We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed Casa del Mar in October 2012. The hotel is amazing. The staff are so friendly & made us feel so welcome. There were lots of personal touches such as fruit in our room, scented candles, etc. The hotel is very quiet & never felt crowded. There was always a free sunbed by pool or beach. The beach is so beautful & the sea is so warm! Food at Casa was great. Good variety & everything was so fresh. Also we were minutes away from shops, bars & restaurants. Mumbai Restoran is a great place for Indian / Arabic food!

We had a great room Emas which was overlooking the pool & beach.
We also hired a car & drove around the island. We also went island hopping as well as visiting Kuah Town.

All in all we had such a great holiday & were very sad to leave Casa. We also miss Domino & Mimi the hotel residents cats who are so friendly!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T1bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    262
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
194
1,659
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only returned 2 days ago, already miss it, would love to go back asap.... I travelled around a lot over the last 20 years, but I have to say that Casa del Mar was a very very special place, it was perfect from the minute we arrived until we left 9 days later..... Not only the location was perfect for us, also the room was amazing, I love the fact that every evening when you return to your room the candles are already lighted, the music is on, the bed is prepared - they did everything to keep us satisfied 24/7......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was my first experience of what I'd call a splurge/ expensive boutique hotel, and while I wouldn't do it every time, it was a lovely stay. The hotel looks proper pimp - amazing picture postcard swimming pool set back from a row of palm tress right on the beach. The service was truly exceptional - friendly, dedicated and lots of staff to help out with every small need. This is the kind of hotel where they bring you jugs of iced water to your sun lounger ready for when you get there - nice little touches.

We had the rom Enak (meaning delicious) and it was fantastic - right on the edge of the pool, with a private little garden bit, and huge inside - more of a suite than a room i'd say! The girlfriend was very happy with the toiletries in the bathroom (important to them!) and there was fresh fruit brought to us every day.

We also ate in the restaurant which was decent value, especially the beer which seems to be taxed much more cheaply in Penang than southern Malaysia. Good coktails, great food, and an utterly stunning view of the sea and islands off Pantai Cenang. Truly gorgeous place to eat dinner and watch the sun set.

Breakfast every day was a particular highlight - generous choices off the a la cate menu, plus a delicious buffet style offering including fresh fruit, home made jams and preserves (try the mango and passionfruit!), and even champagne cocktails. We used the spa as well for a massage which was pretty good.

Can't recommend Casa Del Mar enough - it's expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Enak is perfect - massive, right on the edge of the pool where you want to be, yet private to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary and my wife's 40th birthday. From the minute we arrived until we were waved off by the staff we could not have asked for more. The room was not a bad size, just the standard sea view room which did have a stunning sea view. Very nice bathroom with small tub and shower. The bed was huge and very comfortable. LCD TV with enough channels. The food was just tremendous. We dined at La Sal on the beachfront and also joined them for the BBQ they put on one night. Top marks to the chefs and to Robert for looking after us. The breakfasts were also excellent. I worked my way through the large choice each morning. I would like to give a big thanks to the Bar Staff who kept my glass filled most nights with a wide and varied mix of fine cocktails. Thanks Mood and all the other bar staff .:) We also visited The Spa twice for a massage and a facial treatment. Again this, as the rest of the hotel was very good, we really enjoyed both visits. Its the small size of the place that makes it stand out from other big hotels I've stayed in the past. Very intimate and the attention to every small detail makes it one of my favourite hotels. Every member of the staff were so friendly. They all seem to remember your name and are never without a smile. I Look forward to returning again soon. Thanks also to Fauzi for our gift. I would have liked to mention all the staff personally but there are too many to name. I cant praise this place enough.

Room Tip: Do not worry about noise in any room. Hotel is very tranquil. The sea view rooms are on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph-Van-Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Read every 5 Star Rating on Trip Adviser and you'll get a feel for why Casa Del Mar is ranked #1. EVERYTHING you read is true, from the fantastic location to the wonderful, warm, friendly staff, the rooms, the spa, the food, the ambience......... this place is VERY hard to fault. It really is worth every penny you spend to have some time here. Congratulations to the GM Tom and his team of just over 60 people who look after the 30 rooms at Casa Del Mar - you are doing a marvellous job of making peoples vacations just that extra bit special. Keep up the fabulous work and I look forward to returning VERY soon. PS. Thanks also for the champagne and beer night you laid on for all the guests - it was a great way to meet you, your team and other people enjoying the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently spent nine nights of our honeymoon at Casa del Mar and only regretted that we did not stay longer. The service, from the instant we arrived, was superb and continued to surprise and impress us throughout our stay. We found the staff to be very attentive and thoughtful and the facilities and grounds well maintained. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every morning and the turn-down service in the evening was a lovely touch. Although we spent the majority of our time relaxing by the pool or on the beach, we did take advantage of some of the hotel's recommended activities like the evening jungle walk and a trip on the cable car. The hotel staff kindly arranged taxis for us and made all necessary bookings. The hotel is situated near a number of very good restaurants - generally much better than they look - which serve excellent seafood - Orchid Ria, a five minute walk, being the best that we found - but Casa del Mar's food is definitely worth trying too. Most of our evenings began and ended at the hotel's bar which was well stocked and very well staffed by very friendly bartenders who kept us topped up and well entertained. I noticed another reviewer mention that they had been well looked after by Pat, who I think deserves a second mention as he was extremely friendly and attentive during our whole stay. We also had a great time talking to Mood and Jack, two great bartenders. On the whole, the staff at Casa del Mar have created something wonderful and I would thoroughly recommend a visit to anyone planning a trip to Langkawi. In fact, I would recommend a trip to Langkawi just to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We picked this hotel after many hours research and chose Casa Del Mar based on the number of positive reviews. I have to say that we were not disappointed, from arrival to departure the staff took care of all our needs and always with a smile. We stayed seven nights and did not want to leave this wonderful boutique hotel.

Our first night meal choice was assisted by the very helpful Pat who made some menu suggestions which we enjoyed. I would recommend the Malysian tasting platter (one between two would be enough) it was excellent.

We stayed in a beach front studio with a just a few steps to the beach and wonderful views over the bay. I would disagree with the previous commentator, I thought the room was recently refurbished to a high standard, with flat screen TV and satellite, DVD player, ipod docking station and free WIFI with good coverage even as far as the beach beds and excellent aircon. The bed is massive and very comfortable.

Its the liitle things that make this hotel stand out, the fresh fruit everyday in your room, daily bottled water and scented candles when the beds are turned down, the iced fresh water on the beach or poolside, fruit kebabs, scented cold towels and the mango iced lollies. The meet and greet on Tuesday night was a good way of meeting other guests and some of the staff and helped by the free bubbly or beer!

Dont be afraid to ask the staff for other restaurant recommendations, they suggested several to us which we tried and enjoyed such as Putumayo, Orka and Yellow Cafe there are many more. Try the Reggae Bar Babylon or Little Lylia's Chillout Cafe a walk further down the beach for an alternative experience, drinks are cheap and live bands are on, on certain nights with sand floors and rustic furniture with all types of traveller enjoying the atmosphere.

Do try Casa Del Mars, La Casa restaurant on the beach for an evening meal, such a lovely setting and fantastic food, with the waves crashing in the background, so relaxing, booking is recommended. The day cruise is good fun and if you catch any fish they will prepare if for dinner or lunch, plenty to drink all included in the trip if you want to avail of it. We caught several fish thanks to Lee and had them for lunch the next day (steamed with garlic and ginger).

I look forward to coming back to Casa del Mar and Langkawi, the island is so laid back and not pushy like other destinations. It’s a little gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
1,286 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing