We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect moment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

me and my wife was staying in this hotel when spending our vacation in langkawi, the hotel was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly. my wife was love the beach and i like the watersport activities. our vacation wasvery perfect and it was perfect....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamsulanuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are gratified to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,054 - 2,060 of 4,144 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this resort at the last minute after discovering that the Beach Garden had been closed down. It was more than we wanted to spend, even with the 48hr sale promotion, but we are very pleased that we did it. It was worth every cent. We booked a lake view room but when we arrived the room wasn't ready so they upgraded us to a beachfront room. Fantastic! The resort is set in spacious grounds with beautiful gardens and there is a sense of it being uncrowded and quite private. The pool area is gorgeous and a nice respite from the beach. There are plenty of deck chairs along the beach and around the pool. There is a wide variety of breakfast options and the staff were very attentive. The rooms were spotlessly maintained. We did not use the restaurant facilities as we preferred to take the short walk to sample the available restaurants along the Main Street. The resort is at the end of the beach strip but everything is a short walk away. Overall our experience at Pelangi Beach resort was memorable and we would stay here again if we returned to Langkawi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your appreciative words and it makes us extremely happy and needless to say, most proud to receive compliments from satisfied customer as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations.

Naturally, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and two kids for 4 nights. The hotel property is on the Cenang beach very close to the Airport. I loved the location because the beach is beautiful and the hotel is a 10 minute walk to many of the Bars and restaurants. Cenang beach also has water sports activities for the Kids.
This sprawling resort type hotel is quite large and has all the facilities that you can ask for including an awesome pool, squash and tennis facilities and a nice gym facing the beach. we stayed in lanai style room close to the pool. The lobby and the reception areas are quite impressive. What I liked most about this hotel was the SERVICE. The Staff especially the ones at the Breakfast area were friendly and ever smiling. The sheer variety of dishes provided at the breakfast is one of the best I have seen. The drinks especially the single malt whiskeys and Vodkas at the Cba and the lounge bar were real value at around 20 MYR.
One thing I did not fancy at the hotel was the design of the rooms. My rooms (renovated one) had a carpet flooring. I being an architect just cannot understand why the designers opted for a carpet. Langkawi is hot and humid and the hotel is on a beach. I cannot imagine the amount of muck that is under that carpet. Tiled flooring would have been a better choice.
Baring this I will rate my stay as excellent just for the smiling and friendly staff and the great location.

Room Tip: If you have young kids ask for rooms closer to pool/lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karthik73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

Not all our rooms are carpeted, so as to provide guests with an option. Only upstairs rooms are carpeted mainly for reason of reducing noise and muffle sound that can be heard from below.

Any suggestion for improvement is always welcome and will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and it was wonderful. We travelled together with our friends (3 couples) based on my father´s memories 15 years ago when he visited this resort only as a tourist, not for staying there. Our whole staying run very fast, unfortunately. All services were perfect. As my boy friend is a diabetic we asked only for no sugar drinks (cola light + water) for our fridge and it was fulfilled every day automatically. All rooms/chalets were nice, large and comfortable. Breakfast was also excellent. Lots of Beach was clean and nice, everywhere we could used sunbeds and towels. We could spend whole day only at that Resort, we didn´t want to go anywhere, everything was there. Every night we walked around the Resort, it was so romantic. Just go there and feel as we!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonka1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your appreciative words, which make all of us extremely happy to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized.

We naturally look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked a beach bungalow room 1011 which was very large, nicely appointed and clean. The room was facing the large, fine sanded beach which was virtually empty at this time of the year. No bugs, ants, lizards in the room which is difficult in a tropical place like Malaysia.

They have a great pool for kids! With slides, water guns and so forth... Separated from the other large nice pools.

Overall the hotel facilities, rooms and services are very good and I would return for holiday but...

the only draw back was the the beach bar next to our room which was playing live music until midnight full blast. You can hear every tune in your room. The funny thing is that they even play the music super loud if there is only one customer sitting in the bar. I was in the bar a few times and the music is so loud that you can barely talk. This is probably the reason why the bar was empty most of the time.... I would expect the manager of such a hotel to at least put out some guidelines to the staff on how loud the music can be played.
After calling 2 time they usually turned the music down. Still very annoying if you have to call every evening.

Room Tip: Far away from the beach bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oooo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive except for the music from the beach bar.

We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused and will certainly look into the point highlighted for bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just back from an excellent 8 night stay. Refurb work is still on but is well screened and failed to disrupt at any time (spa is currently relocated but we did not use anyway). Delightful set up, great edge of beach location, stunning sunsets and 5 minutes walk into town makes this a base with all you need. Minor issues were addressed immediately with a remarkable desire to please. Our request to change from our initial room allocation (hotel was less than full) was met with a smile and a quick move. Breakfast buffet caters for all tastes and is good quality, evening meals the same (but of course cheaper in town, as is the grog). Room was really clean, sizeable and decently equipped inc free wi-if. Front of house staff were particularly attentive, friendly and helpful, a real asset to the hotel (even offered a complimentary extended check out). Excursion desk was same price as town for the ones we choose and the taxi rank outside the hotel runs at the concierge's beck &call. Ok, there are flights passing over and a couple of sunloungers look tired but go walk on the beach, pick out fabulous shells, sit at the Cba (seabar) to watch the sunsets and enjoy excellent service and radiant smiles.

Room Tip: Pick a beach facing chalet, avoid lakeside as most really to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark n Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are very glad indeed to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate all our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stay here for 3n & 2d with family and my parents. Both room (double and twin) are spacious, very comfy bed although our double bed was 2 single bed attached into 1 huge bed, but we didnt feel any gap. Great breakfast, lots of varieties and selection of local food and continental. They also have this kids pool which is very entertaining for my toddler. Their beach is great also, clean and not so crowded although I've seen more beautiful beach. Their staff are nice, friendly and helpfull. Their car rental also excellent, we got 2010 Suzuki Baleno and its price is same as one in the airport.

The cons during my stay only the housekeeping, we returned at 4 pm and they havent made up our room yet, waited until 4.30 pm and no one came, ended up calling the housekeeping to have our room cleaned. And also when booking we requested for interconnecting room, but were given this facing rooms. After read some of reviews here looks like they dont have interconnecting room.

But overall my stay is pleasant, and i wont hesitate to stay in this resort again in my next visit to Langkawi.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms near the swimming pool, sometimes at night when u trying to rest, there are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meidi_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

We do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with Housekeeping service and also on your request for interconnecting rooms. The points highlighted will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to welcome you and your family back again if your travel ever brings you to Langkawi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,271 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,434 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $187 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing