We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We are just back from a week at this resort, no it isn't perfect, but it's beautiful.
The location is excellent, you can walk very easily to the town either out of the front of the hotel and up the road or by our preferred option, the beach. Fantastic choice of bars/restaurants. Highly recommend the yellow cafe (lovely beanbags to watch the sunset from) & Raffis (nicest green curry & rendang Eva). The conseirge we all very helpful, we hired a car from the hotel, this was very reasonable and worth doing to have a good look at the island, easy to drive and find your way about. The cable car is a must, fantastic view.

Our room was great, I had requested a garden room which we had, it was just one row back from the beach and had a lovely view. The bed is huge! Air con worked fine, was a bit annoyed the only place there was room for my sons rollaway bed was directly under the aircon so he was freezing wen it was on, we were melting when it was off!

The family pool was fab and in my opinion was nicer than the second pool which felt a little claustrophobic. Nice childrens section at the family pool with a few small slides. Beach lovely and clean with a cooling breeze.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was fine and somthing for everyone, yes somtimes busy but you could get up earlier and go when it was quieter if you really wanted to.

We had initially requested the meritus club lounge but after seeing it decided it wasn't worth the money and cancelled it and wouldn't recommend it. We had also a booked the family getaway package, this included transfers, daily kids ice cream, breakfast, the rollaway bed for my son and one free evening meal at the spice market. Taxi's were unbelievably cheap, ice cream wasn't very good & we didn't use our free meal as there were so many lovely restaurants very close by so I wouldn't pay for this package again.

The only few things I was unhappy with, and these were not major, some of the reception staff didnt appear to have a clue what was going on, if you asked questions they either didnt know or gave incorrect information.
For the first two days our room wasn't cleaned very well, the sink in bathroom had not even been wiped ova (this may be to do with the fact i caught the maid watching television, lol) and twice she had left our balcony door unlocked. I mentioned it at reception, it was spotless the next day & flowers left in our room although she did forget to lock the door again.

Another day when we returned to our room our key didnt work, afta the long walk back to reception we were told that we had not been booked in for long enough, they didnt know why.

My biggest dissapointment was the Kiki kids club. It was shocking! The leaflet I had been given at reception with details of activities on was completely incorrect! There was little going on and every day there was at least one activity (t shirt/umbrella painting) that had to be paid for, the few times we went to look there were only 2 babies in there. My son didn't go once and this was one of the main reasons I chose the hotel.

Having said this, I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it purely based on it's location, pool and beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear taffytripper
I thank you for your comments and observations shared. I regret the inconsistence in service-Front Desk, Kiki Club etc. We'll work on it - promised@!
We hope you'll be back!
Cheers!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    1,343
    425
    175
    125
See reviews for
1,229
1,581
84
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very beautiful location, fantastic food and facilities and easy to access local amenities.

Definately recommend for couples, the rooms and bathrooms were also to a very high standard. Staff were helpful and put us in touch with a very good dive company. Certainly would consider returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for your review, seasonedtraveller98!
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay here and went diving in Langkawi.
Please come back soon!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just back from staying here for 6 nights and had a great time and would go again. The price points that you pay are exactly what you get so was very happy. Every day laid on the beach chairs under the tree umbrellas which kept the sun off all day. Was very nice and relaxing. On the beach, there were only the resort guests, so it is like your own private beach.

Pool was excellent, very large. Swam in the cascade pool which had the swim up bar only once as I ended up liking the main pool better.

Breakfast was nice and ate there every day.

Staff were very helpful and any question we asked they answered as best they could, not always right. Though I just put that down to lost in translation.

Walking distance to restaurant strip was great and I would recommend walking down to the cliff for a cocktail overlooking the beach, it was heaven, found it on last day was the only disappointing thing.

Internet drops in and out and surprisingly had better reception on the beach than I did in my room. I think if you stay around the lake end you will have bad reception at times in room, so if internet is must ask to stay in a good internet zone building. I had to do some work and due to reception had to do it while laying under the beach tree on the beach, that was the best office I have ever had :). So ultimately I never had a problem getting access to the internet, just not always from my room and therefore had to find best reception areas.

Cocktails at resort are pretty bad, it is like the staff do not have experience at making them and sometimes staff said yes and other times said no to what they could make depending on who you got serving you. The staff need training in how to make cocktails as the ones I had, tasted nothing like they are meant to, so some training on staff how to make cocktails is a must.

CBA bar in the resort was great place to watch the sunset and have a drink.

I read the comments on here before going and it was great to see how the hotel had actually taken on board feedback such as the on arrival welcome drink. That was very nice and refreshing after the journey.

The room was not cleaned to best it could e.g we had clothes left in the room from previous guests which we found on last day when checking draws to make sure we had everything. Though it was not in a condition which would stop me staying there, you could just tell it was a very quick low attention clean.

Bathrooms were great, very large and modern.

We had issues at check in where we were given a room though then lost it as guest didnt cehck out by the deadline and then got transferred to another room and it took about 2 hours to get in to room and the person checking in did not keep us updated and said we would be in by X time which was pushed back 2 times just like a delayed plane and never told us the new check in time until about 15-20 minutes had past when said was going to be in (not long, though after 10 hour journey just want to get in room and kept informed) . This experience was nothing to not make me stay here again, just need to be keep guest better informed of what is happening and don’t leave people waiting beyond commitments.

Will stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on beach front,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jigals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello, jigals!
Thanks for your review and telling other readers that you would return.
I am sorry about the cocktails (our Muslim bar staff cannot taste their products!), but still should follow standard recipes! I understand the check-in didn't go as smooth as you could expect and I apologize... during full-house its sometimes takes time to get the rooms ready for the next guest
Thanks!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from our 2nd visit to the Pelangi hotel our first being 7 years ago. This visit rooms had been refurbished, stayed in lakeside room which was spacious and kept very clean. The hotel was as lovely as remembered. The pool was fantastic the beach kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a bit manic but hotel was quite busy so to be expected. The staff were helpful and always smiling. Plenty of restaurants outside the hotel which were very reasonable. Will definitely be returning could not fault anything about our holiday.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddhasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Buddhasue,
thanks for returning for your second stay and giving your comments!
I am happy learn that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will return next year!
Cheers!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a few minor issues here. Our room forcibly downgraded vs our booking as they'd over/double-booked, no working A/C, no WIFI etc. These, though somewhat irritating were quickly forgotten once we eventually got to the beautiful beach and pool.

The one thing about Pelangi that would really make me hesitate about returning (vs other comparable island/resort holidays) is the staff. Many were dismissive, completely unhelpful and unaccommodating, answered queries with obvious lies which were internally inconsistent. Obviously this wasn't the case for all (some were actually very friendly and helpful, in particular the concierge desk).

I'd most likely stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Seaview a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Glyn R ,
thanks for your comments. I apologize for the service you received from our staff was not being up to our usual standard. Your comments help us to "drive the message home" that we need to go out of our way to keep our guests happy.
Thank you!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in a garden terrace room, garden and ocean views just 50m from the water. Large comfortable room with balcony. Just a walk up the beach to local restaurants and shops and of course the duty free store. The swim up bar in the pool also got a bit of a workout.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KER_1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear KER_1952
Thanks for your review. Much appreciated. Please come and visit again!
Cheers!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed at this resort for 4 nights with my family. Really enjoyed our stay, the room was very nice with great facilities and a large bathroom that was wonderful. The staff here are amazing, very friendly and they could not have been more helpful.

The restaurant breakfasts are very good with a wide selection of foods for all cultures and tastes, and the coffee was excellent as well. Our son dined for free, with the costs being what you would expect at a resort like this. There is not much choice locally so we had breakfast in the hotel every day. We dined for lunch poolside from the bar each day as we relaxed and it was very good. We had one meal in the restaurant for dinner, which was pricey but nice. Other than that we dined locally at various restaurants.

The two main pools are both relaxing and fun with things for kids to do at both, with the main pool being the most attractive for the kids with excellent “water park” type facilities. Once we found the Cascade Pool & Bar we spent most of our time there as it was less busy, with the bar an attraction and the poolside service was fantastic. The only negative here was that the hotel allowed guests to reserve loungers by placing clothing/towels on them many very early in the morning, only to turn up just before lunch. This prevents others from both enjoying facilities and also importantly being able to supervise kids. Ironically, as usual, this seemed to be behavior mainly promoted by ze Germans. Nonetheless is something that the hotel should work on to improve.

The only downside to our stay was the access to WiFi. Don’t be fooled by the website that promotes resort wide access to WiFi. It is sporadic at best, very difficult to connect to (see photos) and when you do connect it is woefully slow – too slow for effective use, especially if you are trying to complete business use. This is the same both for iPhone and laptop.

Room Tip: Beach view at the Cascade Pool end is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markylush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Markylush
thanks for your comments. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and our service and food. The WiFi is sometimes not stable due to the TeleCom provider.
I am looking into the pool-lounge situation.
Again, thanks for the remarks!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
1,286 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing