We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel in a quiet location”
Review of Hotel Cote Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cote Rivage
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Most of this has already been said by previous visitors, but my wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Cote Rivage, being well looked after by the delightful Nadine and her husband Philippe. December in the Dordogne is particularly quiet and we may have been the only guests in the hotel. Bitterly cold outside, our room (#5) was toasty warm and very, very comfortable, with a lovely view over the river. Wi-fi worked well to keep in touch. The restaurant filled up each evening with non-residents come to savour Philippe's excellent cooking. On the half-board menu, we didn't get any choice, but across 3 dinners we were very happy with the quality and value of what we were given. Breakfast was substantial and served in a small ante-room, where we often met Chaussettes, the resident cat.

If you're looking for somewhere quiet and comfortable - with excellent food - in striking distance of the Bastides of the region, and half an hour from Bergerac airport, you could not do better. Nadine and Philippe work hard to ensure their guests have a great holiday. We will return.

Room Tip: Room #5 has a balcony and a great view. We didn't see any other rooms, but I'm sure they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

A little gem. We found this small hotel by sheer chance when travelling back through France. The location, right next to river is outstanding, the building full of charm and the rooms clean, pleasant and thoughtfully presented.
Philippe was a charming and thoughtful host and made the stay even more memorable.
We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant on two nghts of our stay. The food was absolutely first class, beautifully cooked and presented and with an excellent choice for a small establishment.
Would certainly recommend this for a short or even longer stay and hope that we are able to revisit in the future

Room Tip: Just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barrieredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have returned from staying at this lovely hotel .  The location of this hotel was absolutely fabulous but that was just the start of a fantastic seven days. The hotel was everything  you could wish for, located just across the road from the slow flowing and famous Dordogne river.  They say that first impressions are the one you remember, well as being spotlessly clean ,the food was absolutely delicious prepared by the host who was also the chef who previously was a chef in a top restaurant in Paris.  Whilst we were there our 92 year old mother had a very bad incident happen and you could not have received more attentiveness from both the hosts of this hotel.  Apart from what they done on the evening of the incident the next day  when she was out of hospital they took care of her by bringing her into the garden and giving her lunch, afternoon tea and phoning us and emailing us a photo of her in the garden telling us she was fine.  This was because we had appointments in the area and they did not want us to miss them.  In all the years that we have been travelling around France we have never experienced  anything like this..needless to say we will definitely go back again and recommend this small but perfect hotel to all our friends and family. Fantastic hotel,fabulous cuisine,friendly staff,super location but most of all top marks to Nadine and Phillipe the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Cote Rivage for 3 nights during late August 2012, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the food excellent and the hosts were charming and helpful. Phillipe, an excellent chef, spoke little English so it was good to practice our little French with him, Nadine's English is very good (a bonus for us) so non-French speakers need not worry.
We would highly recommend the hotel to people wanting a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable place to stay that serves well presented, tasty food.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wydchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at this gem of a hotel in June 2012 for three nights. what a wonderful experience.Phillipe and Nadine, the owners were fabulous hosts and couldn't do more to make our visit special. The welcome we received on arrival was great as was the excellent cuisine.Phillipe is a fantastic chef. Badenfols is not a swinging hot spot! Thank goodness. Having spent the day climbing up to castles one just needs to rest in this haven of tranquillity!

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We spent three nights at this lovely little hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is (almost) on the banks of the Dordogne - separated by a small, little used road - with wonderful views. Our room was small but thoughtfully appointed - plenty of space for clothes and that rare convenience in hotels, lots of shelves and places to hang things in the bathroom. If you want to come back after a day's sightseeing to somewhere you can relax on the terrace or in the comfortable lounge with a drink and then have a superb meal without going out again, this is the place. The food is first class - interesting, varied and delicious. It was taken over in December 2011 by the young couple who run it now and are doing an excellent job. The four blobs rather than five for service is based on two small incidents that may reflect their newness to the hotel business - our host, also the excellent chef, made a long phone call while watching us (rather ancient pensioners) struggle to get our suitcases upstairs; and our hostess made us laugh - but probably shouldn't make a habit of it - by breezing into our room without waiting after I'd called "just a minute" and greeted my half naked appearance with the words, "Don't worry, I was a nurse!" But these small incidents were offset by genuine warmth and helpfulness. It's a charming, comfortable place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldhanwellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We only had one night in this hotel but were very impressed with the location, the sincere hospitality of the hostess and the general ambience of the building inside and out. There was a lovely patio and garden area at the front, a small, but pretty, view of the river from our room and the decor in our room was tasteful and most comfortable. Our room was not large but very clean and provided all the necessities for a very pleasant stay. The food was great and the hosts were particularly charming and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed our night here. The price of the accommodation was excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badefols-sur-Dordogne
2.9 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
432 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
279 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage
Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage
#1 of 1 in Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
177 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel le Foret
Hotel le Foret
#1 of 2 in Lalinde
101 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 2 in Lalinde
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cote Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Rivage

Address: 24150 Badefols-sur-Dordogne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Badefols-sur-Dordogne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badefols-sur-Dordogne
Price Range: $87 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cote Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cote Rivage France/Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing