We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pro and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here from 7th Feb until 10th Feb. I like the large bed. It is just perfect for my mum, me and my 2 y old son. It was very comfortable and we had good sleep without anyone of us worries of rolling onto my son or getting a stiff neck in the morning. Not so many hotels has large bed..hence, it was a delight. It was quiet and serene especially at night.
However, i made the wrong choices by not asking or request for the newly refurbished room. The breakfast was ok. The service was quick. The concierge was helpful and friendly especially Ismail. Very helpful and honest!

The old room wasn't that bad actually, well, i have stayed here few times, this time around i could see that the room is getting old and there were few issues that needed attention badly.
The tiles in the bedroom has change it's colour and the aircond was making some noice as if it was very exhausted.
The water pressure was bad! Hate it. After a hot, sweaty trip/day out, i'm so looking forward for a good cold shower but i couldn't enjoy that this time. The water pressure was very bad that i have to spend very long time in the shower!! The sink was bad too, the water wasn't flowing and doesn't go down the drain very well.
Also, i had an issue with the toilet where it doesn't go in one flush!
It wasn't up to my satisfaction this time around because i paid for a pool view room which were much expensive from the garden view but then, from my observation after spending one afternoon cycling around the resort, all garden view has actually been refurbished. If i've known this, i would have just paid for garden view instead! Or a lake view!
The old rooms are fine if they could curb all the issues i mentioned above and it would be a much pleasant stay !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzilleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction during your return visit this time.

Just to keep you updated, the final phase of our room refurbishment will resume in April this year and the pool view rooms are included in this package.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with our associates at breakfast service and also concierge including Ismail, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We certainly look forward to your continuous support and many more return visits from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,048)
There are newer reviews for Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,073 - 2,079 of 4,048 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We really enjoyed everthing about our stay! It is on a very quiet, secluded area of beach. The pool and children's water play area are GREAT. We liked the food, service was good. It is a little cabin-feeling with the wood floors but still a great property overall. I would highly recommend. And it was nicely decorated for Christmas, so what a treat!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinfamily222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are delighted to learn of your stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We certainly appreciate your kind gesture to recommend us and naturally, look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Staying here with a one and three year old. Perfect for them both, shaded pools, great kids water play area which were not even aware of before we came here. Just asked for a late check out ie 3pm to let them have their midday sleep and despite the fact that I know the hotel is fully booked , they have worked some magic to give us a late check out- superb service.
We have stayed with access to club facilities, great for the kids afternoon snacks, mid morning snacks. Not had the opportunity to partake of all the hotel facilities so can't comment on Spa, Tennis etc etc,.
Location - fantastic, as it feels secluded and quiet, yet only a few minutes walk to the town to pick up on necessities such as nappies and wipes. Sitting here on my balcony typing this review I can see the blue sea 50 meters away thru the palm trees. Just wish we didn't have to leave tomorrow.
Can only assume the reason this place is not 5, is down to poorer reviews from years ago before the refurb took hold.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisRsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your appreciative notes and we are indeed very glad to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from satisfied customers as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations

Naturally, we shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Meritus Pelangi Beach Hotel for our final night in Langkawi on 28th January this year. We had already booked and paid for another hotel which we found disappointing, and wanted to leave Langkawi with good memories, especially as it was our second honeymoon. After passing by this hotel we decided to go in to have a look and immediately booked in.

The style, beautiful traditional decor and setting were first class. We had an excellent lunch in the restaurant and enjoyed cocktails watching the sunset before a fabulous seafood barbecue and buffet. After dinner we relaxed on comfy lounges right on the beach and enjoyed the lovely evening while listening to great music from the DJ at the funky and stylish beach side bar.

But what made our experience so special was the exceptional warmth, care and attention from the staff. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable in every way. An example of their extraordinary level of service was demonstrated when an important personal possession was left in a taxi after we left the hotel. Nize, one of staff, was incredibly helpful and went to extraordinary lengths to locate it and have it couriered to us in our hotel in KL! WOW!

We will definitely be back, and highly recommend it

Room Tip: A Sea View room gives you the feeling that you are looking out at your own private beach, with the w...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and we are indeed very glad to have delighted your stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates including Niza, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Your kind gesture to recommend us is certainly appreciated and we naturally look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited Langkawi on a vacation last week. Were considering the Andaman & the Pelangi beach resort. Chose the latter since this was more downtown and accessible to restaurants. An important consideration since we are vegetarians. We were in a lake facing room at the property.
Here is what we liked:
Location, beach facing property - A really long stretch, restaurant on the beach - our favorite spot - where one can just sit watching the sunset while sipping a cold one, swimming pools (multiple including kids play areas), breakfast, service & best for last, The Gym - Facing the beach with excellent equipment.
What we think can be improved:
Inconsistent quality of drinks at the different bars - Good at some places while indifferent in some.

In Summary:
Great place. Will visit this again.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnilKrishnaSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Many sincere thanks for your kind words which are certainly appreciated by all of us here at Pelangi.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Your suggested recommendation for improvement on drinks served at the bars had been duly noted.

Together with the team, we shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff, outdoor fitness equipment

I was looking for a hotel that had a pool and a decent gym when I came across this hotel.

It's set directly on the popular Cenang beach but is at a quieter end of the beach, so it feels private and secluded.

The hotel looks great, during my stay I was in one of the older rooms and then also a newly refurbished room. The older room was still very nice but I'd recommend going for a new one of you stay here.

The hotel has extensive grounds that include a small 9 hole golf course, private beach, water sports and a gym. I was also delighted to discover that the hotel has an outdoor fitness area, which I enjoyed using immensely.

If you're looking for a decently priced hotel, good looking rooms, on beach location then consider this place.

The staff are friendly and didnt object when I checked our 1.20 minutes late

One word of warning though, the food and drink is quite expensive compared to what is available locally.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virtualrhino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent five nights in the resort in January, a delightful location at the quiet end of Cenang Beach. It is only a five - ten minute walk into the town where there are many restaurants. The sunsets over the bay can be amazing.

When we arrived we were offered a free upgrade to include access to the Club lounge, this was appreciated and we took advantage of it for evening cocktails.

Our choice of two, newly refurbished deluxe beachfront rooms, did not disappoint. We had two adjacent ground floor rooms with a shared veranda from which we could access the beach.

The food in the resort is a little disappointing and rather overpriced, we sampled lunch in the main restaurant and a light meal in the new beach bar. Breakfast was fairly chaotic, busy no matter the time, we got the impression that there were not enough staff available, the tables were not cleared quickly enough to accommodate the diners. The buffet choice looked impressive initially but I have to say we felt it was rather unimaginative and repetitive in comparison to other 4 star hotels.

Clearly there has been a large investment in upgrading the public areas of the resort and currently they are still renovating the chalets, the work did not affect us in any way. The beach bar is lovely but it would really benefit from the addition of some umbrellas for shade, I'm sure this would encourage more guests to use the facility during the day.

Summing up, we had a lovely break at the hotel, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, we would not hesitate in recommending this resort to others.

Room Tip: Go for one of the refurbished Deluxe Beach facing rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jools337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your point on the breakfast, which are certainly appreciated for improvement.

Your suggested recommendation on the beach bar had also been duly noted for bettering our guest experience.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. It will certainly inspire and motivate them to continue giving their best.

We appreciate very much your kind gesture to recommend us and naturally look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,381 reviews
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,352 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $147 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing