We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and great value!”
Review of Cenang Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cenang Valley Inn
Ranked #14 of 27 Pantai Cenang B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is adorable,it's in a rural setting with buffalo just across the road! Modest but clean accomodation, great price, fantastic owner who couldn't be more helpful, he drove us to two different night markets with his family. And just a five minute walk from the beach! Would defintiely recommend for those on a budget!

Room Tip: Stay in normal rooms over the home stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anjalee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I travelled to Lankawi with my parents and brothers. When we arrived at cenang valley inn we noticed that there was chickens and feral cats rooming the property. We were offered to stay in the home stay or normal rooms, we decided to check out the homestay first. Words cannot describe how horrendous it was! We thought to rooms would have to be better- but we were very much mistaken. As soon as you entered the room the foul smell brought tears to your eyes, there was dried blood on the curtains, rat droppings on the floor and headboard of the beds, the bathroom towels were filthy and the pillows and bed sheets were covered in dirty stains. To add to all of this the rooms were tiny- no where to put cases or other personal belongings. Overall the whole place was compleatly inhabitable for anyone and I strongly recommend to anyone to avoid this place at all costs!

Room Tip: Don't chose any- don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Do not stay here! Our family had a nightmare experience after arriving here. Basar, the owner offered to pick us up from the airport for 30 MYR, we thought this was the going rate, we later found out the average was 12MYR, this was a taste of things to come! After arriving at the property we were given a choice of the home stay or two separate rooms for our family of two adults and three children. Both were uninhabitable! There was mouse droppings on beds, dried blood on curtains, ants everywhere, filthy beds with brown stained pillows, foul smelling towels etc. We informed Basar we could not stay here and agreed to let him keep 1 nights stay in cash of the full amount we had paid him. After a few days I received an email from booking.com to say they were deducting one nights stay as the owner had claimed the "no show" fee. He is a most unscrupulous
character. Thankfully after providing receipts to booking.com, things were resolved.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked here very informally and had a bad time arriving in Langkawi by ferry, with our phones dying, trouble getting a taxi, and our driver unable to find anything. We ended up staying in another place that was loud, where nothing worked, and when we found Cenang Valley Inn the next day, we discovered that Basar had gone to the airport and waited for us when he hadn't heard from us. We were surprised by the standard of accommodation in Langkawi, which seemed to be roughly double the price of Thailand and Indonesia, but this place offers everything that a traveler needs at very affordable prices. It is clean and the rooms closer to the chalet get a strong wifi signal. As a family, we eventually ended up paying a lot more to stay in another place with a bigger room, restaurant and some international TV, but after looking around at all the places in Pantai Cenang, I think that Cenang Valley Inn offered the best value for the price. The owner is particularly nice and goes out of his way for his guests, and really seemed to have vision for his place.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Cangguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have been staying in a chalet here on and off for over a year now, Basar always makes you welcome, his family are lovely and all very helpful, it is 5 mins walk from Cenang beach and the main road which is great as you get no noise, but are near enough to get to everything. We stay in room 2 and the wifi is great, the cats are lovely, the cows do roam around early evening and the rooster does a lovely morning chorus, which actually goes on intermittently for most of the day, as we are long stayers as has been mentioned you are pretty much left alone but if you want clean towels or coffee you just have to ask and they are brought to you.

We have also stayed in the homestay with our friends which is just as nice, but with the added bonus of a kitchen to do your own cooking. We love it here and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Night market Thursday nights 5 mins walk opposite direction from beach. Rainbow is next door for fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a very good stay here. Basar was helpful and his family very nice. The rooms are a great value, especially liked private bathroom,except the never draining floor, fridge, aircon and a nice fan that usually cooled better of the two.

I think the length of our 6 night stay almost worked against us, as nothing was ever refreshened up. Would have liked more coffee, clean towels, etc. Wifi was so so in room 5, probably better towards the office.

A few nice cats around, cows roam through each evening, lots of hens and roosters, at times too much in the morning. Good location near beach street, dont forget the night market in the other direction on thursday night, thanks Basar!

Recommended and deserves the business!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julbo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely place to stay. Room was very clean and came with aircon and fan, hot water, coffee making facilities, fridge and tv. The owner, Basar, was really helpful and friendly. He rented us motorbikes, booked us taxis and ferry tickets and gave guests a small discount on trips. Excellent location away from the main road and 2 mins away from the beach/shops/restaurants. Really good value for 70 ringets a night, would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.9 mi away
Salsa Resort Langkawi
Salsa Resort Langkawi
#11 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
30 reviews
2.9 mi away
Myangkasa Akademi & Resort Langkawi
Myangkasa Akademi & Resort Langk...
#10 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
9 reviews
0 mi away
Alpha Motel
Alpha Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#31 of 108 in Langkawi
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mali Mali Beach Resort
Mali Mali Beach Resort
#12 of 27 in Pantai Cenang
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Desa Motel
Desa Motel
#6 of 7 in Pantai Tengah
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cenang Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cenang Valley Inn

Address: Lot 1595, Jalan Madrasah | 120 Meters to Cenang Beach, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $14 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cenang Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Cenang Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cenang Valley Inn Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing