We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can be a lot better”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bon Ton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bon Ton Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can be a lot better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

Unlike many satisfied guest, mine was just a ok holidays experience here. The settings a not bad. It's nice & old Kampung (Traditional malay) houses.

But I am not very happy about the arrogantly expensive pricing for what is given. The rooms & the meals are extravegantly dear.

The pool is absolutely small. Not for swimming. Only for soaking. And the dog house is very anoying ( I love dogs too). The owner's house has about 50 dogs and i felt as if I live among all of them especially at nite, When one barks, all fifty does.

The cats poo is everywhere. Its like walking in cat's toilet. Worst of all, this is a snake friendly resort. Almost everyday of my 8 days stay, I saw snakes here....

I am sorry. I feel as if this place needs a serious manager.

Having said all these unwelcoming things, Langkawi is still a wonderful place to be. I would certainly recommend Foxhill, with similar or even better facilities.

A meal in Bon Ton will be nice (if you don't mind the mossies) but to eat there day in & day out can seriously burn a hole in your pocket.

Sorry!!!

  • Liked — Location & the friendly staffs
  • Disliked — Noise & mosquito
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Estoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    103
    28
    20
    14
See reviews for
128
301
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2007

this was our first stop of 3 in malaysia
we arrived very late and were immediately welcomed with a cold drink and a guided tour of the wonderful accommodation(traditional malay house brought from elsewhwere and lovingly/tastefully restored by Nerelle our host)
there was a wooden bathtub,a rainwater shower,balcony overlooking a beautiful lagoon,huge bed with four poster style to allow the mosquito net to fall easily to the floor.
No problem with insects,visitors are likely to be adopted by one or two cats but they are well behaved animals unlike my own pets.
Hiring a car wise as not on beach and walk to shopsis about 15 mins they will arrange and its cheap£75 for 4 days medium sized saloon for us.
The pool is small but fine for the odd length 25m and to cool off,the friendly staff bring iced water to your lounger all day and a mid afternoon snack to keep you going all free.
The place is beautiful quite different from the average sterile place to stay
The staff cant do enough tomake you feel at home.
the food is magnificent cordon bleu standard at a very fair price and wine is also v reasonable and good quality(we met a couple one evening who had left their highly praised resort to come for the evening and left crestfallen that they couldnt come and stay at bon ton instead because it was full
What else can one add beautiful,authentic,fantastic hosts penny/nerelle,fantastic staff,food to die for.
I cant wait to return

  • Liked — unique
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

We honeymooned at Bon Ton and loved the experience. I would describe the resort as 5* camping, because although your Malay fishermans hut may be air conditioned and have a modern bathroom suite, at the end of the day it's still an old wooden hut, so you have to accept the fact that nature is never very far away. We shared our room with a couple of ghekos, the odd large beetle and centipede, and inspite of very rigerous efforts by the hotel to minimise the problem, the odd misquito.

However, the staff are delightful, the resort tranquil like no other - with a maximum 20 guests at one time - and the resteraunt food a delight. We loved the fact that if you lay by the pool you were fed with various edible delights and drinks.

You breakfast on your hut's veranda each morning as the staff leave fresh fruit, bread and cake in a fridge in your room each night. There is also quality tea and coffee. We loved the idea. Our bathroom was outdoors - so you could bathe (in privacy) under the palm trees - a rare delight.

Moans? As I mentioned above, you are close to nature here. This means for example, frogs croaking very loudly in the night from time to time, and lots of cats and dogs with various appendages missing frequenting the resort, which had been taken in by the animal shelter run by the owner. None of this bothered us.

We had a very memorable time at this tropical oasis. Our fondest memory is of a coconut crashing into the bathroom one morning. Amusing, but also potentially disasterous - a point which has been made to the management.

  • Liked — Unique holiday experience
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurbowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeskinLancashire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

Our stay did not start well. After 17 hours of flying and a ten minute taxi ride I closed the taxi door on my wifes fingers, which really impressed her. Luckily it was a Proton and the panel fit is fairly generous,so there was minimal damage.
We went straight to check in where we received a warm welcome and a cold beer and some ice for the fingers. We had a delightful dinner and as it was now quite late we were shown to our 120 year old Malaysian house which would be home for the next four days.
We were amazed at the beauty of the place and how it had been sympathetically modernized to provide all the luxuries a hotel room requires these days. This is not a clinical boutique hotel but a real Malaysian experience.
We found the whole place unbelievably relaxing, so much so that we were sleeping hours longer than normal.
The whole resort is geared to relaxation. The recipe is perfect, good food,comfortable surroundings, a pool, a few friendly animals and unbelievably friendly staff.
The four days shot by.
I did not get bitten once by any mosquitos or other bugs. The only insects we saw were a few ants which reminded us of England.
Can't wait to go back

  • Liked — The relaxed ambience
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RogeRowlandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

We have just returned from 10 nights in Langkawi. We spent the first 3 nights at Bon Ton and the last 7 at Casa Del Mar. We based the split of our stay mainly on Trip Advisor reviews and with all due respect to those reviewers and to CDM (where we did enjoy our time) if we could go back we would have stayed much longer at Bon Ton. This place is really something special. There is something magical about the whole setup. Let me first say that if you are staying here please do your research and understand that you will be staying in authentic, traditional Malay houses with all their individual features. You are not staying in an air-conditioned cocoon of a hotel room. You will share your house with some cats and a bit of native wildlife (the cutest gecko lizards we had ever seen) but this is really just a part of the charm. You sleep surrounded by a huge mosquito net and the staff set up coils every night. Having said that we hardly saw any mosquitos or bugs and they certainly had no impact on our stay. We had hot weather when were there and we had no trouble sleeping (there was an a/c unit directly over the bed which cooled us while we slept). We stayed in White Frangipani and were simply knocked out by the charm and sheer uniqueness of this wonderful house. It is positioned right next to the pool facing the setting sun and we enjoyed everything about it. From the magnificent furnishings and decorative touches to the wonderful shower (over floorboards in the bathroom) to the ultra cool outdoor bathtub and everything in between this was just a truly memorable experience. The food at Bon Ton was also exceptional and the setting of the restaurant again was perfect. Have a cocktail on the Sunset deck then move over to a table in the open air restaurant and feel your troubles float away.

In the spirit of fairness I would remind people that the resort is 2 km from the beach. We overcame this by hiring a scooter (about $AUD 8 a day) and zipped around on that. We actually found a great local restaurant which goes by the name of Raffis Place. This place serves top quality food (in our opinion equal to just about anywhere we ate on the island!!) at remarkable prices. We ate lunch here most days for about $AUD 8 for 2 people (amazing value!!!). The restaurant is situated on the beach side of the main road just past the Red Tomato and right next door to Little Laylas Chillout place (it has no signs but is set back off the street and is worth looking for). If you go there say hello to Raffi and the wonderful Zah in the kitchen from Dean and Leah from Australia.

Anyway in closing all we can say is that if you go to Langkawi and you want a truly memorable, magical experience then book into Bon Ton. We have stayed in different styles of accommodation all around the world and honestly believe this place to be amongst our most treasured memories. To Narelle, Lori and all the wonderful staff thank you very much for everything and you can rest assured we will be back for a longer stay in 2008

  • Liked — sheer uniqueness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Deano2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

Our stay in Bon Ton during our honeymoon was our nearest experience to staying in heaven I have been to lots of hotels all around the world but nothing matches my stay in Bon Ton the place is amazing and so romantic . the stuff is extremely helpful and so friendly . they was the reason to make me catch my flight when my cab didn’t show up and I was carrying to much luggage as I was moving to the states afterwards that they took 2 cars and helped me make it in time It is the most beautiful place I have ever been to. Me and my wife are already planning our trip back next year

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank megzii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

We've just returned from a week of absolute bliss at Bon Ton. Each guest room is an individual and unique Malaysian house. The resort is
beautiful, watching the sun go down over the lagoon is glorious. The food is utterly spectacular and the staff are second to none.
Everyone will bend over backwards to hep you. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Each house is unique
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mandyrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
8.6 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Ton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Resort

Property: Bon Ton Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bon Ton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute drive from the airport and 5-minute drive from the main beach of Pantai Cenang, Bon Ton is convenient yet secluded. Built within the grounds of a 100-year-old coconut plantation, our eight villas are centered around a pool/jacuzzi and front onto a lotus lagoon. Exclusive and private, all villas are individually designed and equipped with air conditioning & ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bon Ton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi
Bon Ton Langkawi
Bon Ton Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing