We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was my second stay at Casa Del Mar, and everything was as good as the first time. We felt relaxed from the minute we stepped through the door to the time we left. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Food choice is varied and all of a high quality from breakfast, through lunch and onto dinner. Thank you, see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim0565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    261
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
196
1,660
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

When we checked in to Casa Del Mar they noticed on my passport that it was my birthday, and gave me some chocolates! Later, flowers were delivered to my room. What a lovely welcome to Casa Del Mar!

We cannot fault anything about this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, and we loved the boutique feel. We were in a Casa Beachfront Studio Suite, right on the beach. Langkawi itself was not our favourite holiday destination though. The ocean here is not sparkling blue, it is in fact somewhat murky. When we went out on a kayak I started to feel a bit anxious about what might be lurking unseen in the ocean below us! There are many more beautiful beach destinations in the world, and being spoilt (beach-wise) Australians, we wouldn't go back here. This is why we consider Casa Del Mar to be the 'best house on an average street', so to speak. However, if you've already booked your flights to Langkawi, then we definitely recommend Casa Del Mar.

Also, we tried a few different restaurants in Langkawi and Casa Del Mar was the clear winner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carry-0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

It really is your 'Home by Sea' as it stands. Location, atmosphere, staff, service, food and personal touch to everything is second to none. Beats any 5* I have stayed in! My Husband and I would both love to go back and stay there- the ideal choice for any honeymooners. TR

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee87London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were looking to avoid large, impersonal chains so this very special place fitted the bill wonderfully. The setting is perfect--low rise buildings, beautiful rooms on a private beach, 20 metres from the sea. And yet close enough to the local town and people to feel 'real'. Food was outstanding and everything was available at any time of day, a flexibility that we much appreciated. Our room was delightful and looked directly onto the sea. The original room we were allocated was not so ideally located but we were able to change easily.

But what sets this place apart is the staff and their determination to do everything to make the stay perfect. Relaxed, responsive, guest-centred service, which covers all needs without being intrusive. Being served cool water, fruit and home made sorbets at regular intervals whilst lying on a lounger certainly makes for a relaxing time.

Minor niggles included cars going up and down the beach at certain times and a room that was probably coming up to needing refurbishment. But these really are minor as overall the ten days we spent were tranquil and cosseted to a degree we could not have imagined.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I realised my review for this place did not go through when I wrote it in December (bad internet connection when I wrote it) but this place deserves every bit of praise... so here goes (again).
My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights to celebrate our 10years wedding anniversary aka 2nd honeymoon in December.
From the very start to finish, we really enjoyed ourselves.
We arrived about 2 hours early for check in but the friendly staff at reception were so accommodating. After we finished our nice natural made cooling teas and cooling face washes, we were given a tour of the place and introduce to staff like we were family. We didn't even need to wait long for our room.
Our room itself was amazing - we went for the oceanfront rooms and I would have to say the hotel staff were very romantic... swan shaped towels, love hearts and a few minutes later fresh red roses and a handmade Happy Anniversary card from the staff arrived. Really made my eyes water - poor hubby said it was all his idea (hehe).
The food and swimming pool was nice and very relaxing to sit out front at the beach. We had the beach side several courses meal during one sunset of our stay and I would recommend this romantic dinner for 2.
Having never been to Langkawi before, the receptionists were very helpful in suggesting which groups to go with (eg. Seeman Watersports compared to others) and from previous reviews we knew it was safer this way.
Booking for a taxi was easily done by the hotel and even if they have a set price on booking, you can negotiate with the driver to be your personal taxi driver for the day (pay him at the end of the day) and this was the quickest way to see a lot of places.
Wether we were checking out places, shopping, watching DVDs from their library at night, or just reading a book by the beach, we had a lot of fun and the staff were always happy to help.
Hubby and I like to walk and that's the other good point about this hotel - it's so serene you wouldn't think it was in the middle of town. I would suggest spending a good few hours just walking around outside the hotel where some things are much more affordable (laundry, massages, street-stall souvenirs and a really good Sea Food restaurant that we went to twice).
We didn't get to try the hotel spa because it was rather pricey but we opted for their beachside private dinner instead.

Thank you Casa Del Mar and especially to Chika whom we're still facebook friends with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomBeaJRS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antarctica
Level Contributor
224 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in an entry level room. The room was spacious enough with a nice view to the sea albeit over the bar roof. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. We were greeted by the manager and invited to free drinks with other new arrivals. I think this is a once a week occurrence. This was a very generous way to welcome us. The hotel caters mostly to couples which for us is a good thing as the ambiance is one of tranquility. The pool is perfectly adequate although we spent most of our time on a lounger facing the sea on the beach. Finding a lounger was never a problem. The hotel is conveniently located on the busiest strip on the island with plenty of restaurants and shops to visit in the evening. The island is duty free so cigarettes, alcohol, chocolate and the like is very inexpensive. We ate once at the hotel's restaurant and the food was good. We enjoyed having a meal on a table set up on the sand under the stars. My wife used the spa and claimed that it was good and reasonably priced. The hotel makes a good base for those who enjoy the beach as it is located on a great strand of white sand. But don't expect to see much in the way of the wildlife that Langkawi is known for. You need to go on excursions that are easily arranged by the hotel, rent a car or hire a taxi. While on the beach, the staff did a good job of keeping the guests hydrated by providing cool towels, fruit and a jug of water. This was appreciated as it was really humid and hot! Breakfast was pleasant but not up to par with what we experienced at other hotels in Malaysia. A larger variety would be nice. Here, I think a little more attention to detail would be good. The waiting staff were friendly but at times seemed overwhelmed. I think there is also room for improvement when it comes to general housekeeping. Although our room was clean and a welcome retreat from the heat, cobwebs remained on the ceiling throughout our stay as well as evident fingerprints on the balcony door. Ashtrays throughout the property could also be emptied on a more regular basis. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend but I do question somewhat the value overall as this place is expensive. This may be due to the fact that we have travelled extensively and find other destinations to be better value than Malaysia.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our entry level room. Perfectly adequate unless you require total pampering and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose Langkawi and Casa del Mar as a 6 day stop over on our way home to Australia from a 5 week trip around Europe. It was the best decision we made as Casa Del Mar is the perfect location to unwind, relax and feel very pampered. The hotel is small and very personal which suited my family - my two girls aged 10 and 12 enjoyed chatting to the very cheerful and kind staff who went out of their way to make our stay special (they even pumped up our football for a kick on the beach!). The food is world class and as others have noted not expensive compared to restaurants in other hotels. Dinner on the beautiful beach with the sun setting over the sea was a true delight as was the range of food and good coffee each morning (being a Melbournian coffee is important!). The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of shops and other attractions. Staff arranged a Mangrove Tour for us which was fabulous. Can't wait to go back - thanks to all at Case Del Mar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbolt_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing