We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for money - would not recommend staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Poor value for money - would not recommend staying here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in beachfront studio room. First the positives, probably the best hotel on the Pantai Cenang stretch, HOWEVER this does not mean much as the other options are dirty and dire.

During our time here, we suffered from a blackout on the first night, with electricity in the entire hotel out for several hours meaning no aircon, no lights, no nothing. Also no apologies, no candles from the staff, and no mention of discount at check-out which I would have excepted, or at least a token e.g. free water etc.

Also for a hotel that prides itself on service, you feel ripped-off at pricing of MYR1,000 per night (GBP250/night) you expect much more. Take an example to have your breakfast in your room (an additional 10 metre walk from breakfast area), you get charged MYR20 service charge per person even if only one person is having breakfast! Not only do you get charged MYR20 per person service charge, but on top of this you get charged a 10% service charge!! A service charge on a service charge - now that is a first! It would almost be funny if it wasn't reality!

Also, service was generally slow and clumsy with our food arriving cold, our drinks being knocked over and having at each time to go and ask to be served. Several staff hanging around the bar, but not coming to ask us if we wanted anything to drink or eat. 2-star service.

In terms of room and decor this property is VERY dated. Hotel is dated and tired and needs a major refit, not just changing of a few bits and pieces. The beach is fine, but really nothing compared to the Datai Bay or the Four Seasons beaches. If you want luxury e.g. for honeymoon or for a special occasion I would recommend Tanjung Rhu, Datai or the Andaman all in the same price category as the Casa Del Mar and much nicer and more exclusive. The Bon Ton Resort/Temple Tree gives you something different if you enjoy a rustic Malay experience. The bathrooms in the rooms are very old and you get the feeling this hotel was something new and different when it first opened 20 years ago, but now has not been maintained well.

Overall I would say, it is definitely not worth what they charge, and there are plenty more and better options on Langkawi. Would definitely not stay here again when returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SixtyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for posting your review and I am sorry and concerned to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience.

The hotel had an unexpected black out due to a faulty sub station nearby the airport affecting one side Pantai Cenang road. However our generator should have automatically kicked in (tested 03 days earlier as per our weekly procedure) it did not this time for some technical reasons.

The blackout did last 43mins, the time to troubleshoot and start our genset manually. Power from the grid returned just few minutes after.
I totally understand the discomfort it has generated especially if you were in your room at that time.

We have naturally apologized to all our guests who were at the restaurant and bar and used our dining lights and candles. We have made the choice not to call any room due to the lateness. It was 21:45 and thought it might be better not to call if anyone was asleep.
Everyone here acted in extremely good faith and our front office staff has taken care of one call from one room and followed after the power came back.
An emergency torchlight is available in every room and located in the wardrobe where the safe is.

As for the breakfast, there is a RM20 fee to prepare and deliver the breakfast to your room. This information is passed during the phone order call.

May I ask if you were able to bring your concerns to the attention of any of the managers whilst you were here and what response you may have had? I would be most pleased to hear more such that I can look to addressing any issues that may have been a concern to you and also to other future guests. You can email me on: tom.blachere@casadelmar-langkawi.com
I can only add my personal apologies here as well.

At last but not least I would like to highlight to our readers that Casa del Mar never had the pretention to be luxurious or ostentatious but homely. The rooms have been completely refurbished and upgraded last year.

Warmest regards
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    261
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
196
1,660
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just back from a 10 day trip to Malaysia with 5 nights spent at Casa del Mar.
Like most people I picked this hotel because of tripadvisor reports and also from the recommendation of UK tour operator Imagine Asia.
First a short word of thanks to Dave at Imagine Asia. I would normally make all my own holiday arrangements but it made a refreshing change letting somebody else have all the logistic headaches from organizing flights , hotels and even private transfers to and from the airports. This was achieved in a friendly and proffesional manner , everything ran like clockwork and Dave managed to price everything at a rate that meant I was happy to hand over the logistics to him. I would guess that other companies within the group such as Imagine Africa and Imagine Latin America would be just as helpful.

Now back to Casa del Mar
The real trick of this hotel is the size , just 34 rooms means that as soon as you arrive you get to know the wonderful staff and they get to know you. This does not mean they are intrusive they just take a discreet interest in your needs and then go out of their way to make sure you are happy.
This ethos extends from the Manager Tom ( don't miss his free beer and bubbly welcome evening ) to trainee staff like young Pat who we met on our first day , who found out I was Spurs fan and didn't mind listening to my 50 years of misery supporting them. He even went out of his way to find me the next day and ask my opinion of AVB. Hope the rest of your studies go well Pat.
The hotel is beautifully positioned at the quieter end of Cenang beach and although the rooms do not match a 5 star city hotel they are still of very high quality with all the little extras mentioned by others.
Happy hour is a great time to meet the other guests and, again , the small size of the hotel means it easy to make friends if you want.
Outside , along the strip , there is a wide choice of restaurants and bars at all price ranges but another weapon of the hotel is their chef.
I hope Tom knows how good his chef is. The evening meals , taken either on the beach or inside if it rains , are exceptional , from local Malay dishes to European. If food is your thing , make sure you have at least one meal on site.
We didn't take advantage of any of the trips offered and I think we probably missed out but this was an excuse to simply relax and if that is what you are after Casa del Mar is perfect.
A couple of negatives that I have not seen reported elsewhere.
Cats. If you are not a cat lover it can be mildly annoying having one of the local moggies under your table whilst eating. There are only 2/3 but keep them out of my way.
Aircraft noise. Whilst it is great having the airport 10/15 minutes away it does mean that Cenang is on the flight path and although it didn't disturb our lazy days it might upset others.
Thankyou Casa del Mar for a great stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great location, stepping out of my room onto the beach, the room itself very spacious, well maintained and spotless, with every amenity you would want. the staff are so welcoming and genuinely want to make sure you have a wonderful holiday. You must visit the Spa, small intimate and such amazing treatment. Overall would highly recommend Casa del Mar if you want to get away for a relaxing holiday with great food, service and sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Casa Del Mar was the most amazing place to stay at. The room we stayed in was right on the beach, beautiful room with ipod station, fruit and bottled water everyday . The staff were beautiful and made us feel special with the little extra things that they did. Langkawi is not your bali or thailand but you don't get hassled in the streets or on the beach by people selling things, also a duty free island. You can doing nothing or see some of the sites by taxi which is very cheap. Highly recommend the island and the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beachfront room with a courtyard, right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2812kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

An overdue review
The Stuff I Liked
Water by bed,Soap ( yes I took the leftovers home!) Size of room, Robes, Glassware, ipod dock,Wifi consistently good,Fan, comfy big bed, wonderful pillows, good lighting, delicious breakfast,Library,Location,Staff,POOL was lovely and is always perfect temperature,lounges fantastic right outside our room on the sand, lots ofTowels, Quiet,Complimentary Bubbles for brunch Sunday morning,dinner menu great value. they clean and groom their bit of the beach.Booked the eco adventure bike tour with pickup from CDM and it was a highlight.
Some Other stuff
Ridiculously Complicated login system for wifi which I had to keep punching in every time! Surely you could remain logged in for a few hours at least.
"Happy hour" or "the not so happy hour" as a fellow guest muttered. They really need to rethink this one...no it is not fun, no it is not entertaining. It worked like this, you buy a full price drink and you get to spin for your next one by choosing a colour on the wheel. I chose blue, I got blue, I got a free drink. Every other person at the bar, at least 6, bought their first drink, missed out on their colour so had to pay full price again. So happy hour for most people was 2 full priced drinks! I have never seen so many unhappy people at a bar. I think you had a 1 in 5 chance of scoring a freebie.
Give the people better odds, cheaper drinks or they, like us, will drink elsewhere!
The other thing that was not as expected was the beach service of water, fruit etc. I have stayed in smaller resorts where as soon as you walk to the sand or pool you are looked after but at CDM this beach service happens at set times ( don't ask me when they were) so sometimes you got the service and other times you didn't so for me this a little underwhelming (but only in comparison to other places and in light of the glowing praise heaped on CDM on TA)
Yes I would recommend but it didn't "make my heart sing".

Room Tip: Don't think there would be a bad room here. Book what you feel comfortable to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OzgirlNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

After checking all the 5 star resorts on Langkawi, we chose Casa del Mar because of the location and the reviews on Tripadvisor! And we made an excellent choice. From the moment you arrive you are looked after. The staff go out of their way to please you. The beachfront studio we stayed in was a couple of metres from the beach. The room was great, comfortable kingsize bed, sofa, 2 chairs, fridge, plenty of bottled water, fresh fruit everyday, beachtowels, free wifi and beautiful smelling soap, shampoo, lotion etc. There are plenty of sun lounges available and the staff brings you cold water and fruit when you spent the day on the beach!
Casa del Mar is at the top end of Cenang beach which means less crowded. The beach in front of the hotel gets cleaned every morning and there is a barrier in the sea so the jetskis won't bother you. The restaurant has tables on the beach and dining at night is a great experience. Breakfast, which is included, is something to look forward to every morning. Great choice, fresh orange juice and very good coffee.
We didn't like the traffic on the beach and we are sure management is trying hard to have it banned or reduced. The number of jetskis should be reduced as well and away from the populated beach areas.
The location is so good because behind the hotel is the street with plenty of shops, restaurants, mini supermarkets etc.
Nearly forgot to mention the sunsets. Some nights the sunset is magical!!
One thing for management. Have a free pickup for the guests from the airport!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

A wonderful stop over on the way home from Europe. A small boutique hotel with very friendly hard working staff and excellent SPA ( very professional & fabulous massage). The Spa deserves a number 1 ranking in my opinion!!
would recommend beach front room eg Cabang!. Langkawi is a quiet place- not frantic like Kuta or Phuket - perfect if you just want to chill out.

Great cocktails too !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdelaideLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing