We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all good except the spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband I stayed at Pelangi resort & spa for five nights in early October. We stayed in a beachfront room which was renovated and we loved it. Clean, spacious bathtub and powerful shower facility. Very friendly staff. The only downside was the spa treatment in the hotel. While staying in Langkawi, I've visited several different spa and Pelangi spa was my last choice. The ambience was okay, the room was too bright and the description written in the leaflet didn't match with the actual treatment. If this could be improved, I would definitely revisit next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wantyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that overall, your stay experience had been positive except for some points made on the spa, which are certainly appreciated and will be reviewed for improvement.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Naturally, we look forward to welcome you back with a more positive stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,049)
There are newer reviews for Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,177 - 2,183 of 4,049 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

This were our 3rd visit and I must start by praising all the staff as they work so hard under extreme conditions at times.
Yes- I was aware of the buiding work but not the magnitude when I booked the hotel. Approximately one third of the hotel is being upgraded and when completed I am sure it will be fantastic but not at the moment. We had a room by the pool which didn't really suit us as a couple as we would have liked somewhere quieter but there was limited availalbility due to the renovations going on. The renovation work is meant to be completed in early November-visually I can't see that happening but it would be good if it was as the renovated room we looked around was fantastic.
The hotel needs to ensure guests do not leave takeaway food cartons outside their rooms or patrol these areas and clean them up regularly. This was the first time that I had to walk through mess on leaving our room and it isn't good enough.
The eveni trio entertainment ( Replay trio) in the lounge are very good and played some excellant classic rock.Possibly the best group that I have seen in Malaysia.
The hotel food is good with a varied selection at breakfast and the evening buffet.
Our room was cleaned to a high standard and a special thanks to Ismail who was as always most helpful.
Can't wait to visit when renovations are completed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your appreciative words and we are extremely happy that you had enjoyed your return stay with us.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates including Ismail, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Your suggested recommendation towards enhancing guests stay experience had been fully noted.

We certainly look forward to your continuous support and many more return visits from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

it's 3 months since my husband, son and I spent 4 nights in this hotel and I still smile everytime I think of our stay. From the service througout the hotel but particularly in the restaurant, to the warm greeting of the cleaning and gardening staff each day, our holiday was so enjoyable. We were upgraded on arrival to an seaview villa which was an amazing start. We had a memorable afternoon in the spa, where our 8 year old son giggled his way through his first "kids" pedicure. We lounged by the main pool, walked along the beautiful beach and spent the most relaxing time. The only downside was that it rained for 2 days but even then the staff made it so easy to go from our villa to the hotel and to recommend places to visit. Thank you so much to the wonderful staff at this hotel. They made it a truly magical experience.

Room Tip: Rooms/villas by the indoor lake can be prone to misquitoes.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DESC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are extremely happy that you had a positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We naturally look forward to welcome you back with our signature service of Asian Grace, Warmth and Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After reading lots of positive reviews on Pelangi, we decided to book this hotel but since our check in on Wednesday, it has been quite a disappointment. I could not understand the confusion when I checked in for 2 rooms as I had quite a few emails with the hotel before arriving. They mixed our rooms with my other family members and we ended up with double beds instead of king size bed. Check in was late too for the second room and we had to call numerous times before receiving the keys. The property is run down and I didn't expect that half the resort was closed for renovation.i felt that the hotel website is misleading and I would not have booked this hotel if I knew that there were so many facilities closed/run down. The main pool was closed. There is only one pool available and it is at the opposite side of the resort. The pool is old too. The kids club is old too and run down. It is hard to believe that it is a Meritus property. I had so much more expectations. The breakfast buffet is just average and is a disappointment after reading the good reviews on it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bali062011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback and we are deeply sorry for any dissatisfaction during your recent stay. The points highlighted had been duly noted for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort caused by the ongoing refurbishment but once fully completed, I am confident it will greatly enhance our guests’ experience and comfort with new and updated products.

We look forward to another opportunity to restore your confidence with a more positive stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

i stayed for 4days 3nights. we booked the promotion 48hours for garden terrace room. but before we booked the hotel i called first to ask about the room eg sea facing, garden terrace and beach view. the staff said sea facing its a new room while beach view is an old room. we askd about the new room garden terrace and the staff said still lot of the rooms are available (new room) so we booked online. we arrived on the 19th and so dissappinted that the new room is not available! if we knew we wouldnt booked at the first place. so there were rain heavily and suddenly our room starts leaking on the roof. my husband complained and they gave us a bigger room which is pool facing room. thanks for that! but we wanted to stay at the new room!! the next day the staff called and askd is everything ok and gave us 2 days complimentary breakfast. thanks alot for that! we appreaciate it.
buggy service is so slow. u know u got lots of guests u should put more buggy!!
overall holiday was just ok but we were so dissapointed as we dont get the new room. this is our first and last holiday in meritus pelangi.

Room Tip: choose a new room! dont go to old room!! my children get sick after we left
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharifah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated and valued.

I deeply regret not being able to fulfill our commitment on the room and if you are considering visiting our resort in the future, please do contact my office to accommodate your request correctly.

Glad to share with you that our new fleet of buggies, coming soon to complement the current, will greatly enhance our guests’ stay experience.

Once again, my sincere apologies for the shortcomings and we welcome another opportunity to serve you again with a more positive stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a good time in meritus for 5 days.
Restaurant is quite good. We had a great start of each day with smiling and caring staff members like Mr yousuf.

Evening music program was nice. We enjoyed spending time in foyer over drinks late evening
Room was very nice and tidy.

Room Tip: Ground floor sea facing is the best.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RahulChennai_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are extremely happy that you had a positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with our associates including Yusof who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We naturally look forward to welcome you back with our signature service of Asian Grace, Warmth and Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 7 days, and was very disappointed by the Hotel and Staff. The service if you can call it that leaves much to be desired. The house keeping could take all day to reach your room even though they have some spent hours cleaning the room next to you.once they make it to your room, they conduct a bodgy job cleaning and replenishing necessity items like soap, shampoo and toilet paper. They definitely do not go the extra mile or even half of a mile to ensure you are happy. The service from the front desk is very cold and you feel like you are a pain when asking questions.

The buffet breakfast is awful and there a fruit flies and insects hovering over all the food, I couldn't eat here and just skipped breakfast and enjoyed a sleep in instead.

Don't bother with room service either, the food was appalling.

If you can I would suggest staying at the Casa Del Mar, we went there for dinner several times and the ambience is amazing.

Room Tip: Stay in a renovated room or don't bother staying at all.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisbmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback and our most sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience with service and other concern during your recent stay.

Rest assured, all feedback given will be reviewed for improvement and that will include re-training and service audit, where necessary to ensure such experience will not recur in future.

Once again, our sincere apologies for the shortcomings and we welcome another opportunity to serve you again with a more positive stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,381 reviews
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,352 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $146 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing