We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Nearby Hotels
$229
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bon Ton Resort(Pantai Cenang)
$92
$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Motel(Pantai Cenang)
$66
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cenang Memories Motel(Pantai Cenang)(Great Value!)
$32
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Peak Inn Motel(Pantai Cenang)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sunset Beach Resort(Pantai Cenang)
$48
$42
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pondok Muara Chalet(Pantai Cenang)
$25
$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Salsa Resort Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
$22
$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpha Motel(Pantai Cenang)(Great Value!)
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Melati Tanjung Motel(Pantai Cenang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,397)
Filter reviews
4,398 results
Traveler rating
2,097
1,490
472
196
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,097
1,490
472
196
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascade poolspice marketswim up barmain poolbuggy servicekids poollake viewmini golfcba barthe club loungekids clublarge balconycable carwelcome drinkground floorseafoodhappy hour
Filter
Updating list...
2,276 - 2,281 of 4,398 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for a resort hotel with access to many local restaurants then this is a great place. The hotel is well run with great staff who will do anything for you. The rooms have all recently been refurbished and are very nice.
You have to try the local restaurants which are just a 3 minute walk from the hotel and dont miss the ones on the beach.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it then the beach front rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are delighted to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We naturally look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 5 nights of our honeymoon here in March and enjoyed our time here. On arrival check in was very smooth and we even got a free upgrade which was fantastic as we were in one of the newly refurbished rooms. The beach is amazing and location just on the edge of Pantai Cenang means you can dip in and out of the busy main street as you wish. The restaurant/chamagne bar on the beach is a great place to watch the sunset and enjoy a glass of fizz. We did have a problem with the slow service here but when we spoke to the management about this they very kindly offered us a free meal at the restaurant.
The room was spacious and clean, the resort is really big and was fairly quiet when we were there so was very relaxing. There are 2 large pools but we didnt really use these as they were a little child orientated and we were there to relax.
Overall a really good resort in a great spot on Langkawi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I’ve never been in such a hotel in my life. I choose to think of it as an adventure…
We visited Meritus last summer, 2 couples.
I don’t know where to begin with. The main pool didn’t exist, since it was under construction without any notice when we were booking. The whole place was under construction, so we didn’t have any chance on relaxation with all that noise. The rooms were not clean at all, the covers, the sheets, the bathroom. These rooms were above the lake, made of wood, so the smell was like mold. Of course during the night you couldn’t sit on the balcony because of the mosquitoes but those didn’t count since during the night the whole hotel was turning into batman’s nest. The whole hotel was full of bats. So, we asked for another room and they upgraded us.
The new rooms were sea view in front of the beach and they were really lovely and seemed to be renovated. But the fact is that bats lived INSIDE these first floor rooms, to those they upgraded us. At last they gave us another one downstairs with no bats and clean sheets.

The staff and breakfast were excellent. The people working there were really lovely and kind.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for any unpleasant experience in the beginning of your stay.

We would like to reassure you that it has always been a practice to keep our business partners regularly updated on any refurbishments in the resort and that includes the main pool upgrading work and our phased room refurbishment (not all rooms are refurbished at the same time). We still had a second pool for guests to use which was opened during the closure of the main pool.

Your comments on the earlier two rooms assigned had been communicated to the Executive Housekeeper to take appropriate action for improvement.

The fruit trees in the Resort garden attract both birds and bats and occasionally, some managed to fly inside the room. Remedial action has been taken to address this concern.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Once again, we apologize for any dissatisfaction and welcome another opportunity to serve you with a more positive stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrive from Melbourne, Australia in the late evening and were welcome in the lounge room with a welcome drink. While we enjoyed our drink, the reception staff carried out all the check in process for us. This is a fantastic process. After a long flight, we did not have to physically go through this process, all was taken care for us by the fantastic staff.

We stayed for 4 nights & 5 days in two rooms. Rooms size were big with sofa lounge chairs. Mini bar and wifi were free. The only problem was that one of the room wifi signal was not strong enough resulting in my family member unable to use wifi in their room and have to constantly come over to our room to use wifi or go to the reception area - a minor hiccup.

Staff at the resort were fantastic and very polite - always smiling and greeting quests. " Ismail" - you are a legend. Ismail the " Buggy driver" was the most polite, happy, cheerful and go luck person. On check out- Ismail informed us that the rooms that we were staying in is the royalty rooms - the Sultan of Kedah who is now the King of Malaysia and the Prime Minister stay in these rooms. Ismail - you are a true legend of Langkawi and Meritus Pelangi Resort. You are so dedicated you your job (23 years working for Meritus Pelangi Resort). You deserved a pay rise.

My daughter did not want to leave the resort. It is a truly excellent resort. We will certainly be coming back to the resort again.
Michael
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 610Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we re all very gratified to learn that you have had a most enjoyable stay with us.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates including Ismail who will be delighted to learn that they have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here with family and friends for 8 days during the Easter holidays. The kids pool area is really good and safe. We stayed in a garden room, which was better than we expected after reading some reviews on here. We had no problem checking in earlier than they expected us (at 11am). We found the staff to be helpful. The rooms were big, comfortable and modern. We were nowhere near renovations so I can't comment on the effects of renovations, as we didn't actually see any. We loved our stay at the Meritus - the whole resort had a lovely spacious feel, set in a lovely location at the end of the beach and it felt more natural than the other "concrete" looking 5* resorts that we saw on the island. The breakfast buffet was fine with a good choice for families with children. In the evenings, we strolled a few minutes into town (Cenang) and ate in a variety of the local restaurants. Overall, a lovely holiday. :-)
*** Tip: we joined the Meritus club via the hotel website. We also booked directly through the hotel for a "family package", which enabled us to enjoy free soft drinks and snacks/canapés during the day in the Meritus club room (and later on wine/beer for sunset drinks). ***

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank ShaDaveLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your valued feedback and we are extremely happy that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from satisfied customers as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations.

We certainly look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews