We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just got back from a week at this resort, it is absolutely beautiful, the food was lovely at both restaurants, the breakfast buffet is huge, we dined in for lunch and dinner at both restaurants and found them to be very reasonably priced, compared to Australian prices. The main pool are had been recently renovated, very nice. Not crowded, as it was on the beachfront you could always find a sun lounge near the pool or on the beach. All staff we encountered were extremely friendly, especially the porter who collected our luggage on departure. The resort is only a couple of minutes walk from many lovely restaurants and shops. If you want to go to other parts of the island, shopping or tours it was usually only AU$7. Cable Car not to missed and an Island Hopping Tour...watch out for the monkeys on the island...they stole our chips :)...No complaints at all. This hotel would suit family, friends and couples.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms the best as its only a metres to the beach, we stayed right next to CBA restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and we are indeed very happy to learn of your positive stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,002 - 2,008 of 4,143 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

The new waterpark for kids is awesome - especially for 2 - 7yr olds. The main pool area is also good. However, there were some significant issues.
Firstly, when we arrived at 9pm, we were told that we were in two rooms next to one another, rather than connecting rooms. The hotel claimed we hadn't asked for connecting rooms, until I showed them the request. They were really very, very unhelpful. It took about 1/2hr for them to find connecting rooms. They eventually moved us to connecting sea-view rooms, but it was a very bad start to our holiday.
Breakfast was ok. There was a large range, but the quality was poor. The only reasonable thing was the eggs. The omelettes were quite good but the small goods sections with ham, cheese etc sat sweating in an unairconditioned room for hours....
The biggest problem was the kids club was simply awful! Between us my husband and I took our kids 4 times and at no stage was there ever a staff member in there (apart from someone charging their phone...) It was absolutely filthy (think old urine and dead bugs on the floor of the bathroom and a toilet that wasn't cleaned during our week-long stay) The floor in the main room of the kids club had built up grime. The toys are old, often broken and definitely tired. There were holes in the floor with lino over the tops. The whole things was definitely unsafe. On our second last day I brought the situation the attention of the one of the duty managers who had the grace to be embarrassed. When we checked out the manager saw us an apologised and took 20% off our bill, which was nice of him. Apparently he has only been there a couple of weeks so things may improve but why wasn't something done about it as soon as he arrived?? Surely he toured the whole property and would have seen the kids club.
It's a shame because the location of the property is great and in Langkawi there are limited options for small children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eachschoolholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and giving us your constructive feedback.

I apologize sincerely for the substandard service you encountered.

We have discussed the points you raised with all concerned and have started to make appropriate changes.

The Kid’s Club is going to be entirely renovated very soon, but we have rectified the problems you pointed out immediately.

Again, my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the not-too-distant future and to experience the service standards you can expect from a Meritus Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The infrastructure and service at this hotel are very good. The rooms are clean, the grounds are well-maintained, the staff are helpful, and they do their best to deal with hiccups that occur along the way. While we were there the rainy season started, and on the first night the roof leaked in our room and water poured all over the bed - the staff immediately moved us to another room in the morning. Then the pool pump stopped working and the pool was closed for a day and a half. And then the water supply on that part of the island stopped working so we had no proper toilet or shower facilities for the last 24 hours. In spite of these things, we enjoyed our stay. But the communication from hotel management around these issues was abysmally poor and left guests with little or no idea of what was happening, and when we could expect things to be fixed ( for example in the case of the pool repairs, it seemed most curious that these could only be carried out in the daytime, when in fact they should have been done at night when the pool is closed).

The big caveat beyond these small issues is that guests should be aware that Meritus have recently decided to begin charging for use of leisure facilities advertised on the hotel website. And the proposed fees (e.g. 50 ringit - GBP 10 for an hour of squash) are quite expensive, particularly given that this is already not a cheap hotel compared to others in the area. What seems to be happening is that the hotel is now trying to make the leisure facilities generate additional revenue over and above the accommodation paid for. As a guest this actually means that the facilities on offer are much more limited than they first appear to be, unless you want your holiday to cost you a whole lot more (quite annoying if you've already chosen to stay at one of the more expensive hotels in the area because of the facilities it appears to offer). This seems to be a very short-sighted decision on the part of management, but when I spoke to the hotel manager Thomas about this, he was incredibly uncompromising about this decision and did not understand my point that charging extra for facilities means that actually those facilities are not really available to hotel guests, and that this becomes a slippery slope - eventually guests could be asked to pay a deck-chair hire fee and a towel fee if the leisure center is obliged to increase its revenue and profitability each year.

The owners of this hotel need to step in and put this right - the hotel can be great because of the leisure facilities it offers, but if these become un-used because of the high fees associated with them, then very quickly there will be very little to make this a special hotel, even though it has the potential to be the best in the area. The general manager at the hotel has a terrible attitude, and perhaps he is a profit-maximizer for the hotel, but a high-class hotel needs to have someone who is a people-person with a hospitality mind-set as its general manager - someone who can make holistic rather than accounting decisions (and I say this as an accountant and auditor myself).

One other minor note for international guests: this hotel like many in the area is very popular with Saudi guests because it is a halaal catering hotel. This does mean that alcohol at the hotel is relatively expensive, and that the "ladies cocktail" promotion by the CBA bar consists of a rather unappetising beverage that is very unlikely to entice further customers. It might be helpful if the bar manager were a person who actually drinks alcohol and understands what non-muslim customers might want, in order to create promotions that encourage more customers to come and use the bar.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool-view rooms if you wish to have peace and quiet during the day. On the other hand, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duncantrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and giving us your constructive feedback.

I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered – unfortunately the water issue was completely out of our hands as we were told that the water would be delivered “very soon today”. Only when we realized that water supply wouldn’t be restored as promised, did I issue the guest-letter to all rooms.

We also had a signboard in the lobby advising guests of the situation.

We are reviewing the pricing of our leisure facilities to keep them in line with similar establishments on the island.

Thank you again for your feedback as it helps us to improve our guest services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel was highly recommended to us through Trip Advisor but unfortunately our experience was dreadful. Yes there was a water problem but the lack of accurate information made a bad situation a whole lot worse. On check in we were informed we had been given a room upgrade. Happy days, or so we thought. We were kept waiting to get to our room for over an hour due to last minute cleaning issues. The room must have fallen off of the hotel radar as it wasn't cleaned until finally we got to speak to the GM on day 3 and demanded that someone clean the room. Until that point we were forced to use buckets of water taken from the pool or the swamp (Lake view was not my description) at the back of the room to flush our toilet. We were told the whole island was affected but on talking to others outside of our hotel this was not the case and we could have changed hotels. Finally just as we were checking out water came back to the room but too late for us and just as highly as the hotel came recommended to us, we would more strongly suggest another option which is a real shame. Great location, great views, reasonable amenities but in need of staff training to enable us to consider returning here. Felt sorry for the GM who appeared to have been badly let down by his staff. Could be wrong but he appeared to be the only one concerned for our young families welfare.

Room Tip: Ask for one with running water. Refuse an "upgrade". Make sure it stays on the cleaning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and giving us your constructive feedback.

I sincerely apologize for the problems you and other guests encountered – unfortunately the water issue was completely out of our hands as we were told that the water would be delivered “very soon today”. Only when we realized that water supply wouldn’t be restored as promised, did I issue the guest-letter to all rooms.

I also apologize for the service issues you encountered. We have discussed these with all concerned and a thorough re-training is presently underway.

I hope to be able to welcome you again in the future to see the overall improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our second stay at the Pelangi our first 4 years ago was a wonderful experience unfortunately the same could not be said for out second stay.
We notified the hotel a week before our arrival to request a cot for our room and to advise we would be arriving at night. On our arrival the cot was not in our our room and it took over 40 minutes to get to our room only a small detail but pain full with a 9 month old tired baby.
The room was booked with free mini bar of water and soft drink which was only replenished 5 times in our 8 night stay the other 3 days we had to call for it to be refilled.

The real probems began with a letter that the pool will be closed till the middle afternoon as it required repairs which was fine as the pool had been green for the past 3 days. Unfortunatly that was the only correspondance from the hotel and the pool was actually closed for 2 days with no word from management. The situation was made worse by the fact the hotels second pool was closed for renovations but was due too open before our arrival but once again the was no info prior to check in the cascade pool had not re opened.

The worst problem was the island suffered a water shut down and the was no water supply on the island this cause a big issue as you could imagine with toilets not flushing. The whole time the problem occurred which was just over 2 days there was no sign of hotel senior management or any information given by the hotel about the situation or updates on when the water was going back on.
The hotel provide no additional water unless you called house keeping to deliver it which as you could imagine took awhile as they were run off there feet.

The Pelangi could still be a great hotel and i feel for the staff that were left to handle the situation with out the proper assistance from senior hotel staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceptaMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your repeat visit and your feedback in regards to your stay.

I appreciate you bringing up the issue with our pool closing and the water supply shortage. I apologize sincerely personally and on behalf of our resort.

The service issues you encountered have been addressed and should not recur.

Again, my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall we had an excellent stay at Meritus Pelangi. The location was fantastic, with a beautiful beach just out the front. There was a feeling of privacy, although the town was only a few minutes' walk down the road, where we ate most of our main meals. I would also recommend the laundry services in the township; only MR4 per kilo, rather than the prices charged by the resort! The hotel's buffet breakfast selection was excellent, with a wide range of options. We had one meal at the C.Ba, which is a great spot. The resort's pool was fantastic and one of the main attractions, although unfortunately it was closed for a couple of days while we were staying. I concur with a previous reviewer about poor communication while there was a water outage at Langkawi. The failure was not the resort's fault but we had to keep asking for updates about the situation. I'm glad I had brought some hand sanitiser with me. Fortunately, water at our unit was restored after 24 hours, but we only received the appropriate "Memo" at this point in time! I would still recommend Meritus to anyone travelling to Langkawi.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LittleLainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks for your kind feedback and the positive review you provided. I have shared those points with my team for further improvements.

My apologies for the poor communication in regards to the water issue, but we were kept promising to have water back “very soon today”.

Again, my sincere regrets on this issue.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were reccomended Pelangi by our travel agent and overall we had a great stay at this large hotel. The rooms and grounds are very well maintained and clean and once the cascade pool is open there will be plenty of space for everyone to enjoy the outdoors. The food in room service, by the pool ( cBA) and breakfast was surprisingly good with a wide choice of western and eastern options. Staff overall were friendly and helpful. Location is great ! The only negative was the lack of communication from management regarding the shut down of services ( pool was closed and water was turned off due to heavy flooding prior to our arrival) . These problems were due to natural causes and the hotel was not to blame however the first Memo to explain the situation came much too late. I would like to see the hotel use the Memo function on the TV and regular notes under the door for important matters concerning guests and their stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovetoreviewthingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback and positive review provided.

My apologies for the poor communication regarding the pool closure and water issue, but we were kept promising to have water back “very soon today”. Only when we realized that water supply wouldn’t be restored as promised, did I issue the guest-letter to all rooms.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,266 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $188 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing