We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meritus Pelangi Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meritus Pelangi Beach”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family spent 7 wonderful days at this beautiful paradise hotel and we truly enjoyed our stay there. Overall everything in this hotel is satisfying and we must in particular say Syabas to Abdul Jamil Ahmad and his staff who made our daily breakfast at spice market restaurant truly fantastic. His service was superb and very accommodating to our every need. I truly recommend a great escapade here. Cheers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrenKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are very happy indeed that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with Jamil and his team who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We appreciate your kind gesture to recommend us and naturally look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,818
    1,356
    427
    178
    126
See reviews for
1,244
1,593
86
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
alain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had stayed 4D/3N , it was raining and Sunny Together. Resort is 10 minute Drive from Langkawi Airport, easily accessible and free parking were available. Reception is neatly designed with high ceiling fans and lobby, buggy cars pick you from reception to rooms. Rooms are very clean , no smell or mud on the wooden Floors. Excellent Housekeeping. Towels and clothes left loosely on the room were folded, replaced . Our Room is garden terrace , still our balcony had a partial sea view. Complimentary Tea/Coffee were stored and free water bottles provided and even anytime on request. Whatever requested with Housekeeping were taken care promptly. Kids and Adults pool were regularly monitored by guards and kept clean. Kids pool comes with lots of fun and enjoyment. I really liked that. Room for Improvement is safety in Parking Slot ( there is a hoarding mentioned, no safety provided for parked cars) and Improved breakfast menu ( During my 4 day stay , same menu and dishes at same place)

Room Tip: Choose rooms in Chalet 7 and 8 ( especially rooms 805,806,807,808 ) they are garden terrace but have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that overall stay experience had been positive.

I have also shared the few points you made with my team for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I spent 10 days at the resort following an Internet booking made with an inclusive MICE package. This was to include all meals and minibar soft drinks. On arrival it took some time to clarify the package inclusions and the staff and duty manager were unprepared for the package. We were then told that all was OK but during our stay we were constantly explaining or justifying our package inclusions. Many trips to the reception and duty manager occurred as we had to get them to re-credit incorrect charges. On a good note, the in-room TV has a feature that you can check your on-going room charges. In the end it all sorted out but there was a level of frustration when we planned to have an inclusive stress free stay.
If you are a plane spotter you will also enjoy this resort as the Langkawi airport is quite close. All aircraft seem to take off and turn left over the resort. They were not too frequent but often enough. The last flight was about 9:30pm.
The resort is spread over a large area with plenty of two story buildings which are amongst well maintained gardens. The beach has a lot of shells that are hard on your feet and the water isn't pristine. The pools are nice and we spent many days just sitting under the shade enjoying the days.
There is a gym but it lacks some weights and could do with some work.
In general it was a nice place to stay but I am not sure we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a "Pond side" room next to the fountain pump and drain. The water would flush throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and giving us your constructive feedback.

I sincerely apologize for the service issues with Front Desk during your stay and had since discussed with the team on the matter. We would like to reassure you that this is not a true and intended reflection of our normal standards.

We are already in the process of getting the weights to complement the existing Gym facilities.

Again, my sincere apologies for the service shortcomings encountered and we hope to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The good news - I found this property irresistible because of the fantastic beach almost all around the property with some fabulous sunsets. And it is almost next to the airport, making travel a breeze. The rooms are a bit tired, but extremely spacious and noiseless.

The downsides - Staff were a bit grumpy (with two notable exceptions, both in the beach bar) but this may be because it was Ramadan season. It is more of a family resort, with amenities for kids ... and this may make it a bit troublesome for couples looking for some quiet. We also felt that the hotel was cost-cutting when it came to amenities inside the room (just two sachets of creamer which did not get replaced, two small bottles of water, scrimping on the soap ...)

All in all, another average beach resort that has so much potential to be excellent.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the beach facing villas furthest away from the reception area for some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sub_maya_hai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback.

We would like to reassure you that any service shortcomings are taken seriously as we pride ourselves on providing the best customer service possible.

Your other point on the room amenities had been communicated to the Executive Housekeeper to address the matters.

Our most sincere apologies for the shortcomings and we welcome another opportunity to serve you with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Meritus in July 2013. We get a small industry discount at some hotels, so we chose this place as a treat. The lobby, pool and grounds are amazing, although we were a little disappointed with some aspects of our stay (mostly the start of our stay which is outlined below - such a shame because first impressions are generally lasting):

When we arrived we were greeted by the lovely (and when I say lovely - I mean really really lovely) Hani who checked us in. We were whisked off to our room in the golf cart (very nice driver) but alas when we arrived the power in the room was out. No problem... our driver quickly phoned reception and we headed back to reception to get a new key for our new room.
We get to the new room and great it has power! But it has twin beds instead of a double bed. This is something we could've lived with but it's not really what we had in mind. So we had to change again. Back to reception. New key, new room. When we arrived at room #3 - same problem; twin beds! So we head back to reception again. I was feeling pretty embarrassed/ bothersome by this point however in hindsight I really think it's fair to expect to get the type of room you booked.

Our 4th room luckily had a double bed but when we walked in the room stank of cigarettes (people had clearly smoked in the room) but we were so hot and hungry by now (3pm) we were happy to be able to put our things down! We really aren't the type to complain, but after about 5 minutes in the room the smell was really getting to us (neither of us smoke so it was quite uncomfortable) so we decided on our way out to lunch we'd stop by reception and ask if we could move again. That would be our 5th room. Hani at reception was so understanding and nice about the whole situation and sorted out a new room for us then and there (just wished she'd done this for us first time round!). She also organised for someone to move our new bags to the room while we went out to grab some food (we were very hungry by this point).

The 5th room was great; no smell (had wooden floor instead of carpets - for the record it's room 3601 if you can request it!!), working air con and double bed. I was so happy although the only thing is I did think that perhaps the hotel should have given some token apology (i.e. a meal at the restaurant?)... I mean Hani was really apologetic and nice but we'd spent about 1.5 hour trying to get everything sorted and it was definitely the lowest point of my holiday. But at least we had a room we were happy with in the end :)

Also we booked (and did end up in) a "Lake View" room - but I don't think it's worth it, the "lake" is more of a stagnant pool of old water (think mosquitos), it's not very picturesque.

The only other thing was we also had a big cockroach in our room one morning (approx. 4-5cm) in the bathroom. Not sure where it came from exactly (how it got in) but we had some trouble capturing it and disposing of it so we ended up managing to hose it down the shower drain. It wasn't a big deal but just so you know it can happen. They have a note in the room from the resort about local fauna and flora (i.e. lizards) getting into your room and you can just phone house-keeping to come and sort them out I think... but there wasn't mention of cockroaches..

My favourite points about the resort are;
- Beach is lovely
- Close to the airport
- Staff are fantastic and friendly
- The pools were awesome
- Hani at reception
- Breakfast wasn't bad (I liked going early as it wasn't so crowded as say 9am)

At the end of the day these reviews are all a personal thing - and everyone has different experiences, but on our 3 week trip through SE Asia Meritus was unfortunately our least favourite accommodation choice. I think if it was cheaper/ budget or mid-range I'd expect some issues (i.e. as above) but for a five-star resort it doesn't leave a very good impression.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "Lake View" rooms - the Lake isn't very nice at all and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathybann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for providing us with the constructive feedback regarding your stay.

My sincere apologies for the distressing experience with rooms upon check-in and the concerns highlighted will be reviewed with the Front Desk team for improvement.

During your stay, we had some circulation issue as the fountain pump for the lake was damaged but it had since been repaired and is working now.

We deeply regret to have fallen short of your expectations and welcome another opportunity to serve you with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Im am leaving meritus tomorrow after spending 6 night here with a group of 10 friends. The staff are very helpful, the junior suite is just heaven, the beautiful lady that cleans our room is delightful. The staff all over this place are jus wonderful. The food is fantastic. The chef came and introduced himself personally and the Food and Beverage Manager even picks up after guests.
We will return to this place without a doubt. oh and don't forget the swim up bar has happy hour in the afternoons.

Room Tip: Don't go past the suites, separate bedroom to living area large bath tub big bathroom, if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many sincere thanks for the positive feedback on your stay here.

We will most certainly share your gracious compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Naturally, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

From the moment you enter the resort you're given absolute comfort as you are seated on couches and given free cold punch (Which is great in the hot weather!). We booked the poolside room and were in front of the Cascade pool which was great, as it was less crowded and had a poolside bar.

The staff we encountered were all very helpful and friendly, especially Ismail, who insisted on carrying all our heavy bags for us. The poolside rooms were very spacious and convenient for us, as we ventured into the pool and back often, ordering food, etc. The bathrooms were clean and very comfortable to take a long bath in! The floors were perfect as the shower area was kept completely separate from the rest of the bathroom, keeping the standard floor dry.

The food was a mixed bag. The barbecue buffet was fantastic and I was extremely tempted to come back the next day and have it again! CBA, while having good food and drink, was much too pricey for our liking. The breakfast was a fairly standard, though decent, affair at a good hotel.

There were a few problems though. In the evenings, walking from our room to the lobby/restaurant feels a bit dodgy, as it is very dark. The walkway could do with having more lighting in make patrons feel more comfortable. The mini-golf course, while fun, could have done with some maintenance and upgrading, and we were told that the archery area was not open. Also, the 'lake' was apparently having problems with the pumps, as it was just a still pool of murky water, which is nought but a breeding ground for mosquitoes and an eyesore. We were lucky to have picked the poolside room instead.

Overall, this is a great hotel where the staff and facilities make you feel like you're living in luxury. Perhaps they are even addressing some of the issues at this very moment as I noticed many crews around doing refurbishment work. I definitely look forward to coming back here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdezilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

We will most certainly share your gracious compliments with all our associates including Ismail who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Your suggested recommendations towards enhancing our guests stay experience have been fully noted.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing