We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Location Good Value”
Review of AB Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pantai Cenang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AB Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Reviewed July 1, 2012

In the middle of busy town with plenty of bars restaurants shops etc but also right on the beach. We could open our door and see the sea. Room was nice clean and comfortable with small porch area with plastic table and chairs. Bathroom ok water hot. Not particularly friendly staff, not rude just indifferent. Plenty of trips to go on a definite must is a boat trip around Langkawi national park - eagle feeding and mangrove tour. Langkawi Oriental village was worth a trip as well, the cable car and sky bridge have fantastic views.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrismarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 411 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

Clean accomadation with hot shower,tv ,a/c and a stone throw away from the beach.Enjoyed watching the sunrise & sunsets,sitting under the start for a very reasonable price.Unbeateble.

Room Tip: Choose the room by the beach.It's quiet and best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bath5670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

the hotel has good location,clean and spacious room with ac,fridge,tv,with large choice of sea-face villa/huts(AROUND RM120) and STANDARD ROOMS(RM80) just opposite the sea. its very good option for budget hotel with clean and spacious room comparatively to other hotels/resorts around the location.

Room Tip: whatever u take it will good for u.but if u expact room service you will be disappointed.but i think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank umangnayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a very basic, 2 star motel that sits right on the beach. For our family of 5 it was perfect as it allowed us to stay in paradise for longer since the price was so cheap. We had two rooms beachside (A6 & A7) interconnecting. Two queen sized beds in each, quite comfortable. Airconditioned, fridge and TV (no English chanels). Bathroom was VERY primitive (shower nozzle over toliet), smelly, small etc. We were not expecting luxury, therefore this did not bother us. We found the staff friendly and helpful, the grounds were kept clean and tidy. The biggest plus for this motel is its location and price. We will definately come back.
We didn't have to pay a deposit before we came and could have checked out at anytime during our stay. There were several families staying that come every year and stay for a month at a time. As I have mentioned, don't stay here if you want luxury accomodation. If you are used to backpacker style or camping then this is great. We had no problems with beach or road noise but then we had the airconditioning running all night.

Room Tip: Next time we would stay in A13 as it is the closest to the beach. If you need an interconnecting roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anoukmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, which cost us RM240 for 4 persons with a deposit of RM50 to be returned after check-out. We got a room with 2 double beds. Few steps walking distance to the Cenang Beach. Air con/fan, minibar, tv with local channels, hot/cold shower. Overall, it is simple and just nice for us to have a rest after our day's out.

Room Tip: Get a room next to the beach to enjoy the view, though the rooms across the road cost cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xin-Fang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

me and my friends just spend our 4 days 3 nights there on 19th - 22th April 2012. During the stayed was good~the price also worth with what we got. the important is the location of AB motel is in cenang beach, it was a awesome beach! will be back to langkawi next time and sure will stay over in AB motel again! we are enjoying our stay there~~

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaDa_Ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

You have to remember reviews (mine) are in accordance to the level/standard/rating of the hotel. So, don't expect any outstanding facilities. The previous reviews mentioned lacking customer service and they were right. On checking in, paying for your room and key deposit, we were pointed to across the road (not beach side) with our toilet paper in hand :(


We were travelling as 2 couples, in two rooms and one of our companions laughed that reception didn't seem to want to hand over an extra roll, 2 days into our 3 night stay.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and cool, with nice bathrooms - Asian style. Our rooms were side by side, with adjoining double internal doors...so we could open them to make one room.

There seem to be various configurations of rooms, like ours, single cabins and normal multi level hotel style, side by side rooms. But all have their own porch or verandah.

The TV reception was terrible, with English programs, some of the time. There is no room service or inroom safe.

No breakfast on site, so turn left (from the road side part of the motel) and walk to the next corner and you'll see Man's Cafe. The lovely lady who runs this place, serves nice food at reasonable prices, with a smile.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SnapCooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.5 mi away
Pondok Muara Chalet
Pondok Muara Chalet
#13 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Star Resort
Best Star Resort
#14 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#31 of 105 in Langkawi
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AB Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AB Motel

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ab Hotel Pantai Cenang
Ab Hotel Langkawi
AB Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing