We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2008

We have just returned from an Eight night stay at the Pelangi Beach resort and Spa after a hectic 11 nights in Borneo.
This is now our 3rd visit to the hotel and would thoroughly recommend to any one.
We find the people friendly and the service excellent.
Their is a good choice of resteraunts at the hotel with a wide and varied selection.
The rooms have just been refurbished to a high standard and are well maintained during the stay.
The pool area is a great place to relax but also you have one of the best beaches in Langkawi on your door step the Pentai Cenang.
On the whole it was a lovely break and cannot wait until next year for our 4th visit.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greattimes180UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,230 - 3,236 of 4,184 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2008

We had a garden facing Superior room, which was large and comfortable, with a separate wardrobe and dressing area. The bathroom, was well equiped, although not particularly large - however, this was not a problem nor a complaint.
The ground floor room had a large, west-facing balcony, so that it was cool in mornings, and a very nice location for room service breakfast. We found this more relaxing and quieter than going down to the restaurant. It was always promptly delivered, except one morning when it was ~15 minutes late, and a basket of fruit was delivered to our room later as an apology. I felt that this typified the very high standards of customer service at the resort, and the staff went out of their way to greet you wherever you were in the resort.
As mentioned by other reviewers, the resort is extremely attractively laid out with flower beds, lakes, trees and shrubs.
Having travelled round the island in a hire car, and looked at some of the other top-rated hotels, I felt that the location, layout and facilities of the Pelangi were a very good compromise for us. Some of the other hotels felt very isolated, whereas it was just a short walk from the Pelangi to nearby cafes and restaurants, including the free Rice Museum across the road, which is worth a visit. On the other hand, whilst in the hotel grounds, it felt very private.
In all, this was a very comfortable and attractive hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank residentuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

OK, it's not quite five star and the aircon is a little noisy but we really enjoyed our stay at Pelangi. We checked in early and our designated room was not ready but they showed us two alternatives and allowed us to choose. The cascade pool view room was spacious and nicely furnished - not at all 'tired' as some have suggested. The bathroom was small and basic but the large walk-in wardrobe/dressing room compensated for it. The terrace was large and was not overlooked by other rooms although occasionally people walked by.

The grounds are a tropical paradise and complimented by beautifully designed pools and lakes. The beach is only a few metres away - pure white sand and clear 'green' sea fringed by very tall palm trees. Very relaxing!

The breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent but the choice was not quite as good as some similarly priced establishments (E & O, Rasa Sayang in Penang). The poolside food was also of above average quality and always freshly cooked. The mini-bar was surprisingly cheap - less than a pound for a beer.

Standards of service were high. A leak in our bathroom was fixed by a plumber within minutes of the problem being reported. The staff always seemed happy, friendly and polite.

From previous reports we were not sure what to expect but Pelangi exceeded our expectations because of the sheer beauty of the resort and the friendliness of the staff. The positive points far outweigh the negative and although the aircon is a little noisy, we found we didn't need it at night anyway.

John

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We returned last week from a peaceful two week stay at the Pelangi Beach. Our room (1707) which overlooked the beach, was spacious and clean and serviced well each day. The hotel grounds are luscious and very well set out, which gives it a laid back feel. The pools are beautiful and there was never a problem getting a place to lay and they never feel busy. There was an amazing spread at breakfast - from the usual cereals, fruit, delicious breads and cooked food (sadly lacking in proper bacon) - to the curries and salads! We only ate once at the hotel in the evening (at the beach BBQ). Lovely food - poor service (we helped ourselves and were not asked once if we needed anything by a waiter). We felt that the restaurants were overpriced and that the hotel is perhaps doing itself out of business due to the fact that there are so many restaurants close by which serve delicious food at a fraction of the price. Admittedly the hotel restaurants have a classier feel than eating by the road, but for most people, this isn't an incentive to pay £50.00 (without drinks) as opposed to a huge meal with a lovely bottle of wine outside the hotel for £20.00 (for us and our daughter). The staff were all very friendly and the hotel was extremely clean and well cared for. We didn't see one mosquito during our trip, so it was good to be able to lay in bed at night not hearing the usual buzzing by your head.

We hired a car for the day and went on the cable car (quite a high, steep, scary climb) and then went on to the mangroves to see the eagles being fed, which was an amazing experience.

We were lucky enough to be at the hotel for Chinese New Year and loved the Dragon acrobats that the hotel arranged. They were fantastic and a real experience to follow them around the hotel as they blessed each area.

We were sad to leave and had a lovely send off by a couple of the front of house porters.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poppyloyloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Lovely hotel - accomodation is authentic wooden villas. We had a sea view room - which was just that - nothing in front apart from beach and sea. A lake view room would have been an up-grade but our chalet backed onto Lake and we much preferred the sea view. Two pools meant that pool was never crowded. BBQ restaurant on beach was fantastic - 80 Ringets for buffet meal - perfect for those that like to eat a lot i.e. my husband!!!! Fresh seafood and meat cooked for your requirements.

Two mintues walk from long stretch of restaurants all very good and very very cheap - on average we paid GBP12 for two people per night.

Only complaint was - we hired a car through hotel which was GBP25 which we later found out was expensive and although the hotel advertised a 4x4 jeep on the day we found out that this wasn't actually available and were given a Proton - which did not have quite the same image as jeep!! but still got us round the island easily.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCMSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

Stayed here for 8 days. We had room nr 3004. A pool-view room. Nice big veranda. The room itself was a bit small and a weird placement of beds and sitting area. felt a bit cramped. We had two children with us. The bathroom was too small. The whole bathroom got wet when we showered. The room was cleaned once a day but the maid did not do a good job. The room was by my standards dirty. Luckily I had brought som antibacterial soap and a swab that I could clean the zink and dust the floor. Difficult to talk to the staff - didnt understand what we said about the dirty room. There were lots of insect. Ants on the tables, birds attacking the table when we looked away, lizards(lots!), spiders that bite. This is expected in a tropical environment. But when the ants swarmed our breakfast table (I dont recommend eating outside the building during breakfast) it got a bit overwhelming. The hotel also sprayed the whole resort with smoke and pesticides once a month and the rooms once a week. A bit smelly but ok. Little or no mosquitos. We also had a "problem" with the staff being TOO friendly. They came to our room and rang the doorbell?! five to six times a day. The maid, the guys that sprayed the room, one guy to check the minibar, one guy to check if the bed was made correctly?! and so on. We told the reception but they probably did not understand. One evening a guy locked himself in while I was in bed nursing our baby - about ten o`clock in the evening. Very weird. And not acceptable. The restaurants had a dresscode. No shorts, slippers and sleeveless. This resulted in nobody eating there. We ate at one of the resaurants and the food was good but felt a bit weird eating a alone in a big restaurant. The food from the pool bar and breakfast was at best ok. We got sick from eating from the buffet one day. The beach was nice to look at but due to jellyfish it was not recommended to swim in the water. The whole stay was very expensive. Our holiday lastet one month, and we stayed at four different hotels in Malaysia, HongKong and Thailand. This was the one that had the "worst" food, the smallest rooms, the dirtiest pools and the higest prices.

Good things about this hotel: lovely beach, white and inviting. Resort looks great with small lakes and fantastic architecture. Big resort so it didnt feel cramped. Staff are very helpfull and smiling. Our blond baby got a lot of attention! The spa was very nice. Thats about it.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, Hotel General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2008

Dear Ms.T,

Thank you very much for your feedbacks, once again, as it is always very useful to us to improve ourselves to serve you and all our guests better.

I sincerely hope after you mentioned to our font desk, regrettably only on 21st only two days before your departure that no one disturb you and hope you made use of our "do not disturb" sign.
I would like to sincerely apologise for any discomfort caused ; the staff had only the best intension to do their respective job to ensure your comfort but once again apologise for their intrusion.
We are always very happy to assist the guest in providing cleaning of the room at a more preferable time as per guest request particularly when they have young children; A quick word with us, if anything is not to your liking or not proper and we will do the necessary, just let us now immediately!
It is really important to us to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant and memorable experience when staying with us.
We may not make it right, at time, but if our duty Manager or myself are contacted immediately, we will surely ensure to rectify the situation immediately for you to enjoy fully your stay in Langkawi.
I once again ask you to accept my deepest apologies for any discomfort caused and hope this incidents will not deter you for visiting us again in the future and I will personally make sure that you are well looked after.
Very sincerely,

Francois Sigrist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

Recently had the pleasure of staying at the Pelangi Beach. A very nice hotel, with what must be the friendliest hotel staff anywhere. Had a lake view room on the top floor. Very nice room, the one big let down being the bathroom which was extremely basic in appearance with absolutely no style.
The room was well serviced by the housekeeping staff and no problem in that direction. One thing i wasn't too happy with was the amount of bird droppings on the balcony and stairwell bannisters leading up to the rooms. For the whole time i was there, 14 days, these were not cleaned and the mess could be seen building up.
Pool areas were very well kept, we stayed around the bigger pool and it was very relaxing. On some occasions the bar staff came around with a tray of fruits on a cocktail stick for everyone and this was most welcome.
For being on a duty free island, and referring to some posts on the forums on this site, i did feel like i was looked upon as a "walking wallet". To be quoted 120 Ringitt (+10% service charge) for a bottle of wine i could buy outside the hotel for 24 Ringitt and approximately 460 Ringitt (approx 75 British pounds) for a bottle of Moet champagne was an absolute rip off. Having stayed in 5* hotels in Singapore and Bangkok (Shangri La & Oriental respectively) i never paid even anywhere near this price for a bottle of Moet at either. A 500% mark up on wine and 200% mark up on Champagne cannot be justified as anything else but a rip off.
I would certainly consider going back to the Pelangi Beach (we are converts who have been to Penang every year for the last dozen or so) as everything in general was very good. The staff,as previously said, are extremely welcoming and friendly and cannot do enough for you. However, i do draw the line at being blatantly overcharged and ,what i consider anyway, being ripped off. If you go to the Pelangi and fancy some wine or bubbly, stroll along the beach to the Beach Garden where you will get it all at half the price (and some lovely food as well).

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank colinwd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, Hotel General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2008

Dear colinwd18,

Thank you very much for your review on the Resort and I am pleased to learn that you had a nice and enjoyable time with us. However I sincerely apologies for the birds dropping not cleared daily on your balcony and sincerely regret that my team did not do their job properly and in accordance with our regulation. I do also regret you did not inform us immediately to enable us to rectify on the spot.

If I may, in regards of the wine price, allow me to clarify with you that our rates and margin are similar or even lesser than any other hotels in Malaysia or surely cheaper than in Europe. Allow me to clarify that when it come to wine our selection of our supplier is strict to ensure that quality is preserved till the wine is in the glass. Allow me to highlight wine purchased outside very often, regrettably, are not even stored properly which result in poor quality product when served. On our side we assure, it is not the case, as we are selecting the right suppliers who import in special air-condition containers till it reach our Resort and our wines are stored in proper wine cellars. I am sure you will understand that a bottle of wine transfer by boat in regular containers can't be assured to be of quality when it arrive in this part of the world where temperature could rise up to 4o under the sun. Regrettably some suppliers take the chance to do it!

Yes in some instance rate maybe higher but you have to understand that we, as hotel, have to follow many strict regulations that most outside single food & beverage outlets don't; for example we are subject to various licensing sections, Hygiene controls, business taxes as well as having available at all time for our guests a proper setting with air-condition, proper table setting (we don't serve guest with toilet tissue paper as napkins but we provide proper table cloths (100%cotton), proper table ware, staffing, storage of wines and many other services. All come with an additional expensive cost. Similarly for the food, we are importing most of our food items that also come with a price. It is why in Hotel pricing are generally slightly higher than a street restaurant.

I do sincerely appreciate, once again, all comments as it is only through your positive criticisms that we can constantly improve ourselves to serve you and all our guests better.

Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back again in Langkawi in a not too distant future.

Very sincerely,

Francois Sigrist


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,326 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 106 in Langkawi
1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $178 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing