We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude owner and family...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cenang Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cenang Valley Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Pantai Cenang B&B and Inns
Ampang, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rude owner and family...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Owner of this place is very rude, unprofessional and irresponsible. We were kick out from Cenang Valley Inn by the owner just because we question him why aren't we getting the room that we have book one month earlier plus we have paid him booking deposit a week after we made reservation.
Don't go here because it is not near the beach as it is located deep inside a village area. The place is dirty and smelly. I have been around the world but this was my bad experience. As Malaysian who travel a lot, I would suggest you not to stay here as there are many beach side hotel which way better than this place.

Room Tip: Don't ever go to Cenang Valley Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank psychappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good location, recently refurbished room and bathroom. However for 90RM/night I'd expect at least good wifi or a TV with English speaking channels (instead of a TV with 3 Malaysian channels) and very poor wifi that wouldn't even allow me to check my emails on the phone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is adorable,it's in a rural setting with buffalo just across the road! Modest but clean accomodation, great price, fantastic owner who couldn't be more helpful, he drove us to two different night markets with his family. And just a five minute walk from the beach! Would defintiely recommend for those on a budget!

Room Tip: Stay in normal rooms over the home stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anjalee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I travelled to Lankawi with my parents and brothers. When we arrived at cenang valley inn we noticed that there was chickens and feral cats rooming the property. We were offered to stay in the home stay or normal rooms, we decided to check out the homestay first. Words cannot describe how horrendous it was! We thought to rooms would have to be better- but we were very much mistaken. As soon as you entered the room the foul smell brought tears to your eyes, there was dried blood on the curtains, rat droppings on the floor and headboard of the beds, the bathroom towels were filthy and the pillows and bed sheets were covered in dirty stains. To add to all of this the rooms were tiny- no where to put cases or other personal belongings. Overall the whole place was compleatly inhabitable for anyone and I strongly recommend to anyone to avoid this place at all costs!

Room Tip: Don't chose any- don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pantai Cenang hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Do not stay here! Our family had a nightmare experience after arriving here. Basar, the owner offered to pick us up from the airport for 30 MYR, we thought this was the going rate, we later found out the average was 12MYR, this was a taste of things to come! After arriving at the property we were given a choice of the home stay or two separate rooms for our family of two adults and three children. Both were uninhabitable! There was mouse droppings on beds, dried blood on curtains, ants everywhere, filthy beds with brown stained pillows, foul smelling towels etc. We informed Basar we could not stay here and agreed to let him keep 1 nights stay in cash of the full amount we had paid him. After a few days I received an email from booking.com to say they were deducting one nights stay as the owner had claimed the "no show" fee. He is a most unscrupulous
character. Thankfully after providing receipts to booking.com, things were resolved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked here very informally and had a bad time arriving in Langkawi by ferry, with our phones dying, trouble getting a taxi, and our driver unable to find anything. We ended up staying in another place that was loud, where nothing worked, and when we found Cenang Valley Inn the next day, we discovered that Basar had gone to the airport and waited for us when he hadn't heard from us. We were surprised by the standard of accommodation in Langkawi, which seemed to be roughly double the price of Thailand and Indonesia, but this place offers everything that a traveler needs at very affordable prices. It is clean and the rooms closer to the chalet get a strong wifi signal. As a family, we eventually ended up paying a lot more to stay in another place with a bigger room, restaurant and some international TV, but after looking around at all the places in Pantai Cenang, I think that Cenang Valley Inn offered the best value for the price. The owner is particularly nice and goes out of his way for his guests, and really seemed to have vision for his place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cangguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have been staying in a chalet here on and off for over a year now, Basar always makes you welcome, his family are lovely and all very helpful, it is 5 mins walk from Cenang beach and the main road which is great as you get no noise, but are near enough to get to everything. We stay in room 2 and the wifi is great, the cats are lovely, the cows do roam around early evening and the rooster does a lovely morning chorus, which actually goes on intermittently for most of the day, as we are long stayers as has been mentioned you are pretty much left alone but if you want clean towels or coffee you just have to ask and they are brought to you.

We have also stayed in the homestay with our friends which is just as nice, but with the added bonus of a kitchen to do your own cooking. We love it here and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Night market Thursday nights 5 mins walk opposite direction from beach. Rainbow is next door for fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.0 mi away
Easy Crystal Hotel
Easy Crystal Hotel
#56 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 20 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mali Mali Beach Resort
Mali Mali Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Pantai Cenang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Langkawi
The Cottage Langkawi
#6 of 31 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cenang Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cenang Valley Inn

Property: Cenang Valley Inn
Address: Lot 1595, Jalan Madrasah | 120 Meters to Cenang Beach, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cenang Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cenang Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cenang Valley Inn Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing