We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Zabljak”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Soa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Soa
Ranked #1 of 16 Zabljak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubrovnik, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of Zabljak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very modern and cosy, the staff particulary friendly and helpful with everything. Highly recommend it. The location couldn't be better - the Durmitor lake and National Park is less than 10 min walking distance and the center of the town is 20-25 min walking distance. The only "not so good" thing is old and out of function building in front of Hotel Soa which also used to be hotel... If you are with car, the sea is some 45-1 h distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    67
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
108
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I haven't been them all of course,
but it was by far the best one I'v stayed at in both Croatia and Montenegro at similar price range, from the outside it was also the best looking hotel in Zabljak so I guess it has to be one of the best there.

Hotel Soa is a little beautiful boutique hotel,
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
The design of the whole hotel inside and outside is modern, not too luxurious and just beautiful.
The design of the rooms is modern but very warm, the view from the room is amazing.
Room was spacious (actually divided to a bed room and living room with 2 televisions)

Service is excellent, room service dish prices are the same as restaurant prices.
The restaurant itself is pretty decent, (more important in Zabljak as there is not much to do at evenings)
prices are of everything were decent,

I had a wifi reception problem in the room. the receptionist (Sorry for not remembering his name) was helpful, came to check, Unfortunately he couldn't fix the problem himself, so he offered us a different room, we decided to stay in our room but he did not gave up and later a technician came with a wifi extender and fix the problem.

Zabljak is very small so location isn't very important but I will note that it was walking distance from the center, and also very close to the black lake (probably the most popular attraction of the Durmitor)

If I have anything negative to say it would be the stream in the shower (very low).

Overall great experience, very good value for money, I will definitely recommend for anyone looking to stay at Zabljak.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garamasala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The newly built boutique Hotel Soa sits in the very heart of Zabljak and is perfectly situated close to the entrance of Durmitor National Park and the magical Black Lake. We enjoyed sitting outside for a drink in the afernoon on the terrace, overlook the tranquil lake and snow capped mountain peaks that loom in the distance, surrounded by peaceful conifer trees.

Our suite was modern and comfortable and we really enjoyed the breakfast that was delivered to our room in the morning, which we tucked into wrapped up in gorgeous white robes. The bed was really cosy and comfortable and it was a luxury to have working internet!

The biggest highlight for us was the amazing food in the restaurant. The a la carte menu was faultless and absolutely delicious serving traditional food, cooked to perfection. We were really impressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UntravelledPathsLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIVEMILETOWN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here on a photography trip with Peter Gordon of Explorelight.com and it was Just like a second home, we had all the comforts,great food and the staff were brilliant. The hours we kept were weird with 5am starts and a few hours mid morning back in the rooms to prepare for midday departures and nothing was too much trouble.
Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrfmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

they built a fire for us in our fireplace. If there was something we wanted for breakfast that wasn't on the buffet, they were willing to fetch it (fresh fruit, salad) for us at no extra charge. At dinnertime, we ate in the hotel's restaurant; the trout was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arabrab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claygate, Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the stylish and contemporary Soa. We splashed out on a suite (affordable by European standards), and appreciated the extra space and amenities. Very good food and service, except for one out-of-character breakfast meltdown (hence 4* not 5 for rating). It's nicely situated too, with fine views and a quiet location, but close enough to walk into 'town'

None of the other hotels around appeared to be anything like as pleasant, so if your budget can stretch, do go for the Soa (& economise somewhere else). We'll be back...

Room Tip: Get a suite if your budget will take it (they're a steal at these prices)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieT43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Lovely hotel, so pleased we stayed here. We had a family suite, which was huge and it was so nice to have the extra space, with a separate lounge / dining area with TV and sofa, dining table, plus small kitchen area. Internet worked fine. Balcony was nice, overlooking mountains and our room was above the lounge bar area. Staff all really friendly, only short walk either up the road to Zabljak or down the road to Black Lake. Only negative was that the restaurant was sooooo slow - plus my wife, who dosn't eat meat, has asked me to comment that both nights they had no Scampi, even though it was on the menu in several dishes. If you love Grilled Trout, you will be fine. Food service was very slow - on the 2nd night, we even tried to get to the restaurant early, skipped the starters and still waited ages ! Apart from that, hotel was great and very relaxing.

Zabljak is quite a trek from the coast and the roads, although ok, are single carriageway and Montenegro's seem to think they can overtake on blind corners - quite scary when travelling in the opposite direction ! Rafting on Tara river was cool, apart from the that, Zabljak is a quiet, small place and not much to do. Black Lake was nice, but, well, its a Lake !

Room Tip: Go for the Family Suite - great if you dont bring the kids !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zabljak hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Polar Star
Hotel Polar Star
#1 of 4 in Zabljak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Javor
Hotel Javor
#3 of 4 in Zabljak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sepic Accommodation
Sepic Accommodation
#2 of 16 in Zabljak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boskovica Brvnare
Boskovica Brvnare
#5 of 16 in Zabljak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guesthouse Andjelich
Guesthouse Andjelich
#7 of 16 in Zabljak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zabljak City Center Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soa

Property: Hotel Soa
Address: National Park Durmitor, Zabljak, Durmitor National Park, Zabljak Municipality 84220, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Zabljak Municipality > Durmitor National Park > Zabljak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Zabljak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Soa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing