We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely unique experience!”
Review of Bon Ton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bon Ton Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely unique experience!”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

After reading reviews on trip advisor, I was really excited about staying at Bon Ton and my expectations were totally surpassed! The villas are really beautiful and despite their rustic look, my boyfriend (who likes nothing other than 5* hotel luxury!) was equally impressed. We stayed in White Frangipani, which was close to the pool and lovely and spacious inside with a big bed with a net (very romantic!), living area, dressing area (traditionally the kitchen area) and bathroom, plus the outdoor bath and louge area! My boyfriend doesn't like animals, but I didn't need to be worried because the cats will stay as near or as far away as you want. Service was unintrusive, but very helpful when needed - we did laundry, booked a rental car and organised an eco mangrove tour through reception and everytime it was very reasonably priced and smoothly arranged. The food at the restaurant was delicious as well. All in all, I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a 'boutique' hotel experience or something different to the usual. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowEasterBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    103
    28
    20
    15
See reviews for
128
308
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We have just returned from 9 days at Bon Ton. Without doubt one of our best family holidays ever. The combination of wonderful accomodation, relaxed atmosphere, brilliant staff and your own personal cat (should you desire to befriend one) make this a perfect location for a relaxing family break.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2010

There is a fantastic view, lovely sunsets, interesting history, wonderful service and staff and yummy crummy food. We stayed in 'Silk', pretty villa on stilts, with an outdoor wooden bath! Nice animal sanctuary next door, so be ready for all the cats and dogs!
I loved it!
from Rosie, aged 8.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamvkH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Post going through quite a few of the other posted comments, this may sound as a cliché but a hands-down admission; A Retreat with Essence & Character.
The whole concept of letting one experience living in century old Malay houses is so unusual and unique that it would remain being termed by me as a ‘Retreat’ cause the ambience of the place actually lets you transcend into a different world. Guilty as I am of not living upto it, the place prompts you to take a breather from you fast paced life, sit back and feel something of a bygone era. Being woken to the sweet chirping of the Birds in the morning is a moment people from the hectic paced city life won’t forget easily. Even though deliberate efforts have been put into holding onto the authentic flavor of the Villas, all the modern amenities have been ensured to make the stay very comfortable. The Rooms & especially the Bathroom with a courtyard at the back with Sun Bathing Beds and wooden tub is out of this world. Every piece kept in the house has a reason and accentuates the ‘Classic Ambience’. The ‘Attention to Detail’ is truly superlative.
Every member of the Bon Ton team has an infectious smile and ever willing to provide anything required or desired. The Service is prompt & Crisp without being intrusive. Highly recommended is the Sea Food Platter for one of the dine-in’s. Even a mundane glass of water, attracts a Lemon Wedge to make it more refreshing.
Such an experience can ONLY be achieved if every team member right from the Top believes in providing something genuinely Special to every visiting guest. It’s like every small but beautiful chip falls into place to form a lovely picture. Narelle, the owner, is a lady who probably lives life by the Motto of offering something UNIQUE in today’s times and must I say allows compliments to rest on her shoulders very awkwardly lest it weigh her down. Her fellow team mates Adeline, Amir & Shan deserve special mention and gratitude from us for treating us really well. Even their guide print-out for Langkawi and in our case even the KL guide, since we were off to KL, proved to be most comprehensive and authentic. Just pick it up and follow it blindly.
The concept of adopting stray dogs & Cats and taking care of them as little children deserves admiration. Each of these furry gifts of God encourages you to pick them up and cuddle them. You feel as if they’ve been kind enough to allow you in their domain rather than other way around.
Would suggest everybody visiting Langkawi to try this place ONCE to experience something remarkable rather than a run-of- the Mill Concrete set-up which all of us have experienced at some point of time or the other. One regret, which I plan to correct sooner than later, needed at least a week to feel the place rather than just a 2N/3D sojourn

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishalmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

As a Malaysian myself, I never thought there is such a wonderful place to stay in Langkawi. I had been visited Langkawi numerous times, and this is definitely the most memorable stay I've ever had.
When I arrive, I was offered a welcome drink which is very nice. The check in is smooth and the manager of the hotel is very friendly.
I stayed in The Laguna. The room was spacious. The bed is very comfortable. It has Flat Screen TV and DVD. The coffee and tea making facilities is perfect, come with a tea pot, french press and a variety of loose tea leaf and coffee.
The bathroom is one of the most impressive bathroom I've ever seen. The wooden bathtub is huge. The shower is perfect. You can even have a nice paddy view while you are enjoying your bath. The toiletries are all from Thann.
I am lucky because my stay is a Wednesday. So, I am able to enjoy the evening reception which is nice. Good accompany and nice food.
The breakfast is in your fridge. And it's really nice.
*The Hotel have lots of cats. But they are really nice ones.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrod301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The service at Bon Ton was excellent throughout our stay. Staff are pleasant and courteous; helpful without being intrusive. Accommodation is unique, comfortable and spacious. Dining at Bon Ton and Temple Tree were pleasurable experiences although perhaps Temple Tree just had the edge; they have a very creative Dutch chef who creates delicious dishes. From our first evening, Mister Amir made sure our 5 year old would not be charged for an adult meal but from the children's menu (which we hadn't noticed). Also, on our check out day, our flight wasn't until that evening - well past check out time. We were told it was no problem to stay in Black Coral until we were ready to go as nobody had booked it for that evening and, for the first time ever when we've done this on holiday, we weren't charged for the extra hours. The beach isn't far and you can take towels from the pool at Bon Ton to use there - another nice touch. Personally, I was pleased not to have booked into one of the beach front hotels as Bon Ton is much smaller and has a very peaceful location by the lake. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Bon Ton if you're looking for a relaxing, comfortable holiday location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MavisDavis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

ok ,we are regulars to this amazing resort.i admit that i am biased because of this.But there is a reason that we keep going back.it is amazing.we love the smallness of this property the staff and the food and the cats and the dogs.if you want 5 star luxury of a hilton/sheraton then do not stay here,you will get insects...the villas are not 100% insect proof.(but in 5 years of going i have been bitten maybe 5 times by a mosquito)if you do not like animals stay away.i cant understand people that write on tripadvisor in regards to the the dislike of animals there....do they not read the reviews first?there is a reason it is rated so high.it is amazing.the general ambience and the incredible food (plus the puppy dogs mocha shane and milo)is what keeps us coming back year after year.i cant wait to visit everyone again in january.i would encourage everyone to go...but then it might be harder to get in.x

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busbyrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,314 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,316 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
8.6 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Ton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Resort

Property: Bon Ton Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bon Ton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute drive from the airport and 5-minute drive from the main beach of Pantai Cenang, Bon Ton is convenient yet secluded. Built within the grounds of a 100-year-old coconut plantation, our eight villas are centered around a pool/jacuzzi and front onto a lotus lagoon. Exclusive and private, all villas are individually designed and equipped with air conditioning & ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bon Ton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi
Bon Ton Langkawi
Bon Ton Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing