We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,671)
Filter reviews
4,671 results
Traveler rating
2,259
1,565
490
202
155
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,259
1,565
490
202
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cascade pool spice market swim up bar main pool buggy service lake view kids pool mini golf kids club the club lounge cba bar large balcony cable car welcome drink seafood ground floor close to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
1,173 - 1,178 of 4,671 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2016

After reading a number of poor reviews on the Meritus, I was starting to worry what I had let myself in for. But I shouldn't have.

My wife and I arrived for a 13 night break at the end of February 2016. We were early checking in, so quickly changed into our swimming gear and headed for the beautiful sandy beach.

The guys at Cba sorted us with drinks, but as we didn't have a room number yet, it was all no problem. They just said, when you have one, we will simply charge your drinks to that room.

A couple of drinks later, and the waiter "Q" told us that our room was ready. So all in all check in was perfect!

WOW, so glad we booked a beach front room! It was superb! We were in room 3802, and it was upstairs and less than 30 metres from the beach, with a giant double bed, shower, bath, sofa, safe and a great balcony to watch the sunset from.

Staying bed and breakfast, I had read that the restaurant could run out of food - wrong again. There was a massive selection, from all over the planet for breakfast, and the staff were always really friendly and helpful.

I have been fortunate to travel far and wide around our planet, and have stayed in thousands of hotels. OK, this isn't 5 star as you would expect in New York, London, Paris, Singapore or any major city. But I wouldn't expect, or want that either.

Langkawi is a holiday destination, not a business centre, so my wife and I wanted cleanliness, friendliness, a great beach, comfort, and location. The Meritus did not fail us at all!

We had the best 2 weeks holiday that I can ever remember. It is a beautiful island.

Do NOT be put off by the poor reviews, If you are looking for marble, fine dining, and butler service, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a great hotel, in a great location that is clean and comfortable, then give it a try.

Would we go back? In a heart beat

Room Tip: 3802 is a sea view and lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Perky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Dear Perky33, thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and really hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2016

we just spent 7 days in a poolside terrace and this resort is absolutely beautiful. The staff are all soo very plesant and helpful especially our friends Aziz and Ben Lee in CBA and Shir Peng at reception who apparently was training, well you need to employ her because she was fantastic. The hotel is situated on cenang beach which is exceptional with NO jellyfish and very close to a strip of restaurants and massage facilities along the cenang road. This is the resort to choose and i can assure you ,it will not dissapoint

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stol3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Dear stol3, Thank you for your kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed the facilities and services provided. We will be sure to share your review with the team, this only motivates us to provide the best for our guests. Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016

Get ready to be blown away by the beauty of nature... golden sand beaches, excellent amenities, friendly staff, private beach, log cabin style accommodation. You name it the place has it. If you are looking for peace and tranquility, this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shumail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Dear Shumail S, thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

Upon check-in we were brought via golf cart to our room. We were in the last room on the map. We had a view of a tower and a security booth.
Considering the resort was at 30 - 40% (if I had to guess) capacity, we figured any other room in the entire place (350 rooms) would have a more pleasing view.

This was not 5 star, maybe 4 star. The beach water was murky. Water shoes are recommended for the ocean as there are broken shells which made it painful to walk in the ocean.

We asked for a late check-out as we had an early evening flight. There was a charge of $20 usd. Perhaps I am not used to this cost as it is usually complimentary. Nonetheless I was not excited about the additional charge. The kicker was that when we went to change out of our bathing suits to get moving to the airport - our key cards did not work. As the property is so big it took 20 minutes to the front desk and back to get into our room.

We did not have breakfast included in our rate. Breakfast was $19 usd. The evening prior we are in town. The cost for dinner was $6 usd. Seemed a tad pricey.

The air conditioner was leaking and we kept waking up sweating throughout the night. You need to keep a key card in the room for things to stay cool. Not a problem but it took a few hours for the room to cool off initially as well as the mini fridge (that never got cold) and was dirty.

The one thing we did enjoy were the friendliness of the entire staff. Always greeted with a smile.

I would likely stay elsewhere if I make it back to the area.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Dear TravelingOYEster, first and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for failing to meet your holiday expectations. Please be assured that we will put strict measures to improve on the air conditioning and key card issue as mentioned. We hope you will not put us in your permanent disfavor and allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to an improved holiday experience. Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights!! Rooms were big and spacious.. Staff were very kind and we said we want vegetarian food, though they were not in the spread, they served us what we asked.. Loved the hospitality of the staff!!

Swimming pools were huge and my kid loved the kids pool..

Things to work on:

We took the club package for a day and found the same set of menu for the tea and the evening drinks!!!!

We wish atleast one restaurant serve us dinner after 10pm.. When we went to the CBA for having dinner at 10 along the sea shore we didn't have any veg options and had to opt for room service..

Taxi station present outside the hotel is bit arrogant!! We didn't like the big 9 seater taxi as we were only two adult and 1 child travelling and we preferred a sedan car!! But we were left with no choice but to travel in the big one which literally had no leg room.. And the hotel staffs also asked us to take the big one as they have tie up with them!! This is a big bottle neck and thr management should work on it to ensure the comfort of the customers and not the TAXI drivers!!

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank Ranjani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Dear Ranjani S, thank you for your kind feedback. We will look at adding vegetarian options at Cba to give variety to our guests. As for the taxis unfortunately the taxis are based on queue hence the 9 seater provided however we will make a note of this and look into providing as required by guests. Once again we thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews