We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couples and family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect for couples and family.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

One of the earliest hotel in Langkawi. I visit Langkawi many times and have stayed in quite a number of hotels in Langkawi but this one is by far my favorite. The location is very near Pantai Cenang where there is abundant option for spa, food and little souvenir and clothing shops.

Prices are not cheap but it's worth the extra money if you are planning the perfect holiday. Service is superb. The restaurant waiter, Charles. was super helpful in getting recipes from the chef when we loved some of their fabulous dishes. The buffet breakfast is excellent!

Rooms are spacious and clean. We had a room facing the beach and it was spectacular. Very private and the bed is heavenly. Rainshower and even sunblock supplied. Most rooms are of walkable distance but the hotel enjoys sending people by buggie. :)

Every thing was perfect and they even assisted us for a later check out when we wanted to explore the Cenang Area a little bit.

Yes, a must stay.

Room Tip: Beach facing room is very nice if you can afford a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and we are extremely happy to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates including Charles who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We shall look forward very much to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,883
    1,384
    435
    181
    130
See reviews for
1,298
1,630
87
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

One of the most friendly places we have stayed at. Complex maintained well and clean. We have a garden chalet room which is cleaned exceptionally well each day. All staff are friendly and smiling no matter where we come across them. We paid to use the Club house for breakfast and afternoon tea, cocktails in the evening. The staff are well presented, smiling, courteous, what more could we ask for. We agree The restaurants in the evening are expensive, but this is an upmarket complex. If we want cheap food, then we can use the restaurants 'down the open road'. The beach is lovely, soft white sand with pockets of tiny shells where the tide has washed them in and kept very clean. The sea is clear and the water looks clean, we saw no pollution. The swimming pool and spa pools are lovely. Children's pool is very good. Overall, we are enjoying our stay. The only thing we are disappointed in is the evening entertainment, the band does not vary its music which does not help to keep guest in the lounge or help to 'sell drinks'! Although this is our wedding anniversary holiday, we would come back again.

Room Tip: Subject to website pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsiemaryValwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and it is indeed gratifying to learn that we had delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

Your point on the evening entertainment had been noted and communicated to the Manager in-charge.

We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed there for 10 nights in March on room only basis. Taxi transfer from airport was 18 ringitts you buy a voucher from the kiosk in arrivals lounge so no haggling of prices. We arrived in the afternoon, check in was quick and efficient and taken to our room immediately by buggy with our luggage. First impression of the room was WOW…..the room was huge, large king size bed, massive bathroom with bath and wet room style showers. It was well appointed with everything you need; hairdryer, mozzie plug in machine, umbrella, safe, slippers, bathrobe, toiletries, the list is endless. We had booked a garden terrace however we were upgraded to a beach view, I had emailed the hotel beforehand requesting an upstairs room in quiet location, we got exactly that plus the beach view.
The beach is lovely soft white sand although a bit crunchy underfoot just when entering sea. I wore surf shoes initially but once your feet harden up you don’t really need them. The water is roasting and like going into warm bath, sea is very calm and shallow. Plenty of sunbeds on the beach (with palm trees as shade)at all times of the day no need to reserve although you do still get people who do, can’t help themselves. Plenty of beds round new pool but no shade or umbrellas.
The location of the hotel was the main selling point for us, set at the quiet end of Pantai Cenang beach although only 5 mins to the main street with all the bars & restaurants. We never actually ate at the hotel but took advantage of the endless amount of restaurants within walking distance. You are so spoiled for choice of eating places from both ends of the price range. We tried a variety of foods, our favourite being Rafiis beach bar about 10mins walk from the hotel to the left along the beach, lovely family run bar/restaurant serving excellent Malaysian food and very cheap. There’s not many restaurants you can sit with your feet in the sand watching the sunset.
We hired a moped for 2 days from one of the bike shops in main street, cost around 30 ringitts per day. We toured round the island stopping at various places including the Oriental Village for access to Cable Car, views are amazing. Driving is on the left and we felt safe.
The main disappointment for us was the pools. The water was green for the first few days of our stay and very cloudy at night when the lights were on inside. The main pool was eventually closed off and cleaned, we heard the new filtration system was not working properly, however can’t understand why it was allowed to get in that state in the first place although we never saw anyone actually cleaning it. We checked again the last few days of our stay and although it now looked blue & clear you could still see it was a bit cloudy at night with the pool lights. I really hope they resolve the problem as the pools are gorgeous especially the new large pool close to the beach.
New beach bar – absolutely stunning with loads of lovely couches some on a deck set on the beach however this was mostly empty for the duration of our stay, I think this is probably due to the prices they charge for food & drink, shame really. There is a happy hour at the smaller pool between 5-7pm but doesn’t look onto beach. The little beach shack/bar also had happy hour but again never saw many people at it.
Staff were very friendly and always greeted you when passing. Our maid was excellent and accommodated any requests we had.
To sum up I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Would recommend beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huwshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that overall, you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding your point on the pool umbrellas, we would like to reassure you that the new shades will be installed once they arrived.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort caused with the pool water issue during your stay. Please be rest assured that the problem had been fully resolved with a maintenance and cleaning schedule in place to prevent recurrence in future.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We appreciate very much your kind gesture to recommend us and naturally, look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 18-20 March. Arrived at around lunch time and were hoping to get the paperwork/check in done so we could have lunch. Unfortunately, the wait was very long (about half an hour) although there weren't many people checking in. When they finally came back to me, they said they could not trace my reservation. I find this incredible, I had booked and paid in full on Agoda. The lobby staff did not serve us a welcome drink although we waited so long, but asked us if we wanted to order any drinks. We declined and she served us the drinks eventually after directed by the reception staff to do so.

The room was excellent. Facing the beach, and obviously recently refurbished. Very comfortable and large.

We ordered room service and although very expensive by Malaysian standards, we found the food to be delicious. The cocktails can be improved on though.

The service was found to be lacking even after our long wait to check in. The package I booked was supposed to come with a complementary fruit basket on arrival. There was none. I called twice to ask for it but it never arrived. The children should have been served complementary ice cream at the lobby, this also never happened. And as far as I observed, no child was ever served any ice cream at the lobby.

When I requested for a roll-away bed, they first asked me who it was for. When I said it was for my helper, they wanted to charge me RM150 when in my package it was supposed to be RM50. The lady claimed it was only RM50 if a child slept on it. Really, if there were 2 adults and 2 children in the room, would you really know how the sleeping arrangement is???

We went for the BBQ dinner which was part of the package on the last night. I wanted to order congee for my daughter and stood waiting for a female staff as she was busy typing something into the computer and she curtly asked me 'you are having the buffet right?' which I thought was quite rude. The grill was quite good, sadly the experience was marred by the service.

All in all, this place could have been exceptional, if the service is improved on. We did enjoy the beach and the view, the food was good, the swimming pools were good. The resort is a mere 10 mins drive fr the airport which proved to be convenient. Hopefully the management can look into the feedback and allow the resort to fulfill its potential.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith_Liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated.

We deeply regret the distressing experience at the start of your stay and certainly apologize for not able to meet your expectations. Rest assured this is not a true and intended reflection of our normal service standards.

Your comments had been communicated to the respective department heads for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We welcome another opportunity to provide you with a more positive stay experience and restore your confidence in the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Loved the setting and the rooms were huge. Had a lovely view down to the beach but the sea was a disappointment , think it is rather polluted so we stuck to the pool which was great. As mentioned by others I think this property is overpriced and the prices in the restaurant are much higher than we expect to pay in asia. The food was great though and we had dinner and the BBQ one night. Breakfast was a big problem. If you were not there super early then the whole place was dirty. There was obviously not enough staff on to clean and reset the tables and trying to get a cup of coffee, what a mission. Not how I want to start my day while I am on holiday. Having said all those negatives we enjoyed our stay and managed to relax. Though we did go to play mini golf one day and it is desperate need of refurbishment. More staff and better maintenance and it would be great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneyalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that overall, you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with the breakfast service and had since taken the necessary corrective measures to address the problem.

We had now a dedicated grounds & garden team, who will complement the existing manning, in maintaining the mini golf area.

We look forward to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

- Good breakfast buffet, lovely coconut jam!
- Ok cleaning, the cleaners don't use mops, do not have hoovers and they don't dust! They only use a brush for the floor and rug.
- Good complimentary drinks
- A downside to this hotel is the amount of insects in the room and the wild cats that hang around the resort, especially around the restaurant
- Good buggy service

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 502MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback which is certainly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction during your stay.

We have an ongoing exercise to catch the cats and have also recently engaged a new pest control vendor to assist us with the task.

We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is under renovation,we stayed in an old room which wasn't that great. We had lunch in the hotel restaurant the first day (we didn't make that mistake again later) the waiter was rather rude, though there was only a few people in the restaurant he clearly stated that he wasn't happy to serve us.Food was ok but unreasonably expensive. "fresh juice" was not fresh, had a can taste....
Breakfast was not good, you expect better quality food in a hotel like this... every morning there was a problem, there was not enough waiters to serve the drinks, clean the tables, etc. so it was a chaos...and obviously those few waiters were stressed and it had a big impact on the quality of service. Some of the stuff were kind and friendly but most of them were not at all.Not even a smile. It was strange, this is not what I've experienced in Asia.
We'ha tried coctails once, it was expensive and not good at all. We found it strange that you cannot buy fresh coconut in the hotel, everbody was bringing it from outside.
Our overall feeling -during our stay- was that they are trying to save on every penny which obviously had an effect on the quality if service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedonist1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and I do sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience in particularly with service during your stay.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with the breakfast service and had since taken the necessary corrective measures to address the problem.

All other points highlighted will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations and welcome another opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,366 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing