We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 hotel in Langkawi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“#1 hotel in Langkawi”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've been to so many hotels in Langkawi, but i personally think that Meritus Pelangi Langkawi is the best one. Just by entering the entrance, felt so impressed. the lobby is so beautiful. when i entered there, i felt like i entered paradise. so calm and peaceful. I can stay here for 3 days 2 nights without needing myself to rent a car. because in here, theres everything!
All the restaurants are very nice and facing the beach. nevertheless, the hotel's beach is so wide too.
The location is very strategic. its located at Pantai Cenang. the stalls, restaurant, markets and bars are very near. and I had no problem with the parking. theres alot of parking there.
What I love the most if their pool. their pool is so cool! its like a Sunway Lagoon pool.

Nice one! keep it up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paperrockwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for submitting your review. I am very proud to share your kind comments with my associates. We are happy you enjoyed staying with us, our facilities and the surrounding area.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,863
    1,370
    431
    179
    130
See reviews for
1,277
1,616
87
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have stayed at chalet 807, it was great - close to beach, close to hotel lobby and restaurant, but quiet.Down side is the room was a bit smelly, maybe all rooms are the same? However I recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rapata510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Our sincere thanks for your kind review. My team and I are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are sure you'll return in the not-too-distant future.
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Can only give my highest recommendations after 3 days here. Excellent food, everything is clean and well maintained. Everyone in the staff is greeting you. Extreme value for money. Almost 100 % wifi coverage. Great gym. Two pools large enough for swimming exercise. Even though the hotel was full one night we did not feeling any unconviniance. / Henrik

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Henrik68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Henrik68,
thanks for your kind review, I appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
We are happy you enjoyed your vacation and hope to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future.
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This resort is wonderful, from the moment we arrived we were extremely impressed. Check in was so easy, we were directed to a couple of lounges where our welcome drinks were bought to us while the paper work was quickly filled out and we were allocated our room about 3 hours before check in time. We were then taken to our room in a golf buggy, bags bought to the room and shown how to use everything and where everything was. Room (deluxe room-garden) was a good size with a large balcony and an even bigger bath room with a separate bath and shower. The bed and pillows would have to be some of the best I have ever slept on. Our room was close to one of the 2 pools at the resort and it happened to be the one with the pool bar (o yeah). the other pool was larger and was close to the reception area. There is a nice looking beach bar that would have been perfect for sunset, just a shame it was down the other end of the resort and time got the better of us and we didn't get there for sunset, still managed to make it for sunset at the far end of the beach and it was still spectacular, just minus the cocktails...nothing a couple of beers couldn't fix.
Room service for dinner as we were exhausted after a big day in the sun, food was good and was served in appropriate time, not too badly priced and was good for western food in Asia. The breakfast in the morning was ok, nothing spectacular egg station was really the only thing I liked....this was the only let down of the resort.
The resort is not too far of a walk from the centre a Cenang and is a nice walk down the beach, there is a couple of beach bars on the way to stop off at if needed.
The service at this resort was some of the best experienced, they all spoke English really well and was a great way to finish our holiday in Lankawi, just wished we would have had more time here and will definitely be staying here when get around to getting back to Langkawi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielBris1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
My staff and I would like to thank you sincerely for your kind review and nice comments about the resort. We are always trying new dishes and set ups of our buffets and I hope to be able to demonstrate that drive to constant improvements if you will return.
Again, my sincere thanks!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My room was a ocean view with a nice patio. very nicely furnished. The pool was amazing. The ocean property was stunning. The only thing the hotel can do better is rake the sand daily as they have the best beach on that side and it could be perfect if they just take pride in the beach. Its clean but when you see it thats the first thing you think of and down the way one hotel rakes their beach every day.....

Room Tip: ocean view or ocean front ,try to get close to the center or the main pool as this is great for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBBIE-KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments!
We actually DO groom the beach daily, this is done daily by a council beach comber and our own raking tractor every second day.
Please visit us again soon.
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have been to the hotel several times over the past 10 years and were absolutely amazed with the renovations the hotel underwent. One can really say that the rooms look like the pictures on their website! The rooms were clean and we decided to "only" go for a lake view room this time, because the beach front rooms are never really on the beach anyhow. Breakfast in the spice market was a goid mix of western and asian items - only downside was that coffe/ tea was not served tableside which i would expext from a 4/5 star hotel.
We had dinner and drinks at the cbr one night, drnks were great, food was ok, and entertainment... Well again, not up to hotel standards. But in any case, no need to spend all your tme in the hotel - the main street is just a couple ealking minutes away. There you can indulge in local cuisine for local prices.
I also noticed tha the hotel had a club section now, which servs privat breakfast and snacks at cocktail hour, which might certsinly come in handy if the hotel is at high occupancy.
Overall great stay, excellent location,, friendly service and amazing job with the rooms.

Room Tip: Like i said, we didn't go for a beach view room this time as the are always at an andle and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tambli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
My sincere thanks for your kind review and the "glowing" description of our facilities. Our associates and I hope to see you again soon!
Cheers!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Good facilities but indifferent staff make this place a heartless holiday machine churning profits for owners but leaving us cold and not coming back. Location at the end of airport runway does not disturb too much sure to low traffic. Vast compound is served night time by golf carts with no lights on pitch black lanes with guests worrying

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TramigoMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I am sorry to learn that you found the staff indifferent as we usually get good comments about our staff here. We will remind the associates that warm and caring service has always been the hallmark of our resort. We would love to have you back for a second chance.
Sincerely,
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,340 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing