We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love the View and the Beach is at our doorsteps.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melati Tanjung Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melati Tanjung Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love the View and the Beach is at our doorsteps.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The famous Pantai Cenang beach is right behind this building. The View from our room B402 was amazing. we could see the beach and the mountains and even the mainroad. all in one :)

the staffs were really nice as i called one week in advance from Singapore to make a reservation, and i didnt even managed to pay a deposit for it as i do not have a CIMB bank ac.

they offered great advices on where i should visit/ tour in Langkawi, whats to skip and most importantly a great room.

paying 140rm was abit expensive to some, but both my partner and myself agreed it was worth every penny.

however, if you are not too young or reckon that you are too old for some music at night.
i think its best you stay away. Babylon besides happens to play music that made me wanna dance myself to sleep. :)

i will definitely go back again :)

2 points to take note.
wifi is only available at the lobby.
the sugar gliders at the lobby is tooooo cute! :)

Room Tip: Block B, the one with 4 stories. and the highest level 4th floor. :) amazing view. if you want a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    27
    15
    6
See reviews for
13
41
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
selangor, malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

we've been there on October 2012, a family holiday with husband and two kids (4 years +1++ year) luckily i managed to booked room facing the sea, very nice and amazing view , i purposely booked room B407 as per one review advised.

Though it was at level four and we had to carry our bags upstairs plus our kids but i don't regret it as the scenery from the balcony was simply amazing.

a few points during our stay

- Very freindly and helpfull staff
- Air conditioned room
-Toilet was very clean
- Will be a bit sandy inside the room ( well it is just by the sea side)
- They said they were run out of kettle so,no kettle in the room so we had to go down to get the hot water for our baby
- Please bring your own toiletries as they don't provide for you
- If you want to use WiFi then you have to use it at lobby downstairs
-TV provided with local channel
- Restaurants are only at walking distance
-Reggae bar is very near so if don't mind to listen to the song until 2 to 3 am its ok otherwise it will be a bit noisy to you. But we managed to sleep since we are very tired xoxoxo :)

What else? ermm the price for our room is around rm160 i forgot (^^) different price for different block i guess (^^)

there is no meal provided

Room Tip: please into take account of the level you choose especially with kids :) you can hear people walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fskamaruddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the ground level room facing the beach, and we could literally hear the waves crashing even when the door is closed. The beach itself is great, and there are plenty of eateries nearby. The room is quite clean, but there are no shampoo and the cover of the toilet seat is broken. The air conditioning was working just find, but the noise from the adjacent Babylon Bar made it quite hard to get a good night's sleep. Great view, great location, but better avoid if you are travelling with young children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinaranmalam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Booked for two rooms next to each other 25 & 26. I purposely requested for the ground floor. The room was just okay and clean. Just a few steps away from the beach. Housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. Located just a stone throw away from good restaurants and bars. you need to go to the reception for the wifi which is not very Convenient. It was a good stay for me and my family after all.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the sea. if available or the ground floor near to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syazrinzulfakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We made it to our accommodation by about 1:00. We are at Pantai (means beach) Cenang. This place is turning out to be great. For $55 US per night we are in a room on the fourth floor of the Melati Tanjung. Room B408 (the best view in the place. Request it if you can), right on the beach, a balcony overlooking the beach, water, jungled coastline and offshore islands. The room is quite large, clean, big bathroom, hot kettle, minifridge, located central to the many beach restaurants and massage shops, dive shops, internet places. There is a flat screen TV, but only 3 local stations (I don’t understand Bahasa Malaysian, oh well !) I can hear the crash of the waves outside. Its so pleasant at the moment that we do not need the airconditioner and there are no biting bugs so we have the doors and windows open.


Its now 6:45 in the evening. I am sitting on the balcony of my 4th floor room looking at the beach and ocean, and at about a dozen little jungle clad islands off shore. I’m watching the paragliders in the sky, a few people out on jet skis, probably a hundred people (families, kids, young men and women) out in the water or strolling the beach. The coconut palms are gently waving in the breeze. I can hear people talking and laughing and kids shrieking, and the sound of motorboats skimming along. Most of the people come out to the beach around 4:00 or so. I guess to avoid the scorching midday rays. The sun is still pretty high in the sky. All in all, an idyllic scene in front of me and I can tell you that I am feeling very blissful.

Room Tip: room B408 is the best, but if not, at least get seaview on 4th floor rrom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MissKimBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

very good location just in the beach and beside babylon reggie bar which is thes best bar in pantai cenang, with a great view but the entrance is crowded and dirty beside a restaurant always full of locals and the smell! there is no shampoo no towel fridge not working and air condition work with difficulty. there are a lot of cockroach and lizards there and in the morning and night very noisy, but the view is really greaaaaaaaaaaaaatttt

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SamarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Superb place with very specious rooms, new floors have been added and since my family is there once a year or more it seems to be growing. Top floors with sea view are just perfect and worth the highest price. The motel still has cheaper rooms in the back not at the beach so a good choice for budget travelers. The owner is very helpful and the ours you can get at the motel with her are cheaper then anywhere else. You can book just about anything at the motel, trips, scooters, cars.
Apart from the view the town is great with a reggae bar just next to the motel so just sit with a beer on the balcony and enjoy the reggae tunes.
Two important information about the rooms. There is no WiFi, you have to go to the reception to get the reception of the free WiFi. In addition although there are TVs in the rooms there is no cable so just local Malay channels.
Great shops and restaurants all around and the best is just 10min walk - duty free shops!I mean cheap ! Just on the beachyou get lots of water sports so great fun too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grubenmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 2,051 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salsa Resort Langkawi
Salsa Resort Langkawi
#8 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#20 of 102 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
0.6 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Tanjung Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Tanjung Motel

Property: Melati Tanjung Motel
Address: Temonyong, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melati Tanjung Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Melati Tanjung Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Tanjung Hotel Pantai Cenang
Melati Tanjung Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing