We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a family hotel so romantic couples beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Came for a short break with a toddler. We have had opportunities to stay at many top hotels around the world and so base comments on this fact - the Pelangi is a welcoming hotel; the rooms and the lobby area are dated but clean. The first day at breakfast was rather a mad house and sooooo many kids but this seemed to be a one off. Food was good and plentiful. The kids club was excellent and one of the main reasons we booked this hotel aswell as the location. There are many several excellent restaurants along the main road outside the hotel. The children seemed to congregate at the slide area in the pool and left the adults to enjoy the rest. Although the resort seemed pretty full there were many sunbeds out around the pool (which was not busy at all) by the garden and beach area and opportunites to hide away. (If you want a more romantic atmosphere the Casa del Mar just a hop away is amazing).
Just one real negative point - there was a beach wedding on at the hotel. The music was pumped up so loud (the bass) that even though we must have been sheltered 100m away (its a big resort area) the room vibrated to the point that we left the room until they turned it down at around 11pm, finally finishing at 12pm. I always believe that hotels (of this calliber) would do well to advise its paying guests ahead of time particularly with so many young children on vacation. You don'tmind a party, but being forced out of your room seems ridiculous. (The music did at some point get turned down so I guess someone did listen to complaints). Altogether though, a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. I would rate the hotel a dated 4 star at best.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondeshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,007 - 3,013 of 4,123 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed in a room with garden view for 4 days. Clean room and nice pool. I like the Malaysian style wood architecture, ceiling fan and gorgeous gardenm, also watching sunset in Cenang beach.

We were bit surprise to find that the room had only shower. TV reception was poor and air conditioning was really cold.

In addition, its location is really not so close to shops and restaurants in Cenang Road when one has to walk under the baking sun for some 15 to 20 mins at least. It will be easier if we drive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

stayed there for 7 nights, for our belated honeymoon. we were checked in and escorted to our room by some of the most polite staff i have ever encountered, the room was exactly as we wanted, not some concrete block, perfect and immaculatley clean, the food was fantastic and again the serving staff great, the BQ on an evening is a must do, im very fussy about hotel staff, i hate to be hassled and i hate to be ignored the staff here were perfect as far as i was concerned, the hotel its self very very good especially considering the size of the grounds, we could not fault the room the staff or the facilities, well done pelangi!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dooseyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My boyfriend and I booked five days at the Meritus Pelangi on Langkawi, as part of a longer holiday to Malaysia. We also stayed five days in Penang and three days in KL, both in five star hotels, and neither of the other two were a patch on the Pelangi.

We do not understand the complaints we have seen elsewhere on this site about the hotel. In our opinions, they are totally unfounded, and we have stayed in a few good quality hotels so we are not total amateurs when it comes to this.

The staff are amazing and cannot do enough for you. Their English is exemplary and they are so welcoming and friendly.

The site is beautifully landscaped and the rooms in traditional Malay houses are great. Spacious, cool, nicely furnished, a good value mini bar, good facilities... We could go on but just go yourself and experience it!

The lake is lovely, as are the pools, which are a lot of fun for both adults and children. Although this is ostensibly a family resort, the children here are great and don't impinge on your peaceful enjoyment if you are there without kids. So don't worry about that.

The beach is gorgeous and the hotel is right on it, with hammocks and sun loungers in the palms along the sand. The beach bar has a great happy hour (in fact, it's about three hours long). The breakfast is delicious and varied in the main restaurant (there are a few places to eat on the site), and although we didn't eat there for dinner (as there is a hell of a selection of restaurants along Pantai Cenang), the barbeque smelled great and we ate snacks at the beach bar in the afternoon.

Honestly, we struggled to find fault with the hotel. There are plenty of things for adults and children to do on site and the hotel organises trips to all the main attractions around Langkawi. The only minor points are that internet access in the business centre is a little pricey and my boyfriend said the gym didn't have that much equipment. However, do you go on holiday to exercise? I don't! So it didn't bother me.

All in all, we loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

What you read about this hotel is true. I spent 3 months reading updated reviews on daily basis before traveling, since I was the one planning the whole trip for another four couples, and didn't want to fail them. Well, I was cheered up for my choice nearly 100 times. All good reviews (many here) about the location, the rooms, the beach, the scenery, the food, the nearby shops and restaurants, and especially the staff are more than true.

Oh the friendly staff! Always smiling, greeting people. Always there to assist you for a cab (a taxi van in our case), advising you where to go. They never complained about our many requests to drive us to our rooms or to the lobby anytime day or night. Even when we didn't request, they just rush in to pick us when they see us leaving lobby. One staff member we all can never forget is "Ismail". What a lovable and kind person (hope his mother is better now). We never saw him not smiling, even when telling us about his sick mother. One day while driving us to our rooms he said “We should enjoy every moment, everyday, and never be angry or sad, and sure smile always). We just wish someone could forward our regards to him if staying at Meritus (Tell him Moustapha & Family).

In general, we never met a local in Langkawi not friendly or kind. In our many taxi drives around the island, we were never turned down by any van driver to pull aside to buy some fruits or some souvenirs. They just responded quickly, waiting outside the van (running with AC on), sometimes for more than 30 minutes smiling, with no grievance whatsoever, while we did our shopping and eating.

Cable car & Mangrove cruise (6 hours) not to be missed. The guide and boat driver during mangrove cruise were so knowledgeable and nice, they even let most of us drive the boat in the open water after lunch.

One regret is that we only stayed for four nights, wish we doubled that. When we arrived to Kuala Lumpur, we all were depressed as if our vacation just ended, though shopping in Kuala was great with their Mega sale (excellent prices), ask the ladies. Don't get me wrong Kuala is nice too.

One last thing about the rooms’ fixtures might be somewhat old; still it is unnoticeable given the nature of the resort’s theme (Malay village).

Meritus staff & Management… Thank you for this unforgettable vacation, and hope to see you all soon. H. Tabbara + Family + Friends.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank HTabbaraDrSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. Arrived and was checked in and escorted to our room in a golf buggy which was a good thing since our room was quite some distance from the lobby but that was a good thing as our room was next to the second pool away from the main pool and therefore not as busy as the main pool.

It was so hot there and the lobby is not air conditioned as it is very open. The whole place is based of traditional wooden chalet which is a change from the modern day hotels and definitely a change from the Traders hotel we stayed at in KL.

Upon arriving in our room, we were quite relieved to find that the air conditioning was already switched on and our room was nice and cool.

The room is clean although it may not feel 'clean' because of the dark wood everywhere, it actually is clean.

Its not the most luxurious place we've stayed at but the main attraction of this hotel is its location. It is located on Cenang Beach which is one of the best and most popular beaches in Langkawi. There are loads of shops including restaurants, souvenirs, spas, internet cafes along Cenang Road which runs parallel to the beach.

There are a few good restaurants such as Rose Tea, Orchid Ria and a little restaurant used by locals opposite waterworld which is down the road. One to avoid is Putomayo which is a rip off even for tourist rates.

The hotels breakfast is buffet style and is decent enough. There is variety but after having the same thing for 9 days, it does get a bit boring but that is no fault of the hotel. The breakfast is actually good but i think my taste buds like variety. My taste buds are too spoilt!

The hotel has an excursions counter. You can use this to get a general idea of what you can do while you are there. A great tip is if you do want to go on a excursion then choose what you want to go on and then shop around as there are loads of agents trying to flog exactly the same thing all at varying prices. They all use the same tour operator and sell tickets to excursions on the tour operators behalf making their margin on top. I managed to book some good deals by going into Kuah Town which is the local town centre, and haggling the main tour operators office down. It was pure luck that i happened to find their office on my walks in the town centre.

The beach was very nice. However the beach has a lot of shingle where the hotel is. If you walk slightly down the beach, the sand does become soft and clear as it should be on a tropical island. Im not sure if this shingle is as a result of nature or if its the hotel being cheap and replenishing their beach sand with a mixture of shingle and sand as its cheaper. The reason i say this is because if you walk down the beach, other hotels replenish their sand but they manage to use soft sand with no shingle at all. But that didnt bother us much anyway as we spent a lot of the time further down the beach anyway as we would eat and then relax on the beach watching the beautiful sunsets. The sunsets are truly out of this world and are like nothing you've ever seen before.

Our stay at this hotel was very nice and relaxing. Our aim was to do Kuala Lumpur then Langkawi so that we are relaxed before we return and i would say that we achieved this as we came back totally relaxed with great memories.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eshaq786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Very convenient, great rooms, great beds and comfy pillows. Perfect for young kids with kidiclub (supervision for <4yrs is required) and a cpl of refreshing kids pools. Staff were generally very helpful. Can fit 2 young kids in the family room

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepenguinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,241 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $186 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Splitty, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing