We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holidays thanks to the resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pelangi meritus is a huge and beautiful resort. We’ve spend 3 days in the resort with my wife and 2 children. Everything is great there. The staff is so friendly, and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and very spacious (huge bathroom also). We had a great time with my two children in the swimming pool wich provides lots of facilities for kids! The breakfast is also very good with a large choice of malay and western food every day. Thanks to the resort we had a great stay in Langkawi. We will definitely come back next time. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasyaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words, which made everyone of us extremely happy to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from our guests as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations

We certainly appreciate your kind gesture to recommend us and naturally, look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,103 - 2,109 of 4,244 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was a single female traveler and greeted late at night by the friendliest front desk attendants at the Meritus. SOOOOO happy to have selected this resort. I told the reservationist that it was my birthday (confirmed by my Passport) and she gave me an upgraded oceanfront room! The renovated bathroom was great. It was a great way to celebrate my birthday 2013!!! Enjoyed walking the beach just outside my door. The buffet brunch was fantastic, don't listen to the naysayers! There is something for everyone. Loved the huge lizards on the property. Negatives were that the concierge booking activity took a little bit warming up to help me. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Read the reviews and choose wisely based on your needs!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. Loved the 2nd floor with balcony overlooking ocean. Get an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauiFreshChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are indeed gratified to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will most certainly share your gracious compliments with all our Front Desk associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Your comments on Concierge service had been communicated to the Front Office Manager for improvement and bettering our guest’s experience.

We certainly appreciate your kind gesture to recommend us and naturally, look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a beautiful resort. The staff were friendly and willing to help on arrival. The bellboy drove us to our room in the golf cart but didn't help us with carrying the bags up the stairs.
The room was nice, clean and spacious with a nice view of the gardens. The room did smell a bit smokey though. Also at night there was a sound of bats at our window which was a bit nerve wracking. The pool was amazing, and the beach at the rear of the resort was very nice. Be sure to visit the C.Ba restaraunt at the rear of the resort, it was simply stunning.
Highly recommended if you are staying in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralphmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

We do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with service and your point will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My partner and I first stayed here in May 2011, we recently went back for 2 nights on a last-minute getaway to Langkawi. Since our previous stay the resort has undergone significant renovations - the bathrooms have vastly improved in the rooms (love the rain shower) and the bar/restaurant next to the beach (Cba) has been renovated beautifully - perfect for a lazy lunch or drinks as the sun goes down.

I was a bit sad to see the swim-up pool bar had gone as part of the renovations, though families with children will be pleased as the new landscaping has a whole section with a water slide and other splashy things kids will enjoy for hours while the adults can relax in the jacuzzi or the beautiful pool.

Free wifi throughout the resort (which I don't remember from last time) and the signal was great, really handy as even if you are with a Malaysian phone carrier it can be patchy once you get out to Langkawi island.

Food:

Breakfast was included in our rate - the buffet was decent but the same both mornings so I expect you might get a bit tired of it if you are staying for a week. Still, plenty of choice to keep most people happy.
My partner and I raved about the BBQ seafood buffet last time we stayed but following the renovations, it seems Cba (the restaurant next to the beach) no longer does it, and the BBQ buffet offered at the main restaurant didn't feature as much seafood so we gave it a miss this time. Plenty of seafood places if you walk up along Pantai Cenang anyway.
We ate at Cba a couple of times just for convenience. For a resort the prices are pretty reasonable and the food quality is good. You can also get decent wine at low prices by the glass, a rarity in this part of the world! Much cheaper if you go to the duty free outlets and stock up on your own though.

I have to say the staff at the resort are lovely, always friendly and helpful with a smile to greet you whenever you cross paths. The resort was kind enough to give us complimentary late check out until 3pm as our flights were later in the day, which I am grateful for.

Overall, Meritus Pelangi more than ticks all the boxes for a lovely resort getaway for couples or families and is in a great location at one end of Pantai Cenang beach, easy walking access to shops and restaurants. There are more luxurious resorts elsewhere on the island but having stayed here twice now, I think Meritus Pelangi is a reliable choice without the hefty price tag that some others at the top end charge.

Room Tip: We stayed in 611 which had a fairly average 'garden' view but was close to the pool/lobby/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budge185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Many sincere thanks for providing us with your valued feedback on your return stay.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Your points on the breakfast and BBQ had been communicated to the Executive Chef for improvement and bettering our guest’s experience.

We shall look forward to your continuous support and many more return visits from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our friend in Malaysia recommended and mad dour arrangements to stay here ... Initially for only three nights which after spending just two days and one night we promptly extended it to 8 nights! Had we not had other plans already in place we would probably have stayed even longer. The location is ideal ... With just a short walk up the beach to shopping, cafes and restaurants and cheap cab fare to most other places of interest including the cable car, waterfalls and Kuah town. Staff were incredibly polite, friendly and helpful ... Everyone smiles and says hello from the people working in reception through to the gardening and maintenance staff. On the second morning the breakfast staff in the restaurant new exactly what type of tea we preferred to how we like our eggs cooked.
The rooms ... We upgraded to a sea view chalet which was just beautiful and looked out to the resorts private strip of beach which was cleaned daily while we were there. I did hear a couple of other guests complaining of some rubbish that was washed up on the beach overnight after a very large storm and high tide but that was quickly cleaned up.
If we get the chance to return to Langkawi we would nit hesitate to stay here once again .... Thanks to everyone there who helped make this a trip to remember.

Room Tip: Although we didn't see any other rooms the sea view chalets were well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are indeed delighted to learn of your positive stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate all our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had 6 days at the Meritus Pelangi and it was very peaceful and relaxing. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the service was excellent. The Meritus Club lounge was first rate and a great little bolt hole on an hot and humid afternoon with its cool temperature, ice cool drinks, and snacks.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and we are indeed very happy to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We shall look forward very much to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Before I went to Langkawi, I was kinda skeptical about hotels. So me and my friend hired a car as soon as we got off the ferry in Langkawi. We saw couple of hotels and wanted a nice hotel with good location. After driving around for a bit we decided it has to be Pantai Cenang area as its the heart of the tourist area and hip and happening place considering its Langkawi,( which is a very laid back destination in general).

We were not impressed by the hotels that we saw as the nice ones were secluded and away from the tourist buzz and lacked nice shops, food and other joints nearby. the ones which we saw in the internet was not nice at all. it lacked the seaside resort environment and felt more like business hotels. So we decided to go for a hotel which was 10 minutes drive away from the main tourist area. on our way at the last end of the strip we saw this grand gate and entry of this hotel. We thought it was a bit out of our league as we wanted to stick to $150 a night hotel max!! Just out of curiosity we went to see the rooms even before we could reach our rooms after crossing the pool area we decided to book here.

The entry , lobby, staff, service, rooms were amazing. We went for the lowest category which cost us less than $200 A night as it was on promotion. I am trying really hard to find any flaws, but its just too perfect.

When you are in the hotel you never feel like you are in such a crowded place. But all the main attraction is but a minute away. the hotel has a very open feel about it from my breakfast table I could see the nice kids pool, a beautiful landscaped pool, green coconut tree lines, white sandy beach, greenish blue ocean, green mountain ranges and clouds touching them AT THE SAME time. This to me was amazing. the rooms are aligned within 51 two storied wooden chalet each consisting 4 to eight rooms. with big rooms and huge balcony from where you can see the same view as the breakfast table. The gym is all glass and located just in sea-front . The eco-friendly environment is amazing with all modern amenities. The rooms are spacious and has a small garden in front of every garden. we stayed on the first floor and the looking at the big wooden ceiling with an antique fan makes you really relax. as soon as you open the big two door balcony, it becomes the part of the room and makes it look even bigger with the view of the sea and mountains and islands. Only negative point I may say is that the buffet breakfast could be improved a little.

Its really hard to believe unless you go and stay there. Most big budget resorts in Langkawi are in secluded areas and quite a drive away considering its a relatively small island. I thing for the main tourist area, This is the best Hotel. I am in love with this place and will come back again and again.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room on the left side from the pool. make sure its on the ground floor so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mithun255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your appreciative words, which make all of us extremely happy to learn of your positive stay experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from our guests as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations

Your point on the breakfast has been noted and will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,393 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 108 in Langkawi
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $167 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing