We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Langkawi was awesome!
Loved the hospitality of all the people.
Meritus had a whole variety of food, the confusion was real! The staff were ever friendly and helpful. However, the beds need some work..all those bumps were the downside to such a terrific room. The location to a clean beach is not to be understated. The sunset views will forever be etched in my mind.
I would definitely return, to one of the most wonderful places ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WairimuGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear WairimuGee!
Thank you very much for your kind words.I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and had a fantastic experience here.
Please come back soon!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,883
    1,384
    435
    181
    130
See reviews for
1,298
1,630
87
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 1pm to be told we had been upgraded from a garden view to deluxe pool view which was lovely (although the pool view was mostly the back view of the concrete rocks at the cascade pool - not sure if I'd have been happy to pay for this on pool view rate)
We didn't have to have any money held on a credit card as we were with Kuoni and said we would pay cash for everything, and charge nothing to the room.
I had read on previous reviews that the soft drinks in the mini bar were free. This is not true for everyone - apparently it depends on your package. We had nothing in writing saying it was included for us but it was. This info is not offered so do ask! I asked for the mini bar to be cleared and only diet coke supplied and this was done with it being replenished every day following a call to room service to remind them. The maid also left us extra water every day if I left a note for her.
There is an amazing choice at breakfast but sometimes you have to wait for things to be replenished - especially the fresh fruit and the yogurts pots. The weekends are so busy the facilities can't cope and everything runs out.
There is a switch next to the bathroom door which just looks like a light switch. If you switch this off you will turn your hot water off. It took us 2 days of cold showers to work this out.
We wanted to lay on the beach every day as it was stifling around the cascade pool. The sun beds on the beach are where the hotel really lets things slide. They are broken and generally in poor condition and in short supply. Many do not even have pad so you have to either lie on the straps or go in search of spare pads around the pools. We really were quite shocked by the standard of them compared to the ones available around the swimming pools. We saw similar standard of beds at the backpackers end of the beach!
At 8am the beach is lovely and cool for an early morning stroll. The tide goes out and the locals wade in thigh deep water between the beach and the next island looking for shellfish and throwing nets into the sea.
We booked a taxi for the day through hotel desk to tour the island. It cost RM 25 per hour with minimum of 5 hours. He took us to the cable car and black beach and Tanjong beach then on to Durian waterfalls (he said the others had little water in at the moment). Next we went right to the top of Mount Raya and then on to eagle square in Kuah. He did charge for the 7th hour although we were only 5 mins into it which did peeve us a bit, especially as we had paid him RM 60 extra to take us to the top of he mountain! It just meant he got less of a tip.
We used a little backpackers type of bar on the main road for drinks. It was on the street in between Rose tea 11 and a money changes, and outside a small supermarket - although it did seem to have vanished without trace on our last night - perhaps it is only there on certain nights.We paid £8 (40 RM) for 4 beers and 3 large vodka and cranberry. We also had drinks in Casa Del Mar next door where there is a good bar atmosphere. Cheap drinks are also available in the beach bear to the left of the hotel and almost at the end of the beach.
We ate at an Indian called Indian palace just up the road and an Italian called Viva Italian. Both were good which can't be said for the meal we had in Orchid Ria - the worst chicken we have ever been served up - all sinew and fat!
We weren't able to keep our room past 2pm as someone was coming into it but we used the showers in the sports centre as we weren't being picked up until 17.45. They supply shower gel, shampoo, towels and lockers.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GO50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear GO50 !
I appreciate your review of our resort and the description of your experiences in Langkawi. I am glad you had a very good holiday and we hope to see you again next year!
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit. My husband and I and two friends stayed for 5 nights on the way home from Australia,on our recommendation at how wonderful this Hotel was,and all the extra touches which made it so special,eg, fruit brought to you complimentary around the pool,also cold flannels brought to you to cool you down around the pool and the happy hour on the beach watching the sunset.
Well, the pool service this time was almost non existent,and I just mean that no one even came round for hours at a time to ask if you would like a drink, and when they did apparently happy hour wasn't included in poolside drinks ! My friends got fed up of waiting one day and went to fetch their own drinks from the bar and were still charged a service charge , whatever for?, the drinks were extortionate by malaysian standards anyway without paying a service charge for no service whatsoever. A tip for your soft drinks around the pool is to take your own from the room mini bar, exactly the same but a lot cheaper or buy them from the supermarket at a quarter of the price, at least this way you are guaranteed a poolside drink.and don't expect the lovely touches that used to happen around the pool as they have all stopped too :(.
Saying this, the Hotel is still lovely and the rooms have been brightened up and made more contemporary, it is lovely and clean and the breakfast has everything that any nationality could desire for breakfast, it is amazing. The buggy drivers are lovely and very amusing :) It is also situated in a lovely convenient place on the island and is in easy walking distance of some fabulous restaurants,local shops, a local market and taxi rank.
It is a beautiful island and the people,staff included are wonderful,they are welcoming and always have a smile for you.
It is so reasonable to get around the island too,please explore, the beaches and waterfalls, sky walk and cable cars are not to be missed.
I would recommend this hotel, It has lost a few special touches but it remains to be one of the most relaxing,wonderful places I have ever travelled too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Susiefloosie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Susiefloosie65
Thanks for your review. I have taken note of the pool experience you described and will look into ways to improve the service there.
I am glad though that you enjoyed the resort otherwise and received good service by our staff.
Again, thank you for pointing out where we can improve.
Cheers
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Langkawi is a tropical paradise and Meritus Pelangi cements your experience by giving you an absolute perfect combination of peace, beauty, service, location, good food, attentive staff, nice rooms, great beds and a fantastic beach. And if this is not enough it also gives you a clean and well maintained and safe place were you can relax totally. Highly recommended, love to come back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sassare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Sassare
I appreciate you endorsement of our resort, the facilities and service.
I share all comments with our associates as it helps to motivate them and trying their best to please our guests.
Please come back in the not-too-distant future.
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We visited Langkawi in Oct 2013 and found that it was the best resort there. The closet to the beach with awesome sunset view.
Rooms were good and spacious,friendly staff and food was also gud. If u visit Langkawi stay at Meritus only.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RahulBhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Rahul B
thank you so much for your positive review. I appreciate your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Hotel room was good, but all staff lack of hospitality and smile. Beach is nice but the distance from beach to water is far. Kids will be difficult to find shade while playing sand castle.

Being a 5 star hotel I was expecting more for the service and smile.

Another bad thing is mobile phone line sucks here and wifi access is terrible.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Nivle!
Thanks for your review. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations 100%, but it helps us to improve our service and facilities for the future.
Again, thanks!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at this fabulous hotel during January 2014 and had the holiday of a lifetime. Thank you to all the staff for making this a memorable holiday. Thank you to Rohani our maid for a spotless clean every day, thank you to Audrey at the front for her ever ready smile and help and thank you to the buggy drivers. We would also like to thank the chef for the wonderful birthday cake he made which was delicious and such a wonderful surprise, it made a perfect day even better. All the staff were always helpful and courteous. The location of our room was superb, just a walk through the palm trees to the beautiful white beach, waking up to the birds singing, it was paradise. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to couples and families alike for a very special holiday. Our holiday was on a room only basis.

Room Tip: Superb beach front villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_UK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Kim_UK_10
Great!! I am very pleased that we did made you feel special and you had a wonderful stay,
I have mentioned to our associates how pleased you were with their service.
Please come back soon!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,366 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing