We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
Sweet Inn(Langkawi)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melati Tanjung Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Malibest Resort(Langkawi)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alpha Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
AB Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,347)
Filter reviews
4,347 results
Traveler rating
2,064
1,479
468
195
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,064
1,479
468
195
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascade poolspice marketswim up barmain poolbuggy servicekids poollake viewmini golfcba barthe club loungekids clublarge balconycable carwelcome drinkground floorseafoodhappy hour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,045 - 2,050 of 4,347 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in 5 different hotels during our Malaysia trip and this was by far the best one! It started with the open lobby, which is very spacious and welcoming. A manager seated us in the lobby with a welcome drink while he fixed the check-in. After we got our key, a friendly staff member drove us and our luggage to our lakeview room in a golfcart. The room was very clean, beautifully decorated and the beds were excellent: very big and not too hard or too soft. Our room also had a seperate bathtub and a balcony big enough to throw a decent BBQ party, but we decided to go for the resort's BBQ buffet instead. The food was delicious! Fresh, loads to choose from and everything we had was well prepared and well flavoured. The same goes for the breakfast buffet, which was equally good. After all the eating you can choose between 2 different swimming pools to burn some calories. Both were nicely designed and very clean. On the check-out day, the manager who helped us check-in asked us what time our flight would leave. Upon hearing the late departure time (10 pm), he gave us a free late check-out and even apologized that we couldn't keep the room until 10 pm! We had a wonderful time here and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Langkawi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonutKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and positive comments!
My team and I are glad to learn that you enjoyed our resort and had a memorable stay. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Langkawi.
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

It is such an amazing facility that I would definitely rate as a 6.
1- The top notch of this resort was actually the swimming pool beside the reception area. It was gigantic, with cold jaccuzzi and a nice well-designed kids pool area. This had a lot of water games, slides, levers, and more importantly the water bucket which splashes water every 2 minutes. Even grownups used to stand under that bucket. My wife enjoyed a batik class, which is taken on the side of the pool for a certain amount of money.
2- The Cba restaurant on the beach is amazing. We spent a night there, and the food was great, the waiters were friendly, and the band was amazing. I can't recall the band's name but they were two ladies and a gentleman, singing fantastic old songs. I notified the restaurant that it was my wife's birthday in short time, yet they were able to cheer her up with a small cake with happy bday wishes written on it and a song.
3- We were unable to reach Langkawi the first night of our reservation, so as a courtesy from the receptionist, we were upgraded to a sea view villa. The villa was amazing and spacious, with a nice bathroom, and two verandas. We liked its design, internally and externally. My daughter was even fond of the water tap and bowl used to clean the sand off our feet that she kept playing with it all day long.

However, I found some areas of improvement:
1- House keeping needed improvement. I don't know whether the villa was too big for them or not, but several housekeeping related issues appeared. For example, we left two empty glasses (that were full of coke) in the living room, next day we found two lizards inside them!! Problem is theses glasses were removed at the next night. We left the room three times, and every time we called the housekeeping to remove these glasses, till they finally removed them at night.
2- WiFi is not strong. Out of 7 nights it was only available for 3 nights. We complained about this, and the reception sent us a cable to hook in instead.
3- The restaurant is big, however we had to stay for long time to wait for a table at breakfast. The breakfast buffet needed improvement as well, as the variety of food is too poor. There are a lot of similar items, and lack of others, for example sausages, you might see them one day, and other days not, etc...
4- the resort is stretched, and the gymnasium is ta one end of it.

These four setbacks however won't ban me from visiting the resort again. As I said, it is a top notch fascinating place.

Room Tip: Choose a room beside the reception area, with a pool view. You will be using the pool more than the beach as it is full of shells. It will be also near cba restaurant, and other activities.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harfash4eveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your constructive review of our resort. I am glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that we are seriously looking into the areas like Housekeeping to improve the guest experience overall.
Again my sincere thanks.
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A beautiful setting and superb location. First impressions were not good we arrived late and were kept waiting some time at check in. Eventually got to our beach view room to be greeted by the very noisy party being held near to our block. We returned to reception to complain and ask to be moved to be told the hotel was full and there was nothing available. We came to Langkawi to relax after a mad few days in Singapore. We we told it was a one off and would not be every night. Our room was in a great position but I'm sure previous guests had smoked within the room not pleasant smelling at all. We were never approached again throughout our stay offering us another room?? Like i said we came here to relax not spend the time in reception complaining. We very sadly arrived during Eid and it felt the whole of the Middle East had arrived in Langkawi at Pelangi beach resort. Our first breakfast experience was dreadful and left me feeling like I needed to move hotels. We continued with our stay hoping it to improve.....No the next day got worse. There was total chaos during breakfast time and staff were very much out of control of the situation. We were disgusted at the state of the dinning area and refused to return for breakfast. We made several attempts to report this to the manager who was never seen during this time at his vey large desk in reception. This left a very bad feeling with us. We continued with our stay as we were able to avoid the hoards at breakfast. generally the staff were friendly and helpful and our room was kept to a reasonable standard of cleanliness. Having bats nesting on the balcony resulted in bat droppings daily.
We ate in the spice restaurant a few times in the evening both the buffet and Al a carte and the food was very good.
The beach was stunning. However my husband made a daily rubbish collection of debris washed ashore over night. Surely this should be done every morning early by staff before guests are greeted with this. We did witness a tractor raking the beach on a few days of our 9 day stay but this was only Done outside the Cba not all along the resort?????
Would I return to this resort? No probably not. A beautiful setting but I feel the staff/management let this resort down. It needs a good shake up and it could become very nearly perfect.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lyn27Ivybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Lyn27Ivybridge!
Thank you for your constructive comments. They help us in improving areas we need to have better service delivery and customer satisfaction. Nevertheless we will improve those areas and hopefully will have the chance to see you again for a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

One of the excellent destination in the world I would love to visit again.
One thing to improve is the leisure center. It is quite old and require more activities for people who stay in the resort and doesn't want ti go out evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mohamed Ayed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for the "Perfect" rating. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We have completely renovated the entire resort, but the Leisure Centre is still to be done. We hope when you visit us again, we can present you with a fresh look there as well and more activities.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at the Pelangi staying in a 'Deluxe Garden View' room. We did have an enjoyable stay with the friendliness and efficiency of the staff being a major positive. Check in and check out was smooth and the golf cart transfer to the room a pleasant treat.

Our stay got off to a rather poor start as we had to change rooms twice, the first time due to an electrical fault and the second due to a smelly room (the previous guests had clearly ignored the non-smoking room policy). We were moved with good grace and it didn't cause a major problem. Once settled, we really enjoyed the comfy beds, big bathroom and nice view across the garden towards the lake. We had the 'family package' which entitled us to use of the Club Lounge - this meant avoiding the queues at breakfast, fruit, snacks and drinks throughout the day and a free bar and savoury nibbles in the evening; this was great and provided a really laid back environment in which to relax.

The hotels restaurants food was rather hit and miss as one night I enjoyed a great Beef Rendang and another I was served an inedible lamb masala (just bone and fat). Housekeeping was also inconsistent as on 3 occasions we returned to the room at 5:00ish to find the room in the same state we left it that morning. No major problem, just a little unexpected for such a resort.

The beach is really nice with the 'Cba' being a great place to have a drink and watch the sunset; the only problem is that it was really quiet with just a handful of fellow guests to watch the nightly band. There isn't really much else along the beach beyond the watersports hut apart from a few run down shacks and dilapidated hotels. It's a nice walk along the beach but you have to cut in to the main road to find any restaurants or bars. The guys at the watersports centre were excellent, guiding our son carefully through the process to really enjoy parasailing. The gym is well equipped and a very pleasant environment facing onto the beach. Both pools are stunning with the main Horizon Pool having a superb kids area and jet spa feature. The Cascade Pool has a great waterfall feature and swim up bar with a great burger and beer deal during happy hour.

Apart from the dodgy food and frustrating housekeeping issues, we had a great time and would recommend to others. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask what's available at check in, consult the resort map and identify your preferred spot. Rooms with carpets do hold smells more.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dkz1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear dkz1412!
Thank you for your comments! I am sorry for the few thing we didn't get quite right, but your observations will help us to improve in those areas.
Again, my sincere appreciation and we hopefully will see you back!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews