We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

One of the excellent destination in the world I would love to visit again.
One thing to improve is the leisure center. It is quite old and require more activities for people who stay in the resort and doesn't want ti go out evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed Ayed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the "Perfect" rating. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We have completely renovated the entire resort, but the Leisure Centre is still to be done. We hope when you visit us again, we can present you with a fresh look there as well and more activities.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    1,356
    427
    178
    126
See reviews for
1,244
1,592
86
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at the Pelangi staying in a 'Deluxe Garden View' room. We did have an enjoyable stay with the friendliness and efficiency of the staff being a major positive. Check in and check out was smooth and the golf cart transfer to the room a pleasant treat.

Our stay got off to a rather poor start as we had to change rooms twice, the first time due to an electrical fault and the second due to a smelly room (the previous guests had clearly ignored the non-smoking room policy). We were moved with good grace and it didn't cause a major problem. Once settled, we really enjoyed the comfy beds, big bathroom and nice view across the garden towards the lake. We had the 'family package' which entitled us to use of the Club Lounge - this meant avoiding the queues at breakfast, fruit, snacks and drinks throughout the day and a free bar and savoury nibbles in the evening; this was great and provided a really laid back environment in which to relax.

The hotels restaurants food was rather hit and miss as one night I enjoyed a great Beef Rendang and another I was served an inedible lamb masala (just bone and fat). Housekeeping was also inconsistent as on 3 occasions we returned to the room at 5:00ish to find the room in the same state we left it that morning. No major problem, just a little unexpected for such a resort.

The beach is really nice with the 'Cba' being a great place to have a drink and watch the sunset; the only problem is that it was really quiet with just a handful of fellow guests to watch the nightly band. There isn't really much else along the beach beyond the watersports hut apart from a few run down shacks and dilapidated hotels. It's a nice walk along the beach but you have to cut in to the main road to find any restaurants or bars. The guys at the watersports centre were excellent, guiding our son carefully through the process to really enjoy parasailing. The gym is well equipped and a very pleasant environment facing onto the beach. Both pools are stunning with the main Horizon Pool having a superb kids area and jet spa feature. The Cascade Pool has a great waterfall feature and swim up bar with a great burger and beer deal during happy hour.

Apart from the dodgy food and frustrating housekeeping issues, we had a great time and would recommend to others. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask what's available at check in, consult the resort map and identify your preferred spot. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkz1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear dkz1412!
Thank you for your comments! I am sorry for the few thing we didn't get quite right, but your observations will help us to improve in those areas.
Again, my sincere appreciation and we hopefully will see you back!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during my bday last week and we were truly glad we chose Meritus Langkawi for our vacation. From the start where I got down from the car with my baby in hand, we were given great service...a cold welcome drink was given immediately at the beautiful open lobby...and we were driven to our room in a buggy...and as my request, we were given room on the ground floor (ours was a chalet with only one floor...awesome)..there was a bday cake and bouquet (ordered by my husband) waiting for us in the room ;). ..the walk in wardrobe and bath was really spacious....Our package included a free dinner buffet for 2....andf the food was really great, including the buffet bfast which had a variety of food, catering for all....
Overall, a wonderful stay and we will not hesitate to go back again ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
A belated Happy Birthday from me as well!
I am happy to hear that your stay went without a glitch.... and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort.
Please do not hesitate to visit us again in the not-too-distant future.
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for 9 nights in October with my husband and two daughters (9years and 5years). We had a rough start admittedly with horrendous noise coming from the CBA Bar for the first two nights. This calmed down though and apparently happens once per month for the full moon party. I did complain and management came to our room to personally apologise which was appreciated. Something to be aware of though if you have one of the rooms near CBA Bar - check if the full moon party is on and dont expect sleep that night.

Other than that we had a great stay. We stayed in a Beach Front Room and I highly recommend these if you can afford the upgrade. The view from the balcony is lovely and the sea breeze is very much appreciated in the afternoons.

My children had a ball playing in the pools and the mini water park. There were lots of other kids around but if you wanted to escape the family scene, there were ample chairs lining the beach and another quieter pool down the other end of the resort. Kids also enjoyed the batik painting, hennae tattoos, kite flying activities. Kids club was a bit of a non-event and we only used it out of desperation a couple of times for short periods.

The room was very clean but not as big as we expected. Got very cramped once we added two rollaway beds for the kids. The bats were a little annoying as well. They were roosting in the eves of our balcony so they squawked and scratched around at night. They are not harmful at all though and very small.

Breakfast was ok. Plenty on offer but the same everyday. Food in general at the resort restaurants was tasty and reasonably priced. We mainly ate at the CBA Bar but also left the resort for dinner quite a few times. There are some great restaurants just down the road and it is a lovely walk along the beach to dinner.

The spa was not good (had a massage and a pedicure). Very expensive and the treatments not great. Much better service and price in the spa's on the main road.

Staff in general left me a bit cold to be honest. No-one seemed in a hurry to serve you and they were not as warm and friendly as I expected. We had just come from a week at Tanjung Rhu though and the staff there are exceptional so they had high standards to live up to.

We enjoyed our time here but I am not sure I would rush back to this resort. We much preferred Tanjung Rhu which was exceptional in every way.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Big resort so ask to see the map when you check in. Your room may be a long way from facilities. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ren1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the noise from the beach -bar, which we have managed to lessen for future parties.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and have shared your comments with my team for improvement in service-delivery and friendliness.
Thanks again!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The resort is on a lovely beach and the property is nice with clean spacious rooms. Great spread for breakfast and very nice pool as well.
The service was underwhelming, they seemed ill prepared to cope with the holiday crowd. It's a major attraction for middle eastern tourists during the Id holidays. Long waits to check in, service was not prompt and the beach was not clean enough. To demonstrate this, my kids and I spent half an hour one morning collecting debris from the beach and ended up with two bags full of garbage which we showed to the manager.
Also, there seemed to be a lot of jellyfish in the waters around. My niece got stung and so did another hotel guest which prompted us to stay out of the water.
As a responsible tourist I would avoid the mangrove boat trips which include feeding eagles and a bat cave. Tourist traps and all they do is pollute the beautiful mangroves and interfere with nature.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skewedeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear skewedeye!
Thank you so much for the constructive review of our resort. The staffing issue we had due to the holidays has been rectified and should not be a concern any longer. Although we groom the beach daily - and so does the council - every new tide is bringing in rubbish.
The next time you come to Langkawi, and hopefully stay with us again, I recommend the Mangrove tour by kayaks, an eco-friendly way to see this unique environment.
Sincerely,
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesaieed, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

every thing was amazing except some ants and cockroaches inside the room !
the service was perfect, and the beach was wonderful and quiet..

The food was good, and room decoration was nice .

There are bats flying at night :) but they don't harm [don't worry]
No monkeys inside the resort, but you can find some frogs :)

the resort is near to the airport [about 5 mins] , but it is far from city center. there are a shopping area near to it, no need to go to city center.

Anyway, I want to go there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear mhaHasan!
I appreciate your positive review of our resort. The bats you mention keep the insect-population in manageable numbers, however we also do regular pest control.
We hope you will come back to the Meritus Pelangi soon!
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just returned from a 8 night stay at this lovely hotel. The hotel is at the very end of the resort which for us was a blessing as we did not care for the resort itself. The resort has a gorgeous beach but unfortunately it is littered with water sports, however, at the end of the resort you reach this hotel and for us personally it made all of the difference. There is little need to venture out of the hotel should you not wish to. We were in room 3801 which is a beachfront room and I had read about the bats in some upstairs room so they kindly put me downstairs! The room was lovely, very large and very comfortable. The main pool is very large and at this time of year there was ample space for everyone! (I did complain about people being allowed to swim in normal outdoor clothing - trousers, shirts etc....the hotel did say they had tried to address this before but still allowed it!!) The food was generally very good and we had some lovely meals, the management do need to address the service (forgetting drinks, not setting tables etc...) as in all honesty it wasn't great. The staff though were the most friendly I have come across, always smiling and trying to help, they are a credit to the hotel!
We would return to this hotel again without a doubt!
Well done!!!!

Room Tip: If you're booking a beachfront room, book one in the quieter side of the hotel as that has the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madaboutbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear madaboutbeaches!
I am glad to learn that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay at our resort. I am sharing all reviews with our staff, so they are proud to be of service to our guests. We are working on the service issues you mentioned and that should improve our guests' experience.
Thanks again!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing