We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Much better now”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After two years we revisited this hotel and I must say that this time our experience was much more positive. The rooms have undergone facelift, the main pool has been refurbished, there is a new restaurant pavilion on the beach. When it comes to service, I must say we were impressed. The hotel staff is very efficient and friendly. After this stay we want to come back to the Meritus Pelangi!

Room Tip: I recommend you a beach front rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal_C_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are very glad to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience on your return visit.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

We certainly look forward to many more return visits from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    1,356
    427
    178
    126
See reviews for
1,244
1,592
86
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

we had a great stay at this hotel for 03 days. It has a huge garden and lovely two swimming pools. The rooms are specious and nice.you can get a bike and go a tour in side the hotel.try it. It is fun!

Room Tip: Chalets facing to the beach is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words, which made everyone of us extremely happy to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Astonishing place to relax. Excellent territory, great pool, very good rooms and rich variety of food for breakfast. 5 minutes walking distance to the 'center' which is full of restaurants.

Well, if you want me to say something 'bad': there were a minor issue with sink cold water, which took a bit longer to fix than expected (2 days) and fun is a bit noisy, but you can opt out of using it and just use AC.
Apart of these minor nits our rest was spotless.
I prefer to stay in different hotels every time I go somewhere, but if I return to Langkawi I'll stay in this hotel again for sure. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that overall, your stay experience had been positive.

Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here from 7th Feb until 10th Feb. I like the large bed. It is just perfect for my mum, me and my 2 y old son. It was very comfortable and we had good sleep without anyone of us worries of rolling onto my son or getting a stiff neck in the morning. Not so many hotels has large bed..hence, it was a delight. It was quiet and serene especially at night.
However, i made the wrong choices by not asking or request for the newly refurbished room. The breakfast was ok. The service was quick. The concierge was helpful and friendly especially Ismail. Very helpful and honest!

The old room wasn't that bad actually, well, i have stayed here few times, this time around i could see that the room is getting old and there were few issues that needed attention badly.
The tiles in the bedroom has change it's colour and the aircond was making some noice as if it was very exhausted.
The water pressure was bad! Hate it. After a hot, sweaty trip/day out, i'm so looking forward for a good cold shower but i couldn't enjoy that this time. The water pressure was very bad that i have to spend very long time in the shower!! The sink was bad too, the water wasn't flowing and doesn't go down the drain very well.
Also, i had an issue with the toilet where it doesn't go in one flush!
It wasn't up to my satisfaction this time around because i paid for a pool view room which were much expensive from the garden view but then, from my observation after spending one afternoon cycling around the resort, all garden view has actually been refurbished. If i've known this, i would have just paid for garden view instead! Or a lake view!
The old rooms are fine if they could curb all the issues i mentioned above and it would be a much pleasant stay !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzilleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction during your return visit this time.

Just to keep you updated, the final phase of our room refurbishment will resume in April this year and the pool view rooms are included in this package.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with our associates at breakfast service and also concierge including Ismail, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We certainly look forward to your continuous support and many more return visits from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We really enjoyed everthing about our stay! It is on a very quiet, secluded area of beach. The pool and children's water play area are GREAT. We liked the food, service was good. It is a little cabin-feeling with the wood floors but still a great property overall. I would highly recommend. And it was nicely decorated for Christmas, so what a treat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinfamily222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are delighted to learn of your stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We certainly appreciate your kind gesture to recommend us and naturally, look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Staying here with a one and three year old. Perfect for them both, shaded pools, great kids water play area which were not even aware of before we came here. Just asked for a late check out ie 3pm to let them have their midday sleep and despite the fact that I know the hotel is fully booked , they have worked some magic to give us a late check out- superb service.
We have stayed with access to club facilities, great for the kids afternoon snacks, mid morning snacks. Not had the opportunity to partake of all the hotel facilities so can't comment on Spa, Tennis etc etc,.
Location - fantastic, as it feels secluded and quiet, yet only a few minutes walk to the town to pick up on necessities such as nappies and wipes. Sitting here on my balcony typing this review I can see the blue sea 50 meters away thru the palm trees. Just wish we didn't have to leave tomorrow.
Can only assume the reason this place is not 5, is down to poorer reviews from years ago before the refurb took hold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisRsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciative notes and we are indeed very glad to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from satisfied customers as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations

Naturally, we shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Meritus Pelangi Beach Hotel for our final night in Langkawi on 28th January this year. We had already booked and paid for another hotel which we found disappointing, and wanted to leave Langkawi with good memories, especially as it was our second honeymoon. After passing by this hotel we decided to go in to have a look and immediately booked in.

The style, beautiful traditional decor and setting were first class. We had an excellent lunch in the restaurant and enjoyed cocktails watching the sunset before a fabulous seafood barbecue and buffet. After dinner we relaxed on comfy lounges right on the beach and enjoyed the lovely evening while listening to great music from the DJ at the funky and stylish beach side bar.

But what made our experience so special was the exceptional warmth, care and attention from the staff. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable in every way. An example of their extraordinary level of service was demonstrated when an important personal possession was left in a taxi after we left the hotel. Nize, one of staff, was incredibly helpful and went to extraordinary lengths to locate it and have it couriered to us in our hotel in KL! WOW!

We will definitely be back, and highly recommend it

Room Tip: A Sea View room gives you the feeling that you are looking out at your own private beach, with the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and we are indeed very glad to have delighted your stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates including Niza, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Your kind gesture to recommend us is certainly appreciated and we naturally look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing