We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Balinese-style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Nice Balinese-style hotel”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Hotel was booked directly via the website and all emails were answered promptly. We opted for the Sunset 1 room for a stay of one week. We checked in early at around 11:30am with no problem and were given a friendly welcome by one of the receptionists who wanted payment up front for the whole stay. Safety deposit boxes of various sizes are available at reception for securing any valuables.
The hotel occupies a long narrow strip of land with a path meandering down to the beach. On either side of the path are the rooms, a series of semi-detached one-storey bungalows. There are well-kept small gardens infront of the rooms, as well as Balinese stone statues, and stone vessels with frangipani flowers floating in them. The breakfast area is in a small restaurant on the beachfront which is only open 8am-11am. Breakfast is quite simple, eggs cooked to order then a small buffet of fruit, toast, noodles, tea and coffee.
The Sunset 1 room we had was pleasant; a small terrace outside with table and chairs and a washing line had a small degree of privacy thanks to some bushes. The bed was a mattress on a wooden platform. There was a small seating area next to the window, tea and coffee making facilities, a small fridge, a TV (with no English language channels), dressing table and mirror (hair dryer was provided), and wardrobe. An electric mosquito plug in was also in the room. Above the wardrobe was the air con unit, and above the bed was a ceiling fan. The bathroom was light and airy thanks to the translucent roof. The shower was powered by a small heater and worked well. The bathroom sink only had one cold water tap. Towels were replaced randomly. Beach towels were also provided.
The beach area had plenty of sunbeds, some in a state of disrepair. We didn't ever have a problem getting a sunbed. Palm trees provided much needed shade. There was also a little massage shack on the beach.
The staff were on the whole very friendly and helpful, always greeting us by name. Free Wi-fi was available in the lobby.
There are a few mini markets around the hotel, and some nice restaurants. Underwaterworld and a couple of duty free shops were within easy walking distance. We also found a nice laundry 5 minutes walk away.
Due to a late flight out of Langkawi, we arranged a late check out the day before we were due to depart, and paid half the daily room price to retain the room until 6pm.
On the whole a very nice little budget hotel in a quiet part of town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happynoodleboy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    298
    94
    25
    25
See reviews for
124
334
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Clean, quite and friendly receptionists, sea view at the back is wonderful....General improvement is the breakfast, it should be more option. I can get even better breakfast with the same prices in Sweden Hostel which is located in Europe. Overall it is worth 80 out of 100% satisfaction.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leon11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Situated at a fantastic location with easy access to F&B and convenient shops, this hidden gem even has a ‘private’ beach – a natural and beautiful cliff that blocks the general crowd from the main strip of Langkawi beach. The Balinese settings, lush greenery and cosy rooms made up for the lack of technologies like internet access in room but it’s supposed to be a beach holiday after all.

Kudos to the service staff, room is timely cleaned with consistent refresh of hotel amenities, which is essential for a beach resort. Little gesture like placing extra bath towers beside each bed shows the thoughtfulness of the staff. Adding to that, they strike-up casual conversation with hilarious jokes that made everyone felt a kind of closeness which I have never experienced in major hotels.

And say hi to Su-Su (milk in Malay), an adorable full white kitten which wanders around in grace.

As for F&B, AVOID Palm View Seafood Restaurant (10 minutes walk) as we forked up an exorbitant RM1,600 for average seafood, not even exotic dishes like lobster or abalone. This price is even higher compared to most high-end restaurants in Kuala Lumpur for the same selections of food.

Try out Yellow Cafe (5 minutes walk) for tasty grills or chill-out by the beach with beer or wine, amidst the beautiful sunset views.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AltanSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

5nts in a large room it was so peaceful, breakfast on the venerda looking out to the sea
breakfast was no hugh but the fruit was plentiful. BREAKFAST is the only time to get a meal they are not open after breakfast. sun lounges right on the beach some of them where under palm trees. the sun is very hot around midday so retired to your room.
we had room 11 a little bit dearer but worth it. lots of restaurants and small mini markets
most sell beer. You must try the Turkish restaurant just once its the same as eating in Turkey, its down near the Aseania hotel

Room Tip: the rooms are graded go for 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed at Sunset Beach Resort on 2 occasions (to and from Koh Lipe). The women who ran the resort were wonderful, really great customer service. The grounds are lush and lovely by the rooms, and by all accounts I would consider this hotel to be beachfront, it's the rooms that are just back from the beach. They serve a great breakfast and have lounge chairs on the beautiful beach.

We stayed first in a Sunset 1 room in the back near the beach, which was a nice room, with a roomy bathroom. On the way back we stayed in a room in the front of the property (not sure if that is a 1 or 2), that was bigger and better layed out. Bathroom not quite as big as the other, but still nice.

After walking around Langkawi, we would have preferred to stay on Pantai Cenang, as the sand is soft white and there are more restaurants and shopping than on Pantai Tengah. Sunset Beach Resort sits on the very north part of Pantai Tengah. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this would be perfect for you.

But all things equal, this rate was great for what you get, and it's a very short walk to Pantai Cenang. The Oasis Beach Pub next door is highly recommend for sunset drinks, lunch and dinner.

Be very careful about going into the ocean at either beach, there have been cases of box jellyfish, which are deadly. It's rare, but you don't want to be a statistic! Other than that Langkawi is a great desination.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I had stayed in Sunset for 2 nights. I must say it is a very good option and reasonable for the price. Dint have any problems, rooms are kept neat. Staff is nice, they were keen to learn our names and were referring to us with our first names. Though not so warm, they are good to the guests. Breakfast was far better than I expected, and having it on the beach is fun. Thank you for all the reviews here, which made me to select this option.
A very reasonable, good place to stay though not very great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I stayed at the Sunset with my wife for 5 nights at the end of March 2011. The hotel is situated pretty much bang in the middle of Pantai Cenang and Pantai Tenang which is the best location if you want to be close to the touristy locations! Most things are within walking distance ie. Spa's, Restaurants, Shops and also close to underwater world (waste of time but thats for another review!). Also, you are very close to the beach, the resort restaurant is pretty much on the beach so you are less then 2 minutes away!

The 'resort' is basically about 20ish villa style rooms with en-suite bathrooms. The rooms need a clear revamp as does most of the place. The only decent area that has been well maintained is the entrance and lobby area.

The rooms are not very big, about medium size. They need painting. The air conditioning needs updating as they are very very old and our one constantly kept making a loud humming noise all day and night! The wardrobes are also very old and rickety!

The bathrooms are nice but the showers need updating! Our one only gave out very luke warm water and the temperature could not be changed!

The staff that clean the rooms only do the bare minimum so do not expect a high level of cleanliness.

The breakfast is very poor. There is a selection of fruits and toast. You are given a choice to have eggs (boiled, scrambled or omelette) and tea or coffee.... that's pretty much it! Not a great selection and quality is not brilliant either! By the way, their are ants everywhere which maybe reduced if their was a bit more effort made to keep the whole place cleaner.

The staff are quite friendly and do their most to help when needed.

This place has the potential to be a really good 3* and maybe even a 4* if the management would revamp it and make a few changes to the rooms and services that are on offer.

One other point....you have to walk through a well maintained but very overgrown garden that is buzzing with insects, frogs and lots of things that fly in the night! If your squeamish about these things then maybe this aint the best place for you!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javed817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
418 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,342 reviews
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing