We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, except the loud music from the hotel bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice, except the loud music from the hotel bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked a beach bungalow room 1011 which was very large, nicely appointed and clean. The room was facing the large, fine sanded beach which was virtually empty at this time of the year. No bugs, ants, lizards in the room which is difficult in a tropical place like Malaysia.

They have a great pool for kids! With slides, water guns and so forth... Separated from the other large nice pools.

Overall the hotel facilities, rooms and services are very good and I would return for holiday but...

the only draw back was the the beach bar next to our room which was playing live music until midnight full blast. You can hear every tune in your room. The funny thing is that they even play the music super loud if there is only one customer sitting in the bar. I was in the bar a few times and the music is so loud that you can barely talk. This is probably the reason why the bar was empty most of the time.... I would expect the manager of such a hotel to at least put out some guidelines to the staff on how loud the music can be played.
After calling 2 time they usually turned the music down. Still very annoying if you have to call every evening.

Room Tip: Far away from the beach bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oooo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive except for the music from the beach bar.

We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused and will certainly look into the point highlighted for bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,777
    1,323
    422
    176
    122
See reviews for
1,213
1,561
83
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just back from an excellent 8 night stay. Refurb work is still on but is well screened and failed to disrupt at any time (spa is currently relocated but we did not use anyway). Delightful set up, great edge of beach location, stunning sunsets and 5 minutes walk into town makes this a base with all you need. Minor issues were addressed immediately with a remarkable desire to please. Our request to change from our initial room allocation (hotel was less than full) was met with a smile and a quick move. Breakfast buffet caters for all tastes and is good quality, evening meals the same (but of course cheaper in town, as is the grog). Room was really clean, sizeable and decently equipped inc free wi-if. Front of house staff were particularly attentive, friendly and helpful, a real asset to the hotel (even offered a complimentary extended check out). Excursion desk was same price as town for the ones we choose and the taxi rank outside the hotel runs at the concierge's beck &call. Ok, there are flights passing over and a couple of sunloungers look tired but go walk on the beach, pick out fabulous shells, sit at the Cba (seabar) to watch the sunsets and enjoy excellent service and radiant smiles.

Room Tip: Pick a beach facing chalet, avoid lakeside as most really to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark n Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are very glad indeed to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate all our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stay here for 3n & 2d with family and my parents. Both room (double and twin) are spacious, very comfy bed although our double bed was 2 single bed attached into 1 huge bed, but we didnt feel any gap. Great breakfast, lots of varieties and selection of local food and continental. They also have this kids pool which is very entertaining for my toddler. Their beach is great also, clean and not so crowded although I've seen more beautiful beach. Their staff are nice, friendly and helpfull. Their car rental also excellent, we got 2010 Suzuki Baleno and its price is same as one in the airport.

The cons during my stay only the housekeeping, we returned at 4 pm and they havent made up our room yet, waited until 4.30 pm and no one came, ended up calling the housekeeping to have our room cleaned. And also when booking we requested for interconnecting room, but were given this facing rooms. After read some of reviews here looks like they dont have interconnecting room.

But overall my stay is pleasant, and i wont hesitate to stay in this resort again in my next visit to Langkawi.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms near the swimming pool, sometimes at night when u trying to rest, there are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meidi_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

We do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with Housekeeping service and also on your request for interconnecting rooms. The points highlighted will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to welcome you and your family back again if your travel ever brings you to Langkawi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My sister and I spent 5 glorious nights at the Meritus Pelangi and loved every minute of our stay. We had a beautiful deluxe garden room with twin beds, and they were so comfortable. The room was great in every way - great shower with strong water pressure, loads of storage and hanging space, huge ground floor terrace, free soft drink/water refilled every day, great a/c, no noise from the other rooms.....and the list goes on. The rooms are placed in small blocks and there is lots of lovely garden areas between each block. The leisure centre has plenty of complimentary bicycles - terrific for riding around the huge resort on their wide pathways. The main pool is WOW! We were there in low season, and there were tons of loungers around the pool and facing the glorious beach. We were originally going to stay at another top rated resort, but a great rate came up for the Meritus, and we NEVER looked back. The Meritus Pelangi is amazing, and the staff are a credit to the resort. They bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. I agree with the previous review - the main foyer is stunning for a drink and to relax with the music - perhaps Happy Hour all night would encourage more people to enjoy the lovely area. Breakfast was fantastic, with seating inside and out. A special thanks to the service of our lovely maid Amira, the delightful staff members, especially Ismail, who has worked there for 22 years, and the general manager, Clementine, for his wealth of knowledge and gracious manner. We cannot wait to return to our lovely resort in Langkawi. 10/10 for everything!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. We stayed in block 10, which was close to the restaurant, leisure centre, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and it is always a great pleasure to receive such positive comments.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates including the room maid who service your room and also bellman Ismail, to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

Your suggested recommendation for the Lobby Lounge has been communicated to the F&B Director for his review.

Together with the team, we shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent nearly 3 weeks here from beginning of April 2013, arrived late at night so really couldn't get a feel for the place straight away.... was in Room 807 to start with, was a great room , very comfortable but on 4th night we found a few bats in the roof rafters and one was flying around room in the night, they obviously found a sneaky way in through roof. Went to reception to report it, they were fantastic about it, moved us straight away to one of the best rooms in hotel ( 701 ) , right on the beach, ground floor, had a fantastic bathroom and balcony with steps onto the beach :).... Breakfast every morning was excellent ( how some people on trip advisor complain about it baffles me, they obviously just like to moan !! ) , great selection, all nicely cooked and have as much as you like !! Coffee or tea always a beckon call away .....
The swimming pool is beautiful, very very well kept. The childrens area is a brilliant thing, lots of adults couldn't resist messing about in there haha.
The grounds are very well tended and all staff on the entire site were friendly and smiley and helpful....
I only have one negative about the hotel:........ the lobby area is excellent, have a band regularly and very spacious BUT its usually empty !!! because of the prices in the hotel !! you can buy a beer in cenang for 4rm, but hotel charges 15rm !! the food is well over priced !! Its a shame, because if it was cheaper, the place would be packed and they'd make a lot more money .. We had 2 days washed out by rain, we asked how much it was to watch a dvd on the great TV's in the room.... 28 ringitts !!!!!!!!!!! TWENTY EIGHT haha..... unbelievable amount !! over £6 ..... if these were ( a lot ) cheaper, lots more people would pay for them.....!!
BUT , overall, it is a fantastic hotel, in a fantastic location, with excellent staff..... you will not be disappointed if you visit here...... 9/10

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing THE BEACH, block 7 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintRance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are indeed gratified to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Your suggested recommendations which are certainly appreciated will be reviewed for improvement.

We certainly look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Decided to go for a short break here recently, the whole place has been refurbished and looks nice. It has this village style villas spread around the beach, check in was smooth and efficient.... The front desk guy was polite and answered every question i posed to him with a smile ( not sure the name but was a chinese guy ) All the staff were very kind and sweet and always serves you with a smile.... We took a pelangi suite room and the room was gorgeous, the living room had a nice big sofa, we had 2 verandas, one from the room and another from the living room.... the bedroom was very comfy and had another big sofa in it..... minibar was complimentary but the snacks inside was quite dire (ie 4 soft drinks, 2 mineral water and a packet of nuts )... There was a welcome fruit basket though....... we spent most of our time in the room and loved its sea view..... Breakfast though, i feel could have been improved with more varieties but i think they cater towards which majority group are residing there.... Some of their food like the nasi lemak was quite bland...... Also tried their room service menu and their pizzas and 5 spices supreme chicken were good..... Overall this is a very nice hotel and i enjoyed every minute there.... and also kudos to your wonderful staff!!!!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are very nice.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are extremely happy to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Your comments on the breakfast have been communicated to the Executive Chef for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

am now here at the resort. giving reviews. =)

the customer service is fab here. not a single sullen face. e buggy service is fantastic. our deluxe beachfront rm is near e lobby, e breakfast restaurant, e pool, e playground... so we are always walking about but tt didnt stop e buggy drivers who were driving passed to politely ask us if we needed a lift. :)

its e other little thgs too. like how they left certain thgs untouched because we specifically left them so eg not-hotels-rm cards in e feeder to keep e ac running so tt our rm is nice and cool always. hair dryer where we plugged them. it makes our stay much more hassle-free.

housekeeping didnt take our rm5 tipping money or threw out e 2 words 'thank you' note. they just drew a smiley face back!

no. hotel. we stayed in ever do tt. ever. be it e suites in a 6-star or a motel. ever.

overall, its a fab normal regular 5 star resort on a beautiful, strategic location with a variety shopping and dining choices. BUT with an excellent human touch.

Its their service that makes a memorable difference.

:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naaaanaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are extremely happy to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guests’ expectations.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing