We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here three nights on a family holiday, the hotel had arranged airport pick-up which was convenient, thought the airport is just ten minutes away.

Our stay did not start out right as the room they gave us was one of the old ones - very dark, dingy, and the carpet had a musty smell. It was nothing like the nice rooms they show on their website. I went back to the reception and complained, and they agreed to switch us to the refurbished rooms - it was way better! Brighter colors, no odors, wood floors, so much nicer.

Breakfast was included, the restaurant was huge and always busy, but the food selection and variety is great. Lunch and dinners were out, a good way to experience the local flavor. The hotel is not far from town, a couple of times we just walked there and back along the beach.

One of the attractions of this hotel is the beach, and the fact that you get to view some amazing sunsets! We'd first considered staying at the Taj, would never have got to see the lovely sunsets.

Lastly, the staff, even for a big resort of this type, was quite helpful and pleasant. I have to especially mention the guys at the beach bar "Cba", they were great and played nice chill out music, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the new, refurbished rooms, the old ones are not nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVSAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear SVSAbuDhabi
Thank you for this review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in Langkawi. For your information, all our rooms have now been refurbished and updated.
Pleas come back soon!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,769
    1,320
    422
    175
    122
See reviews for
1,210
1,557
83
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

It was more than a year ago but somehow I feel owed to give a review because obvoiusly, I miss the time spent at this hotel.

We were served with towels and drinks upon arrival and asked to sit while waiting for them to check my booking. Since we arrived past lunch hour and were very hungry, we straight away ordered room service for 'char kuey tiow' and it was super delicious and fast. The rooms were clean, spacious and idyllic and they offer drinks at the minibar for free! I think that alone show how they value their guests. Staffs were very helpful, welcoming, informative and quick. The hotel location also a plus point as it located just a distance away from Pantai Chenang Town.

They only off thing I have for this hotel was the variety of food they serve during breakfast. For a hotel this awesome, I just hope the menus also on par.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarisRahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear WarisRahman
Thank you for your kind review and comments.
For your information, we have completely re-vamped our Breakfast buffet with many more choices now and a delicious array for new items.
We hope you will return soon!
Cheers!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed for a week in Dec 2012 with our 2 kids aged 11 and 9. We had an interconnecting room right on the beachfront. Located at the end of the beach, and with chalets only 2 stories high, meant that it was really quiet and peaceful. The rooms were very spacious and although we were in it prior to renovation, it was comfortable, clean and everything was in working order. Set in a huge leafy surrounding, it is the first resort we ever stayed in without a lift! There were buggys to take you to the room/reception, or you can just walk. We played tennis, swam in both the main pool and lagoon pool, ordered from the swim-up bar, ate at the restaurant and chatted with lots of lovely gorgeous ever-helpful staff. Across the road was a mini mart and laundromat. Next door offered fine dining. And a walk/taxi to Oasis restaurant and Yellow Cafe is highly recommended. It was the most relaxing, enjoyable, fun and memorable family holiday for grown-ups and kids. We would love to get back to pelangi beach resort again...hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: Beachfront chalets were awesome. I had heard that the lakeside units tend to be a little noisier and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaFromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear LisaFromPerth
I am happy to learn that you and the family had a fantastic stay with us. We hope you'll be back soon!
Cheers!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Nice resort in great location, staff courteous and very attentive.
We spent six nights here in a beachfront chalet. The room was large and clean with a wonderful bathroom overlooking the beach, with nice balcony to just sit relax, watch the sunsets or the nightly thunder storms.
The nightly Buffet dinner was superb with a huge choice of food, not being a breakfast eater unfortunately we didn't get in to sample the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieAussie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear AussieAussie40
Great! You enjoyed your stay and let other people to know about it. I am happy to learn that you had a good time and enjoyed the dinner BBQ in our Spice Restaurant.
Please come back soon!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wonderful beach location with all necessary requirements.Staff could not have been more helpful . Beautiful beach on your doorstep with excellent swimming pools within the complex.Restaurant is first class with many excellent dishes available. Would definitely recommend the barbecue evenings.

Room Tip: Would recommend rooms near to beach . This must be requested when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeH076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for your kind review and comments.
I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and our staff's service.
Again, my sincere appreciation.
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Langkawi is a beautiful Island and we have stayed their several times, in fact we had our honeymoon there. We chose the Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa for its proximity to all the restaturants and also being right on the beautiful beach.

Its Chalet type accommodation in beautiful gardens, and very very clean, the staff are very friendly and efficient and make you feel right at home.

We hired a car and drove around the island which is very easy to do, and the petrol is cheap. There is not a lot of traffic so you are quite safe. We had the car for the entire week we were there and just loved touring around

We stayed there approximately two years ago and am itching to go back, and would definitely choose the Meritus again, you cant fault it, especially of a night time when they have music in the foyer and people often get up and dance its quite fun

Room Tip: we chose the garden wing rooms as they are economical and really lovely and quite close to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryanne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear kerryanne91
Thank you so much for this review. We are glad you came back and enjoyed Langkawi (again).
I hope to see you return next time!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Well travelled couple but very happy with all here. We upgraded to a Beach ground floor villa and it was just perfect. Seemed like we had our own piece of beach, which white sand and mountain views. Not many people here but even if full im sure the extensive grounds would still make you feel as though you were still Tarzan and Jane on your own little island.
Rooms is so comfy. Bed massive with perfect pillows. Fan and Aircon. Maid so sweet.
When the tropical storms come we just grab our things from the beach and sit on the veranda to continue reading our books and mags. Lovely beach fine dining evening meals at the CBA and just 5 minutes walk Yellow Cafe which has such cheap food and drink.
If you decide to go for a midnight swim as we did just dont forget to remove your phone, camara and money from your person as we did. Now weve lost all the photos we took of our perfect time here. But we still have the memories. Cheam, Sutton, Surrey, England.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear kimm45
thank you for your kind review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry to hear about your phone and all the lost photos. Only one thing to do: come back and take some other pictures!
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing