We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word: Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One word: Brilliant!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Didn't know anyone who had been there before but we read the reviews, and the ones we took note of were not in the least wrong, this place is the place to stay on the island. Sure speed of action may not be the light speed we demand in N.America but if you are here then you are 'on holiday'. Stunning food and an equally stunning location right on the beach (we had a beachfront studio). Clean, good spa, excellent people, and cute services (like the turndown service and what they do). Nothing was too much trouble. You are really made to feel welcome. A little gem of a place. 10 out 10!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guests


Thank you for sharing your impressions on our page, we are delighted to read you had a great time with us. I will make sure this is shared with the team.

We hope you had a safe return home to Canada and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again one day to Langkawi.


Warm regards from all of us


Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,020
    267
    53
    16
    11
See reviews for
210
1,724
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just back from a fabulous stay at this excellent Langkawi hotel. Great location, excellent service and incredibly friendly staff. We knew we made the right decision to book here when we met a few couples who were in the middle of their 8th, 9th, or 10th return trip to Casa del Mar. That really says a lot for the attention to service and high level of quality delivered by absolute professionals.

The beach was perfect; The pool clean and refreshing. The food was excellent and we were happy to see local dishes on the menu. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. I should mention we enjoyed the fact that there were only adults during our stay, which made for a quiet, peaceful vacation. An overall wonderful experience that we hope to share again at Casa del Mar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndinatale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thanks for staying with us and it was lovely to read that you had such enjoyable experience with us. I hope that we will have the opportunity to look after you again some time in the future when you come back to see us in Paradise!

With warm regards

Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed at Casa del Mar over the Lunar New Year holiday at the end of January, and had a wonderful 5 days. There is nothing I can think of that we would have asked them to improve on.

We arrived on my husband's birthday and were welcomed with a glass of celebratory champagne and some chocolates, which was a lovely touch. The check-in process went smoothly, and we instantly relaxed due to the warm greetings by the staff at reception. We were given a quick tour of the hotel facilities such as the pool and the restaurant areas before being shown to our rooms, and then when we arrived in the rooms we were given a comprehensive guide to all the amenities in the room (ipod dock, dvd player, hairdryer etc). The room itself was very clean, light and airy, and we had a balcony overlooking the bar area, but with a sea view. The bed was enormous, and extremely comfortable.

We went straight down to the wonderfully clean beach to claim a couple of loungers, and after five minutes someone came over with ice water for us; a short while later some fruit arrived. If you want to stay in the shade while enjoying your time on the beach, the sun-umbrellas are HUGE and so there is no trouble with having to keep moving the chairs. The pool is right next to the beach, and this is really great - it was surprisingly quiet during the time that we were there, and so it was possible to get some laps in (a good length for doing some exercise, unlike many hotel pools). I didn't visit the gym, but my husband went a couple of times, and he said that the facilities were good.

Every evening we visited the bar at around 6.30pm and had a drink or two, often coming back after dinner for a couple more. I have seen people complaining in other reviews about the price compared to other places along the beach, but to be honest I can't see how they can even try to compare. The prices are low compared to Singapore or the UK, and the cocktails are excellent - I particularly recommend the Tom Yam martinis! The wine list is very good, and again, not expensive. Places further down the beach may be cheaper, but you are limited to beer and a single house red or white if you are lucky, and the atmosphere in the bar is much more appealing. Also is a marvellous place to watch the sun go down (as was the balcony in the room!).

We ate at the restaurant three times for dinner, which we would never usually consider doing as we love to explore - but the food was so good we kept coming back. Every day there were two specials - a meat or a seafood option, and everything we chose was good. The service was efficient, and although the staff were very busy (a lot of the other restaurants in the area shut over Lunar New Year) we weren't kept waiting long for anything. We ate on the beach itself, and there was no issue with sandflies as can often be the case on a beach in the evening, which was great.

I had booked the Castaway picnic as a surprise for my husband, and the staff did a good job of helping me to keep it a surprise for him. We had a wonderful time, it was very romantic! The boat left at around 11am and we travelled for around 40 minutes, including a brief stop to look at Pregnant Maiden Island. When we arrived at the island we went for a 10 minute walk while our tent was put up and the picnic unloaded, and then we were left for a couple of hours to eat our picnic, swim, and explore the beach - paradise! Would definitely recommend this trip. We also did the evening walk on the day that we arrived, and saw langurs, flying lemurs, bats, and geckos, as well as a couple of hornbills - this was another excellent trip (we were surprised by just how good it was).

One of the highlights of the hotel has got to be the breakfasts. There is a buffet with cheese, meats, fruit, cereal, bread etc., and then you can also select from a cooked menu, with things like eggs benedict and more traditional choices like roti canai. Delicious. There was also a good coffee selection, so you could choose between cappuccino, latte, mocha, rather than just the standard filter coffee (although this is also available!). There was also sparkling wine available on one morning to make bucks fizz!

I could go on for a lot longer, we were so impressed with this hotel, but I will stop now. To summarise, the staff were so welcoming and friendly (particular thanks to Elynne and Aiman (I hope I have got their names correct!)), and everything was so perfect, there is no question at all that we will be back - as regularly as possible. Thank you very much to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie_BLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Angie,

Thank you for spending the time to write a long review that I share the kind comments with the rest of the team and in particular Elyn and Aiman.

We are all delighted you loved it and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With warm regards

Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for five nights at the start of our trip to Malaysia. Our room was beautifully clean with a really comfortable bed. Hotel provide really nice toiletries. Enjoyed the cookies, peanuts and fruit which were refreshed daily. Really comfortable sun beds and the little touches like fruit skewers and jugs of iced water were really lovely. Evening drinks with friends in our 'private garden' whilst watching the sunset an experience not to be missed. We enjoyed the breakfasts, on one morning there was even vodka and tomato juice so we could make bloody mary's! We had two evening meals included in our package, the food was really good with fantastic presentation. On the other evenings we went to local eating places on the beach and along the street, food was really reasonably priced and good. Drink prices at bars on the beach were cheap (about £1 for a beer) although many places do not serve alcohol! The beach was really beautiful with some of the softest sand we have ever experienced. Only slight drawback was checkout which was quite laborious as our bill was incorrect and took a while to be rectified. Also slightly aggrieved that we were transferring to the Danna hotel after our stay at the Casa and although our package included return transfer to the airport Casa del Mar would not agree to provide a free transfer to the Danna instead of the airport (we were a party of six and the hotel had only had to provide one taxi for all of us and would have had to provide three taxis had we all arrived separately), this seemed a little petty considering the price we had paid for our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonbather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guests,


Thank you for taking the time to fill in our guest comment form. We do appreciate the feedback and understand that it is made constructively.

I very much regret and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced upon check out and sincerely hope that this rather isolated incident did not mar your overall opinion of the hotel. Your overall comment seemed to indicate that you had otherwise enjoyed your time at Casa del Mar.

Hope you had a safe return home and that we may welcome you again to Langkawi one day.

Best wishes and regards
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Del Mar last week. We loved the neighborhood it felt very secluded and had a upscale feel to it. The sunset views were unbelievable and the pool area very comfortable. We both enjoyed the stay. The staff was very accommodating and polite and we were upgraded upon arrival although you could tell the hotel was in the swing of busy season. The room was very large and we had our own patio area where we could watch the sun go down each evening. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MariaKachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Maria,

We would be delighted to welcome you back in your next visit to Langkawi, we have really enjoyed having you with us and would like to thank you for your very kind review.
The team will be happy to read your comments and I'm sure it will encourage all of us to do better.

Please anything you may need let us know and meanwhile receive our gratitude and warmest regards.
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

With all these sweet attentions and the beautiful surroundings what else would you want? Nice beach, good deck chairs... I even got al small gift for my birthday. And .... best breakfast ever. Thank you for the nice stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bianca921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Bianca,

I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your holidays on our beautiful island and surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back here sometime soon.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Casa del Mar very soon

Warm regards from all of us

Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I have a short attention span so I'll keep this short and sweet .....

Casa Del Mar is a fabulous hotel, the staff are incredibly attentive, the beaches are stunning and the food truly scrumptious!!

You will thoroughly enjoy your Langkawi experience by choosing to stay at Casa Del Mar

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlyFullam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Charly,

Thank you for your great and touching review!
Hope you had a safe trip back home.
Wishing you plenty of love.

Warm regards from all of us

Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,344 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing