We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
D'Warung Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Pondok Muara Chalet(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Sweet Inn(Langkawi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melati Tanjung Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Malibest Resort(Langkawi)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,440)
Filter reviews
4,440 results
Traveler rating
2,117
1,505
477
197
144
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,117
1,505
477
197
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascade poolspice marketswim up barmain poolbuggy servicekids poollake viewmini golfthe club loungekids clubcba barlarge balconycable carwelcome drinkground floorseafoodhappy hour
Filter
Updating list...
2,340 - 2,345 of 4,440 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Loved the setting and the rooms were huge. Had a lovely view down to the beach but the sea was a disappointment , think it is rather polluted so we stuck to the pool which was great. As mentioned by others I think this property is overpriced and the prices in the restaurant are much higher than we expect to pay in asia. The food was great though and we had dinner and the BBQ one night. Breakfast was a big problem. If you were not there super early then the whole place was dirty. There was obviously not enough staff on to clean and reset the tables and trying to get a cup of coffee, what a mission. Not how I want to start my day while I am on holiday. Having said all those negatives we enjoyed our stay and managed to relax. Though we did go to play mini golf one day and it is desperate need of refurbishment. More staff and better maintenance and it would be great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneyalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that overall, you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with the breakfast service and had since taken the necessary corrective measures to address the problem.

We had now a dedicated grounds & garden team, who will complement the existing manning, in maintaining the mini golf area.

We look forward to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

- Good breakfast buffet, lovely coconut jam!
- Ok cleaning, the cleaners don't use mops, do not have hoovers and they don't dust! They only use a brush for the floor and rug.
- Good complimentary drinks
- A downside to this hotel is the amount of insects in the room and the wild cats that hang around the resort, especially around the restaurant
- Good buggy service

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 502MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback which is certainly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction during your stay.

We have an ongoing exercise to catch the cats and have also recently engaged a new pest control vendor to assist us with the task.

We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is under renovation,we stayed in an old room which wasn't that great. We had lunch in the hotel restaurant the first day (we didn't make that mistake again later) the waiter was rather rude, though there was only a few people in the restaurant he clearly stated that he wasn't happy to serve us.Food was ok but unreasonably expensive. "fresh juice" was not fresh, had a can taste....
Breakfast was not good, you expect better quality food in a hotel like this... every morning there was a problem, there was not enough waiters to serve the drinks, clean the tables, etc. so it was a chaos...and obviously those few waiters were stressed and it had a big impact on the quality of service. Some of the stuff were kind and friendly but most of them were not at all.Not even a smile. It was strange, this is not what I've experienced in Asia.
We'ha tried coctails once, it was expensive and not good at all. We found it strange that you cannot buy fresh coconut in the hotel, everbody was bringing it from outside.
Our overall feeling -during our stay- was that they are trying to save on every penny which obviously had an effect on the quality if service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedonist1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and I do sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience in particularly with service during your stay.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with the breakfast service and had since taken the necessary corrective measures to address the problem.

All other points highlighted will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations and welcome another opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loved the setting of the Meritus Pelangi, gave one a real feeling of being in old Malaya, very natural feel, lovely. The complex was lovely and clean and the staff very friendly. We found eating in the restaurants on the complex quite expensive so decided to go out for Dinner most days. The sea was also a big let down because it had a slight whiff to it and we didn't fancy getting any of that into our mouths but the complex Horizon pool made up for that. Really enjoyed our hoiday and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChTaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we really appreciate the positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent three days there in February.
It is a nice resort, especially when you compare to other 'hotels' on the same strip. Beautiful beach and family friendly.
We were disappointed with the food - the burgers we ordered by the beach restaurant were really not very good. We also dined in the main restaurant one night and the lamb curry was absolutely terrible, the meat was like a rock. Thankfully when we complained they took it away and we didn't have to pay for it. They weren't overly sorry though and service was extremely slow.
I would definitely recommend eating in town, at the Orkid sea food restaurant nearby for example where everything is fresh.
The rooms were nice but we could hear the neighbours' television in the middle of the night as well as people coming home late.
Overall, ok but don't expect good food or amazing service.

Room Tip: I think rooms by the beach are the best as less noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points which are certainly appreciated.

I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and will certainly communicate your comments to the respective team members for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Our sincere apologies for the shortcomings and we look forward to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews