide that is not the first time that happens in the hotel and that we have been robbed by one of the employees.
For the group it was an unpleasant stay in this place. If you want to spend some peaceful days in Praia Carrillo don´t use this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coutito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Carrillo hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Your hosts at Puerto Carrillo Hotel are Silvio and Luka, who opened their laid-back, low-key and easy-going hotel in 2008. Silvio is very kind and helpful! You can listen to him greet his guests in 4 languages. The hotel is operated in the spirit of an Italian pensione - clean, comfortable room with no fuss, A/C, mini fridge, cable TV, en suite bath with hot shower. The hotel has a small italian restaurant with bar and free Wi Fi. The small reception area also has internet access. A light breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, juice and coffee are included.
Along the same road are a couple of stores and several tasty places to eat. If needed, the local bus (300 colones one-way) will take you into Samara which has banks with ATMs, restaurants with bars, shops and the closest thing to a night life - but that's not why one travels all the way to this part of the Nicoya Peninsula.
The setting is a bit rural. You'll be awaken every morning to a cacophony of birds announcing the start of another day in paradise. This is the last unspoiled spot in Costa Rica that hasn't been overrun by tourist. Visit, but leave no trace

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank work2play_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights in Feb and were quite happy with our stay. Here is what this hotel "is" and "isn't" to help outline our experience.

Puerto Carrillo Hotel is......

Near great and pretty quiet Carrillo Beach with great swimming
Clean and comfortable and quiet
Good price ($70-80/night)
Nice rooms with good AC (hot in Samara/Carrillo) and satelitte TV (if you need that)
Best for travelers speaking Italian, French, Spanish. Staff not too good with English.
Good internet and WiFi
Conveniently across from a supermarket where you can cross the road for beers, snacks, etc.
About 8-10 km drive from Samara
Best if you have a vehicle to get to beach (down a big hill and hiking up after beach would be nasty in the heat) and Samara.
Nice, small pool for a cool dip after the beach
Best for families with kids, couples not looking to party it up
Good, basic italian food served up at small restaurant

Puerto Carrillo Hotel is not......

In anyway a place to go if you want to party or mingle it up. stay in Samara for that.
Good if you have no vehicle. Expect long hot walks to the beach. Can take the bus though.
For people who demand english be spoken to them.
Great for food other than italian pastas, sandwiches
Place to go for a great view from your room. Rooms look at the pool and not near the beach or on a cliff looking at the ocean.
Most romantic place.
A huge property. Quite small and no area to take a walk.

In summary, we really enjoyed it because it was near a fantastic beach and the rooms and food were good value and very clean. We went into Samara a couple nights for dinner and we had a vehicle to do this. If no vehicle, stay somewhere else is my suggestion.

Cheers

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoytheexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

You'll find a great hangout here in the quiet village of Carrillo - about a 5 minute walk to the beach. We stayed 4 nights and loved every bit. You can take the local bus into Samara if you want a change of scenery, but Playa Carrillo is a fantastic beach and you probably won't want to leave. The owner is delightfully laid back and always willing to assist with anything. We took him up on his offer to arrange a locak kayaking trip - a wonderful idea - lots of fun! Our room was large and comfortable. A couple of evenings we hung out by the bar with the owner and passed the time in great conversation. You can also get dinner here (Italian).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#2 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#4 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Carrillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Carrillo Hotel

Property: Puerto Carrillo Hotel
Address: 50 meters from the Iglesia Catolica | 150 meters East of the football field, Playa Carrillo 05235, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Carrillo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One finds the tranquility of the surrounding natural greenery (the Guanacaste region) and the neighboring Beach (Carrillo Beach) With 3.5 kms of coastline, a "Corner of Paradise" between the white sand and palm trees kissed by the sun. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Puerto Carrillo Hotel Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing